We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad reviews are too harsh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Yulara B&B and Inns
sydney
1 review
“Bad reviews are too harsh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

I had read a lot of negative reviews about this accomodation before i booked and was worried about what we would get but all that bad press is unfounded the units are clean spacious we stayed in a 1 bedroom as there were no 2 beds avail with 2 small kids they shared the sofa bed in the lounge yes it was expensive but you have to expect that in a remote location the only gripe I had is they really dont cater for kids at most of the restaurants but the supermarket is not overpriced so there are ways around it dont hesitate you wont be disapointed

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjdSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    382
    199
    60
    33
See reviews for
394
305
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Our apartment was very spacious and kitchen and bathroom had been recently refurbished and were clean. The bedspread was horrendous, but the sheets clean. Yes, it is overpriced for what it is (we paid half for a five star hotel in Cairns), but that's what you pay in this location (and Uluru is certainly worth it!!). At least the apartment setting allows you to save some money on eating out, as there is a decently stocked supermarket in the holiday village. I wouldn't recommend this place elsewhere (especially in view of the price/service ratio), but in Yulara it certainly seems the best of the lot.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomeRomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

This place was shabby, somehow of a shock in this overpriced location. I stayed in a room with red wine stains on a bed spread, stained carped and mouldy bathroom. The kitchen was ok and if one travelled with a family quite handy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krakonosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

The Ayers Rock Resort has a captive market - nowhere else to stay, so it's expensive and even though the apartments was a great size, it's a lot to pay for what it is. The food options are outrageously expensive and there are no children's menus at the main Gecko restaurant, which makes meals there way more expensive than they should be, and the food is not very good. Overall, the apartments are well located, and very roomy, but for what they cost, it leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed here 3 years ago and thought it OK however, this time it was definitely not OK.
Even though we had booked a 2 bedroom apt for 2 nights and requested a twin and a double this was not what Emu Walks Apts had reserved for us. Apparently there are very few twin rooms in the apts so your chances of having one are very slim. (Reception said we could have one for 1 night but we would have to move for the other night as the apts with twin rooms were already over-booked…..more guests disappointed then!)
Our children are a 20 year old son and a 17 year old daughter. Did the resort honestly expect them to share a double bed? Consequently the way they get around this problem is to put a camp-bed in the living room. This means no privacy and synchronised bed time! It felt like an expensive holiday camp!
The apt itself was very tired. The window nets were grey, the cutlery was dull and the tiles and paint-work very chipped. The beds have plastic undersheets which compare to a hospital. My husband had a bad cold and felt like staying in bed however, the apt was so depressing that he couldn’t relax!
The National Park however is stunning. On our last visit we did every trip going. This time we hired a 4x4 and drove around at our pace. Stopping for photos and to explore, whenever we liked. We also did the base walk which was an achievement, especially with the husband not feeling 100%. However, the air is so clean that it was probably the best medicine going…with plenty of water!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BallFamilyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

My sister and I stayed for 6 nights in a one bedroom Emu Walk Apartment. We felt it was great for our needs. The kitchen included a microwave, an electric frypan, four hotplates and an electric kettle as well as 4 settings of cutlery , crockery and a useful selection of kitchen tools, pots and bowls.

I slept on a most comfortable "'Roll up bed" which was extremely comfortable as was the double bed.

We enjoyed the spaciousness of the apartment, the ability to self cater and used our front and back patio areas to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air. We even saw a satellite pass overhead one night. The look out behind us provided a distant view of the Olgas and the Rock. We enjoyed a spectacular 30 minuted fireworks display for Northern Territory Day.

The outstanding feature for us was the very special service provided by the staff. A broken can opener was replaced in minutes, the air-conditioning was adjusted from its sauna like range efficiently, appropriate torch batteries were sourced and fitted quickly.

The staff were ever cheerful and extremely helpful - no mean feat from a temporary work force in the middle of a desert. Congratulations to an efficient and positive staff.
Guests could also enjoy the live music, pool, business facilities in other parts of the resort.

Uluru is a magical place. The stars are fantastic. Suggest you walk rock in cool of day , overcast is good as stops radiant heat, watch a sunset at both Rock and Olgas.

The great ride we enjoyed in Ayers Rock helicopters around the Rock and the Olgas and then out to King's canyon, Peterson Pound and Lake Amedeus (160 kms long) showed the vastness of this amazing land.

Remember if you want to see the stars to choose a clear night and rug up as it can get quite cold in the desert. A fantastic experience in a wonderful setting with amazing geography. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyVMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

We only were staying the weekend ie. In on Saturday, out Sunday, so just needed the one night. There was 3 adults and 1 child...and we had no problems at with our 2 bedroom apartment. Yes Voyages has the monopoly (though I believe they've sold) but we were pleasantly surprised - the staff were nice, the apartment was clean, beds comfy and plenty of hot water. We expected the supermarket to be pretty pricey but it was no different to Sydney prices really... Was really happy with Emu Walk....would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.2 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
1.6 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 5 in Yulara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emu Walk Apartments are Voyages Ayers Rock Resort's self contained apartments.Sheltered behind gardens of native trees and forming a walkway through the heart of the Resort is an avenue of terraced apartments. Spacious and well equipped, the Voyages Emu Walk Apartments can cater for up to six people - ideal if you are holidaying with family or friends. All apartments are self-contained, with separate kitchen, living and bedroom areas.Located just minutes from the hub of the Resort, the Town Square, including mini supermarket and shops, these apartments provide everything you need to cook up a storm. Or, if you're not in the mood for cooking, you're nice and close to all of the fabulous resort restaurants, including Gecko's café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing