We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emu Walk Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$384
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,131 results
Traveler rating
355
455
221
65
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
455
221
65
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentwashing machine and dryerthe sofa bedfull kitchentown squarestove topsplit levelgreat apartmentmain bedroomwell equipped kitchendining tableself caterliving areaayers rockair conown mealsthree levels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
783 - 788 of 1,131 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Emu Walk Apartments. The apartments are located midway between the town square and the Desert Gardens Hotel. You check in through the hotel and the apartments are linked to the hotel by a shaded walkway. The hotel staff took our bags to our room so we could join a tour. We were on the second floor which would be an issue for travellers with disabilities.

the apartments was spacious, clean and well maintained. It had a verandah from which we could just see The Olgas peeping over the sand dune. Our apartment had good kitchen facilities. The bathroom had no bath which seemed strange for this type of property. The TV also was very much out oif date but we didn't care as we weren't here to watch TV!

The Desert Gardens had a very pleasant restaurant and we ate there both for dinner and breakfast. I would recommend both. The hotel also has a tour booking service and the staff were particularly helpful

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westernsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I can't believe all these complaining reviews. What do people expect?

You're out in the middle of nowhere, smack bang in front of Uluru and no one wanted to pay top dollar for Sails or Desert Gardens (which are much nicer).

Yes, the apartments are pretty crap and don't smell nice but our family didn't expect a luxurious holiday and are aware that the high price is because its literally out in the middle of nowhere.

We were barely in our apartment, we did every walk possible (the Uluru Base Walk, Valley of the Winds, Kings Canyon and Walpa) and only came home to sleep! So Emu Walk was fine, I didn't expect to have my bed turned down with a chocolate on my pillow.

You're at Uluru! You're walking around in ugly clothes surrounded by red dust. It's not a glamour holiday and thats the best price you can get for the convenience of waking up to see the rock, and in my eyes, it's fair.


Dinner tips:
The buffet at Sails was $65 per person, and with 4 20 somethings on this trip, it was a degustation! Well worth the money - ignore the bad reviews about it, it's the best in the area and will fill you up for the next 4 days.

Room Tip: The rooms aren't nice. My tip: don't spend your holiday in them.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Emily B

Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that your trip to Ayers Rock Resort was an enjoyable experience!

I am pleased to know that your Emu Walk apartments provided your family with a stay that was comfortable and practical.

I would like to wish you all the best on your future travels.

Kind Regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RM_Desert_Gardens, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for two nights. The problem with staying in Yulara is there really isn't much choice in terms of variety since the whole resort area is run by the same group.
We arrived quite late after the sunset viewing and had to wait 10 minutes to get a key with the staff picking up the phone 3-4 times in the middle of serving us. We went to "our apartment" and opened the door to find a family eating dinner in "our accommodation". The staff had given us keys to an apartment which was already occupied! We marched with our bags back to reception and lined up behind two irate customers, one whose room hadn't been properly serviced for two days and another who checked in over a hour ago but whose bags hadn't been delivered. After receiving apologies from the staff we were told that they couldn't find the key to our apartment but would let us in using the master key while they looked for it.
After being let into our apartment we found the place infested with ants. There was a scrap of food in the kitchen and some hundreds (or thousands) of ants were swarming over the kitchen bench. We also discovered ants in the bathroom and on the bed, disgusting.
The staff found the key for us that night and gave us a bottle of wine as an apology but really it's something that shouldn't have happened in the first place.
With the exception of the key mess up and insect infestation our stay was ok. The housekeeping staff were commendably efficient, they were in and out in less than 5 minutes.
We had dinner at the Arnguli Grill restaurant where the food was delicious and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluesilverdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Bluesilverdragon

Thank you for your review.

It is great to read of both your praises to our housekeeping team and your recommendations of Arnguli Grill to fellow travellers.

I would like to apologise for the key error upon check in which has been addressed with our team accordingly. Please be assured we do have rigorous pest control measures in place. However we do live in environment of extremes and sometime pests can overwhelm these defences.

I would like to wish you all the best on your future travels.

Kind Regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews