We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Yulara B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced and shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

On arrival by car, we had difficulty finding the Reception to check-in, the signage is extremely poor. Very jaded apartment, dirty carpets, broken wardrobes, ants in kitchen and overall needed a deep clean and updating. Noisy but efficient air-con, comfy bed, ok shower.
The Supermarket was short of supplies and the bottle shop was bar prices! As the whole resort is run by the same company it is basically "Rip-Off City"
Location is stunning and the guys who did the indigenous activities were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smart-clarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Smart-clarkes,
Thankyou for your review.
Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you felt during your stay at Emu Walk Apartments. I understand that having the reception for both Emu Walk and Desert Gardens in the same building can be confusing and it is regrettable that we did not supply you with the information regarding this prior to your arrival. When considering our pricing around the resort, please keep in mind that all remote destinations do incur higher transport costs.
As you may have seen in other responses below we are very excited to be beginning a refurbishment of our apartments throughout this year. It has been sometime since we made any made significant changes to Emu Walk and this will be a project that will take some time but be beneficial to our overall guest satisfaction.
Kind regards
Peter White
General Manager
Emu Walk Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    382
    199
    60
    33
See reviews for
394
305
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in Australia for 5 weeks and this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in and by far the shabbiest. We appreciate that the hotel is remote and that is why it is quite expensive, however, the standard of cleanliness and overall quality of the room was well below standard. The apartment was in need of attention and needed a thorough clean. Despite this, the trip to Ayers Rock was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidF531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Emu Walk apartments so we could have a whole day exploring. There was heaps of space for all 5 of us (2 adults, 3 kids). Having a functioning kitchen was very useful with 3 kids. The apartments are a little tired but suited our purposes very well. It was confusing driving around finding reception in the dark to check in (hint - it's in the Desert Gardens part of the resort) but the staff were extremely friendly and helpful once we found it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedj2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in there new apartment. It was modern, clean and had everything we needed. It had a washing machine, full kitchen, beautiful dinning table and comfy bed. I was do surprised being in the desert in such comfort! We went swimming in 3 different pools whilst staying there. The staff were friendly and helpful. I cannot talk it up enough. Everything was so easy as we'll with transfers and tours

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaseh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Emu Walk Apartments for several days. The apartment was conveniently close to the "town centre" with the IGA, a coffee shop run as a training ground for locals, and a gathering spot. The apartment had a great kitchen with all amenities so eating "in" was easy - no need for restaurants although the bountiful breakfast at Desert Gardens was included in the price.

Contrary to what I saw in another review, our air conditioning was working well at the same time with over 42 degree heat. Also our apartment was immaculately clean. The apartment was cleaned each day by a team of three young, efficient staff - and one would sing to herself quietly but beautifully as she worked, which I enjoyed hearing.

Parking is free. Internet only works at the hotel but really they should have internet in each apartment - there is no excuse not to put in an ethernet at least. The internet cost appears to be cheap but there is a data upload/download limit, it seems - my first $25 multi-day pass expired in 90'. Reception apologized and said they didn't know of a data limit and gave me a nice apology and a second $25 internet pass, which lasted about a day and a half.

One more complaint: they only give one key to an apartment. I asked why and was told people walk away with them. I offered to give a deposit but they said they don't have enough keys. That's silly: surely adults doing their own things during the day and night need their own separate keys!

We really enjoyed our stay at Emu Walk Apartments and I strongly recommend staying here. Sure, the apartments aren't luxurious but they are comfortable and, after all, the location is in a desert (correction: semi-arid region) where outside the inhospitability of the weather and terrain made me appreciate just having a comfortable home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Okay, so this was the mid-range option at Ayers Rock, so average is about what you'd expect, right? It was clean, large and in desperate need of a face lift. The internet didn't work, everyone was very sorry. The breakfast in Desert Sands was large and average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Lynne08,
Thank you for your review.
I’m glad to see overall you did not have any notable issues during your stay. We are currently working on a refurbishment plan for our Emu Walk apartments and look forward to being able to begin work later this year.
Our breakfast buffet at Desert Gardens Hotel is usually praised for its quality and variety, I apologize that your experience did not reflect this.
Again thankyou for your review and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Emu Walk in the future.
Kind regards
Peter White
General Manager
Emu Walk Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had chosen to book an apartment as we had heard and read that meals would be rather expensive in the resort (which they were indeed). So the apartments proved to be the cheapest accommodation option apart from the camp site. Still in Alice Springs we filled our hire car with everything we needed for the stay.
We had a standard one-bedroom apartment with a foldout sofa in the living room. One could see that part of the furniture had recently been replaced, the walls had been repainted and new prints had been fitted to them. The bathroom and the kitchen were very new as well. The tired built-in wardrobes however dated back to the 1980s when the resort had been built.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Travellingismylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.2 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
1.6 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 5 in Yulara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emu Walk Apartments are Voyages Ayers Rock Resort's self contained apartments.Sheltered behind gardens of native trees and forming a walkway through the heart of the Resort is an avenue of terraced apartments. Spacious and well equipped, the Voyages Emu Walk Apartments can cater for up to six people - ideal if you are holidaying with family or friends. All apartments are self-contained, with separate kitchen, living and bedroom areas.Located just minutes from the hub of the Resort, the Town Square, including mini supermarket and shops, these apartments provide everything you need to cook up a storm. Or, if you're not in the mood for cooking, you're nice and close to all of the fabulous resort restaurants, including Gecko's café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing