We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing, but they need to do something about the Food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Lets face it. Its in the middle of know where, so they are going to charge like wounded Bulls. And they did, but MOST of it was well worth it. We stayed in a SPA DELUXE room, and it was AWESOME. Very modern, Spacious, Beds were comfy, The positioning of the Spa in the Window overlooking small rock walls and under the moon and stars was very relaxing & private. Well worth what we paid. The convenience of Room Charge was very handy. You could room charge anything in the resort including petrol. Only a very short Drive to the Kings Canyon Rim Walk, which is a MUST FOR EVERYONE. There was a couple of Dining Options in the resort. Carmichaels Restaurant was semi fine dining restaurant and the food was amazing. It was Frustrating that you had to purchase meal packages instead of just one dish - MAIN/DESSERT or ENTRE/MAIN. You could also dine in the mainstream bistro. Didn't do this, but you did have the option of TakeAway from the Bistro so you can enjoy the meal in your room, For just $1.00 per meal. They charge you $1.00 for yourself to walk your food back to your room. We DID do this. Well the Food was Terrible. They obviously think that no effort should be put into the food that is takeaway. My Salt & Pepper Squid and Chips were thrown into a Pizza Box with a rotten Salad to accompany it. Wasn't Happy. I made a complaint and requested a response. No one has bothered to reply. After spending in excess of $1000 in this resort over a 2 Night Stay, I would have expected a bit more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPCRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed in a deluxe spa room at the Kings Canyon Resort for 2 nights. The room was huge, with a king size bed, beautiful bathroom and the most amazing large round spa with a full size picture window looking out on to the escarpment. Breathtakingly beautiful. Highly recommend staying at KCR and spending the extra money on the spa room, it's just sensational. Rooms are only about 10 years old, but look brand new. A fabulous way to relax after climbing Kings Canyon and walking the rim. Of our 10 nights away, this accommodation was the highlight. Will definately return. Check out KCR's website, as we got 2 nights for the price of one !!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Pan and the chefs at the Under a Desert Moon dinner provided us with the highlight of our trip to the Northern Territory. The amazing food and wine was only surpassed by the incredibly atmosphere that we enjoyed. I would HIGHLY recommend this dining experience to anyone visiting Kings Canyon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveyboy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed two nights in Yulara and two nights in Kings Canyon. We realised we would have been better off with three nights in Yulara and only one here. The room was very basic and the lights even dimmer than those at Desert Gardens. One restaurant was closed so we ate both nights at the Bush BBQ restaurant complete with a very audience-interactive bush band. The BBQ steak, barramundi etc was actually good, served with potatoes and a large, very fresh salad. The band created a great atmosphere (we'd hate it in Sydney, but got into the spirit of it along with all the tourists).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

If you want to visit Kings Canyon you have to stay here. Kings Canyon is a wonderful place but the resort is run down and has very poor dining facilities. Rooms weren't up to much. Still is wasn't too expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

A little expensive but it is in the middle of nowhere. We enjoyed our time here. Check in was easy, friendly staff. Our room was nice and clean with a lovely view. the restaurants are expensive but fun with live entertainment. 'The Roadies" do a great entertaining job and were especially nice to our little girl. We asked one of the staff about the kings canyon rim walk and they spent a lot of time talking to us about it. Overall a pleasant experience and I'd happily go back to this resort. The pool was great too. If you plan on doing the walk - start early but don't miss it. Even our 8 year old loved it. It is sensational.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We had booked a shared facility room as ensuites were so expensive, but on arrival were given the option to upgrade to an ensuite or a spa room for only $55 dollars more. We took this option and were pleased with the room - large, and a spa you could sit in and look out onto the bush. Reception were also flexible with our check out as we wanted to walk the rim on the canyon and were worried we wouldn't be back before 10am.

Compared with the Ayers Rock resort, this was much better value accomodation, although there was no entertainment the evening we were there and the food not so great (we had a pizza which was $22 and quite small).

The rim walk was fantastic - definately worth the effort but you really do need to get there half an hour before sun rise to do the steep climb (unless you're very fit). It can be a few degrees hotter at the top and the wind can be quite deceptive so make sure you take plenty of water, sun block and a good hat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PompomUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range: $98 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing