We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fascinating and full of story telling”

Desert Awakenings Tour
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the tranquility of the pre-dawn land under a canopy of stars. Then watch the amazing transformation of colours and life as the desert awakens with Uluru and Kata Tjuta as your backdropTravel away from the crowds to a secluded sand dune to watch the spectacular sight of sunrise over Uluru and Kata Tjuta. In the company of your expert guide and with no more than 11 other passengers, Desert Awakenings is designed to introduce you to the natural and cultural landscapes of this remarkable region.Sunrise and bushman's breakfast: arrive at your private dune top viewing area well before the sun breaches the horizon. As your traditional bushman's breakfast is being prepared over the fire, your guide will explain the retreating star scape above. Enjoy a cup of Billy Tea and Damper as you watch the sunrise over Uluru and the vast landscape stretching as far as the eye can see. After breakfast your guide will explain the natural history of the region, and as the daylight reveals the myriad of animal tracks in the sand an insight into what activity took place during the night.Cultural Centre and Uluru: next depart for Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park and the first stop is the Cultural Centre, a vibrant and engaging place of learning where the local lore of the Anangu (Aboriginal people) is explained in detail. Next stop is Uluru (Ayers Rock) where you can take a short walk into Mutitjulu waterhole. A visit here will help appreciate its cathedral like proportions and why it is such a powerful and spiritual place for visitors and Anangu alike. A guide will explain some of the rock paintings and some of the stories from the creation period as told by the Anangu people.Desert Awakenings is a much sought after experience that delivers insight into the ancient landscape, ecology, culture, heritage, and history of what is now regarded as Australia's spiritual heartland.
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fascinating and full of story telling”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

A wonderful experience hosted by Ned Thompson.

You are picked up from the hotel before dawn and taken along a dirt road to a sand dune about 30km from Uluru.

Peaceful and natural surroundings emerge as the sunrise slowly builds. Kata Tjuta shimmers as the moon sets to the west and the sun rises in the east.

Then a cooked breakfast before we explore in and around Uluru.

Ned is a wonderful host and story teller and this tour is a must.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maff-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    62
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome! I couldn't stop listening:)”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great experience probably thanks to the guide we had - Ned:) Sunrise at the dessert followed by trip to Uluru...must be done! Not sure how other guides are but the one we had made the trip interesting and fun...Thank you!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gosia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull,
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We got picked up at 5 for our trip. Our guide was called Ned Kelly - and yes that really was his name. We drove through the desert to there we were going to be served breakfast and hopefully see the sun rise on the rock. There was plenty of soft drinks, tea and coffee and pastries followed by egg and bacon butties. Very nice. Unfortunately it was cloudy so the sun rise was not spectacular but still worth the visit. After breakfast we were taken closer to the Rock and all the time Ned kept us entertained with stories and history of the area. It was a very enjoyable trip and would recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuenBrianSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Launde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Thank you Ned for making sunrise amazing!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Really didn't know what to expect when I dragged myself out of bed at 04:00 but amazing is such a small word for the experience we had!
Our tour guide was Ned who's true love for this environment, the people, the spiritual essence of the land and passion for passing on this knowledge made it so interesting I didn't want the tour to end.
What was also great was that it was just a small group of 14 who got on really well and Ned was able to answer all questions and talk to everybody. The breakfast was simple but just right with damper (which was delicious and I could have ate so much more than the 2 slices I had but didn't want to look greedy lol), pastries, tea, coffee and bacon and egg rolls. The tour itself was relaxed and as I have already said informative and personal and I have come away for a real appreciation for the land and its people and I would like to think that I did "connect".
To watch the sunrise over the mighty monoliths that are Uluru and Kata Tjuta was more than a dream come true for me and to be guided round by such a knowledgeable person made it even more special.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Breakfast over an open fire whilst waiting for the sun to come up with a select few fellow tourists. perfect. This was followed by a tour of Uluru and a visit to the Cultural centre. Alex, our guide, was fantastic, very knowledgable, passionate and sensitive about his subject which only added to the morning.

Worth every cent. A must do when visiting Uluru.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Damon_H608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Awakenings Tour also viewed

 
Yulara, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 

Been to Desert Awakenings Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing