We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No choice when staying in ayers rock”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Yulara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Well, there is only this resort with its three different hotels, respectively prices.
25% of revenue goes to the aboriginals. this may explain the very high prices. all staff is international, just there to make money. thus, dont count on service, staff is untrained.
food in the various restaurants is of course also expensive and rather mediocre.

anyway, visiting ayers rock is a must when visiting australia, thus, be prepared to spend a lot of money. I do recommend the helicopter tour, including the Olgas though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place was probably on the low-end of the scale in terms of the first class hotels and accommodations that we had in Australia (Blue Mountains, Cairns, Fraser Island).

As others have said, the staff was efficient (check-in and porters) and helpful. The room, though clean, had old furniture. We had a dining area and kitchen where we can prepare our meal. We were in a two-bedroom unit and the AC in our (front) room was non-functional. We had to sleep with our door open all night to get any cool air into our room.

The little shopping area (souvenirs and food (IGA store) was just around back of the building - so we managed to stay in and save some money for supper that night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stargazer_edm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights (felt that was the right amount of time to see the Rock and Olgas comfortably) in a 1 bed apartment, as we wanted somewhere self catering. The kitchen was spacious with 4 hotplates, large fridge/ freezer, microwave, toaster and kettle. It didn’t have an oven or dishwasher, and cutlery & crockery was fairly basic. The IGA is very well stocked and we catered all our meals which saved lots of money. We considered the IGA well priced given the remote location.

Apartment was functional, but very tired through wear and tear. The tv is not a flat screen – very unusual these days !!. Apartments are in need of a refurb. The aircon was very old and noisy, with just an on/off switch – no temp control. Lucky for us, the weather didn’t require us to use it !

There are no washing machines in the rooms, but they provide you with free washing machines and laundry powder at the Desert Gardens hotel. However be warned it is a very long walk, and there were only two machines to cater for all Emu Walk & Desert Gardens.

Car parking was an issue as you have to leave your car in one of the car parks, not near to the apartments. This was a drawback as we had a lot of luggage, food, eskies etc……..

Check-in is at the reception of the Desert Gardens hotel. Unfortunately it is not made clear where Emu Walk guests are meant to go. There is even an old reception sign pointing the wrong way ( I assume reception was previously elsewhere). This was frustrating when dragging luggage etc. Eventually we had to ask someone where to go. (each day we were there, we were asked by new arrivals where the reception was ! )

Overall we still preferred the flexibility and space of this apartment over a motel type room.
The surrounding attractions of Ayers Rock and The Olgas are breathtaking, and should not be missed despite the cost and standard of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bethy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The worst kind of holiday camp environment - basic, tired, but very expensive accommodation. The swimming pool looked inviting but it was so cold that no one even dipped a toe in it. We stayed 2 nights - that was two too long!

Room Tip: Specify a Rock view with a balcony - but the Rock may be obscured by the haze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank courtyardcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lets start with the good stuff. Very efficient check in. The most personable porters I have ever seen anywhere. Nice staff in general around the resort. Now the less good. Accommodation was functional - but very tired. Whole place felt grubby - filthy walls that no amount of cleaning can resolve - just wear and tear. There are warnings about keeping ALL food items in the fridge so that ants are not attracted in. We did this, but the ants still came streaming in through the window and swarmed all over our washed up dishes!!! The issue is not where the food is kept, it's that the windows are so old that the ants can get in in the first place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 245lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

There were 10 adults in our group so we opted for three seperate two bedroom apartments at Emu Walk as the most economical stay at Ayers Rock. The apartments are comfortable but are in need of a refurb. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The two bedroom apartments have only one bathroom. They have almost finished a full refurbishment of the Sails Hotel so I can only presume that they will move onto the Emu Walk and perhaps the other hotels at the rock next. The staff were helpful enough and we really couldn't have wanted for anything else. We used the pool at the Desert Garden hotel as it was closer than the Sails in the Desert hotel pool.

The biggest downside of the Ayers Rock resort are the food and beverage outlets. It's obvious that they have a very high turn over of staff and we ate twice at Geckos Cafe which is in the resort shopping centre. The service was dreadful and both times our food (which was very good) arrived way before our drinks order. The staff have no idea about service but the strange thing was there didn't seem to be anyone there overseeing them or instructing them on correct service. While we sat wondering when our drinks would arrive we saw the bar person just looking into space. Our waitress would take orders from numerous tables without going and logging the orders with the kitchen first. We ordered a jug of sangria and being a large group just wanted glasses for everyone but the waitress became very confused and started putting glasses in front of each person and then picked them up and took them all away. Why?

My mother had steak on the first night and it was not cooked enough for her liking. She mentioned to the maitre d that it was not cooked enough and he looked at it and said that it was cooked. Eventually I insisted that they take it and cook it some more. They were quite surprised. In any other restaurant this would have been offerered automatically. It really was as if these staff had never eaten in a restaurant before let alone worked in one.

On the second night we decided to try the Bough House restaurant at the Pioneer Hotel. There was a buffet dinner and the food was very average. The service again was quite strange and disorganised. Eventually between courses we took our dirty plates and put them on other tables where diners had already left for the night. There did seem to be someone in change here but the service left a lot to be desired.

The Sound of Silence dinner is a must and the staff there could not have been better. I can only think that they allocate their experienced staff for this dinner and the fine dining restaurants and let their other staff run wild in the other restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms are average - do not expect deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful but very hot you only need to stay for a couple of days unless you like walking there are heaps of tracks has loads of things to do you must always have water with you. There are places to eat and drink heaps of swimming pools staff are very help full and kind they have a IGA there which has good prices so you don't have to buy everything from Alice springs or where ever you have come from

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.3 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.6 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: 178 Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yulara
Price Range: $216 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emu Walk Apartments are Voyages Ayers Rock Resort's self contained apartments.Sheltered behind gardens of native trees and forming a walkway through the heart of the Resort is an avenue of terraced apartments. Spacious and well equipped, the Voyages Emu Walk Apartments can cater for up to six people - ideal if you are holidaying with family or friends. All apartments are self-contained, with separate kitchen, living and bedroom areas.Located just minutes from the hub of the Resort, the Town Square, including mini supermarket and shops, these apartments provide everything you need to cook up a storm. Or, if you're not in the mood for cooking, you're nice and close to all of the fabulous resort restaurants, including Gecko's café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing