We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Back to nature”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

On first view we thought the accommodation looked a bit basic. However the bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and the shower hot and lovely. It was very quiet when we were there so no problems with check in and out.
Yes it was expensive but it was so peaceful and natural it was well worth the money. The pool for the lodges is beautifully kept with good loungers and sun shades available. We were the only ones using the pool and were able to watch the birds swooping down to the water, lovely.
We self catered so cannot comment on the café. The restaurant was still closed from the fire which swept through a year ago.
We rose early to do the rim walk around the canyon, you need to start before 8 am as it gets so hot but well worth the early start, amazing, unspoilt and beautiful. We went back early evening and saw a couple of kangaroos which made our holiday. We preferred this to Uluru.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddiesMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We appreciate the review and are delighted that you found the Lodge Room and Pool exceeded your expectations, and you enjoyed the Rim Walk as well.

Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    603
    407
    192
    95
See reviews for
391
866
47
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macedon Ranges, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Long way off Lasseter Hwy. Comfy room, great pub. Friendly staff, especially at the pub. Brenna was helpful and friendly. Had a fantastic helicopter ride at around 4.30pm, which gives a whole new perspective on the term isolated. All in all a beautiful location, room was terrific and the beer was cold. Don't expect "resort" as in luxurious, but resort as in comfort in a harsh isolated environment. Would stay here again
Phil (Melbourne)

Room Tip: Deluxe with spa. Window to desert over spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Phil

I'm hope the spa wasn't cold, but glad the beer was!

Greta to read you enjoyed your stay at Kings Canyon Resort........I'll pass your comments on the Brenna and the team.

Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

On arrival it was clear reception was understaffed. Poor Gary was on his own with a line of guests wanting to check in which went out the door. I gather some of the other guests milling about had to wait for their accommodation to be ready which I can imagine would have been frustrating, however, when you are understaffed it cannot be helped. Garry did a great job trying to keep everyone happy, he was polite and courteous at all times even if the guests were not. I would say poor job by management leaving him on his own like that, they should have been out there helping OR cleaning the rooms! Our experience was all good, our room was ready, it wasnt too much to look at but it was clean AND cool which on a 45 degree day is all you really want. The pool area was perfect, shady and peaceful with nature all around you. Loved it. The restaurant/bar was great, again they were extremely busy but the three front of house staff and the two chefs did a top job all with smiles on their faces. I was happy and surprised at the quality of food all the way out there. We ordered ice cream and it wasn't melted when we got it, no idea how you managed that in the heat of that room :)

It is expensive but you have to remember its in the middle of nowhere so their costs would be huge. If you don't want to pay for the convenience of having whatever you want and being near nothing don't go there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi and thanks for the feedback and observations.

To be perfectly honest we were understaffed and I can assure you management were making beds! December and January are always the quietest times due to the excessive heat and we roster and staff accordingly - this Christmas we were very surprised by the number of travellers that have arrived and most without reservations.

I'll pass you comments onto Gary and the team who have all done an outstanding job.


Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived at Kings Canyon Resort at 2.15pm on 28 December, when outside temperature had already climbed pass 43oC. The reception staff (Gary) told us our dormitory accommodation would be available in 45 minutes. We checked back at 3.15pm just to be told that it would take “a few more minutes”. We noticed that those who booked hotel-style accommodation seemed to have been given preferential treatment (ie. rooms were readily available on arrival, speedy check-in, etc.). The queue of guests checking in grew longer by the minute; yet there was still only 1 person manning the desk. Another staff member made a brief appearance behind the counter, stared sympathetically at the queue for almost half a minute, before gluing his eyes onto the computer screen and began to type furiously.

At 4.50pm, we weary travellers approached Gary again (there were also 6 other guests who were in the same situation as us). At this point, he seemed slightly uneasy, trying to attend to other guests first before coming back to us. Once again, he disappeared to the back to check with cleaning staff (we guess the main reception phone would not allow him to communicate with other staff – that was why he kept going to the back room to check whether our rooms were ready! But then again, who knows what actually happened behind the scene!).

Gary finally told us that the room would be ready in “half an hour” (ie. 5.20pm). This time, that was the truth! We dumped our bags on the beds, and started checking out the facilities available. In the lodge (ie. dormitory-style accommodation), kitchen utensils would need to be “borrowed” from a convenient store adjacent to the building (on a $50 deposit). The store was closed at 5.30pm, unfortunately! One of the cleaning staff was kind enough to lend us a few items to cook our meal with. Another plus side is that the room was spacious, REASONABLY clean, and had a one-channel TV (not that this cricket channel impressed me that much!). The mattress was great, by the way!

We could not find any information on the “official check-in time” on the resort’s website. Maybe it would be a good idea to publish this – in order to manage guests’ expectations. Gary offered no explanation on why it took the resort too long to clean the rooms. We found out they were short of staff over the Christmas period (through one of the cleaning supervisors). We would have been OK had Gary told us to wait for 3 hours upon our arrival (instead of filling this time with a series of “lies”) – as we could have undertaken some other activities while waiting! Another traveller (who ended up in the same room with us) arrived an hour before us, and thus had to wait for 4 hours to get the room. So, travellers, if you have to stay here, make sure your arrive at the resort in the late afternoon, get up early to do the Rim Walk the following morning, and get out of the area as early as you can!

But wait, the saga continued! We turned up at reception at 8pm on Monday (30 December) to check out. Greeting us (with a mild sneer) was a young staff member named Mason. When I requested a receipt of our stay, he printed it out to the printer in the back room (yes, that famous back room, again!). He could have just run to the back and retrieve the print-out for us straight away; but instead, he answered an incoming call and stayed on the line for some 9 minutes, while I was standing right there, waiting patiently for my receipt! Talking about the ability to prioritize work! Or perhaps we belong to the “backpackers” category that does not deserve decent treatment from resort staff.

I guess you get an idea on whether we will recommend this resort to anyone. Too bad that’s the only accommodation you find in the Kings Canyon area. So sad to see what happens when a single business venture claims monopoly of a region!

Room Tip: All rooms have air-cons and heaters, so you should be OK. Just make sure you call and check when th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for the observations and review, it is appreciated.

Firstly let me assure you that check-in and room availability has nothing to do with room category, and I apologise for the wait you endured. Gary's contact with the Room Staff is via a radio, and not telephone, thus his need to go to that device.

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kings Canyon hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in a room with a spa bath, and found it clean, quiet and comfortable. The spa bath sits in a "bay window" (with no blinds!) - theres no view (unless you count a rocky embankment as a view) but it does make it feel a bit "back to nature". It's hardly a "resort" and make no mistake, these rooms are EXPENSIVE - we only stayed here because we found a half-price deal - but we enjoyed our stay very much. Its a short walk to the pub/bistro which serves nice meals, and a short drive to the Kings Canyon walks. Reception staff were welcoming and friendly. We didn't need or ask for anything, so I can't comment on other service. It's an outback settlement, not a city or even a town, so don't expect too much, but it's a major step up from a tent or caravan, and we were glad we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddleAgedHippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and the Deluxe Spa Room, our remote location does present many logistical and cost challenges and I can assure you that we keep our prices to a minimum at all times.

It is also good to note that you found our staff welcoming and friendly.

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

$140 for a 'box' with a dodgy door seemed a bit overpriced, but at 45+ degrees, we decided we weren't camping that night.
Having said that, the reception area was nice, and I loved the cafe and bar set up- we had a really lovely delicious dinner, and lots of cold drinks.
The easy walk to the sunset viewing of the canyon was lovely.
I just think the accomodation itself could do with a little workover, tidy things up!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiannan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Rhiannan, and thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the Cafe, Bar, Food and Drinks. Maybe a resort or spa room would be more suitable if you are back our way again.......

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Room was of poor quality, bathroom was falling apart and a bit dirty but visiting the surrounding areas help make everything A-OK!
Check in counter service was really efficient and helpfull and the restaurant served delicious pizzas!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taiter32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the pizza, and sincere apologies for any Housekeeping deficiencies you may have experienced.

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Property: Kings Canyon Resort
Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing