We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option for visiting the region”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Yulara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had read the mixed reviews of Emu Walk apartments, so wondered what sort of accommodation we would get. The apartment was completely clean and equipped in the same way as most other apartments. Yes, it is a little old fashioned, but then the price we paid reflected that. I would recommend this as an option. As others have said, the IGA shop is well equipped and reasonably priced. Alcohol is expensive and take away alcohol is the same price as drinking in. Service across the resort was friendly

The Sounds of Silence dinner is spectacular and well run. As a family who are interested in Aboriginal culture, we were surprised that the welcoming dances lasted about 20 seconds each - and were not sure whether that was because it was not thought that the crowd would be interested or for some other reason, but in 15 years of living in Australia, I haven't seen such a cursory approach. But this was a relatively minor point in an otherwise very well organised function - and the service and friendliness of the staff was impeccable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
There are newer reviews for Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked the 1 bed apartment for two mates travelling together. We arrived around 10.30, & tge girl on reception confirmed all our tours, but sadly said she'd have to call us when the room was ready. Lucky we were eager to go to the Rock because we werent able to get in till 2.30 (their advertised check in time is 3pm). As it was 'off peak' we saw so many spartments empty & wondered why it took so long for us to get checked in.
The apartments are actually very central. However they make youvwalk up stairs and down stairs to get to them. Be warned, you dont need to do this luggage haul. Take the path beside the road and enter on the right side of the artist in residence gallery. You cant miss it.
The room had a smell, but we blasted the air con and it was soon gone.
The fold out couch is exactly that, cheap & thin. Views of an aerial on a sand dune, but we didnt mind as we had filled our trip with tours.
Expensive, but better than a pokey motel room.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MB-Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Apartment was very spacious, kitchen well stocked with appliances. Since everything in Ayers Rock is double the price, (in the middle of the desert could be the reason), it was nice being able to cook.

Would have liked it if a washing machine was there. Room cleaning is a bit patchy - of the 3 days we stayed there, 1 day no one came up to our room for cleaning. Seems like too few staff for a big and spread out place.

Room Tip: If you have older people, please ask for rooms closer to the reception. The complex is really well s...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed just one night here and found the accommodations excellent we had the 2 bedroom set up for our daughter and ourselves. The food in the village centre was limited but good. Close to the park and the airport. We travelled by coach from Alice and our room was ready upon arrival then out to see the sunset at the rock unfortunately cloudy and not much to see. Can't fault the hotel for that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 902nemesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Emu apartments- nice hotel. Rooms are spacious. Pros: close to airport, close to park. There was a kitchen in the apartment and that helped us save food costs. Cons: Everything was expensive. There is a 1.5% charge to using credit cards in Ayers Rock so bring plenty of cash.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The service was average, we arrived at 10am and had to wait until almost 4pm before our room was ready. Food was overpriced and there is no pharmacy, the closest being Alice Springs. So get anything u think u might need before u arrive! Not planning to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear gracey4,

Thank you for your review,

I was surprised to read your delays in having access to your room. Normal check in time is 3pm. If guests arrive prior to this time my team endeavour to accommodate as quickly as possible. Normally 1- 2hours is suffice. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Although Yulara does not have a pharmacy if there is a medical emergency the medical centre is fully equipped to assist. Alternatively the IGA supermarket does have extended range of pharmaceuticals.
All the best with your future travels.

Kind regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just pretend your Yulara accommodation costs a third of what it actually does and you'll be satisfied. Our apartment was clean, functional and reasonably well equipped, but a bit dated and worn.
The airconditioning unit in our apartment needed servicing/replacing - it cooled the room OK, but was incredibly noisy, a combination of a loud roar like an old jumbo jet along with a metallic rattling sound. We tried turning it off, but even though it was a cool night outside the apartment heated up (bedroom was on a west facing wall).
Service was lackluster. A baby cot we had requested wasn't in the room, and it took about half an hour for someone to bring it. The following day, housekeeping arrived at 3pm to service the room, while we were having nap after walking around the rock in the morning. We sent them away so as not to have to get dressed and wake our toddler, but then ended up with the tiny uncovered rubbish bin in the kitchen overflowing and attracting ants.

Room Tip: If you get a room in the middle of one of the north/south facing wings, you may have a chance to tur...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsut4392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear dsut4392,

Thank you for your review.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the issue you experienced with your air conditioner and also for the delay of service with the cot.
We aim to provide the highest standard of service and it is regrettable to read that you have not received the service I know the team can deliver. Our maintenance team do have a preventive maintenance schedule in place to improve noise levels and efficiencies of air conditioning systems. In addition to this we are planning an overhaul of the air condition systems in upcoming enhancement of Emu Walk Apartments.
Please be assured I have addressed both concerns with the appropriate managers. Thank you once again for your feedback. I wish you all the best on your future travels.

Best regards,
Leon Pink
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.3 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.6 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yulara
Price Range: $209 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emu Walk Apartments are Voyages Ayers Rock Resort's self contained apartments.Sheltered behind gardens of native trees and forming a walkway through the heart of the Resort is an avenue of terraced apartments. Spacious and well equipped, the Voyages Emu Walk Apartments can cater for up to six people - ideal if you are holidaying with family or friends. All apartments are self-contained, with separate kitchen, living and bedroom areas.Located just minutes from the hub of the Resort, the Town Square, including mini supermarket and shops, these apartments provide everything you need to cook up a storm. Or, if you're not in the mood for cooking, you're nice and close to all of the fabulous resort restaurants, including Gecko's café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing