We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfortunately not so many choices in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“unfortunately not so many choices in the desert”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Reviewing this hotel i must take into account that is located in the middle of the desert so I cannot rate it as I do for all other accommodations located in big cities, otherwise I would be much more severe.
The rooms have just the essential, forget an internet connection to communicate with the world, but as I said you cannot expect so much in the desert. the restaurant (country style) was nice and with a good animation after dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoNadia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for the review and observations, it is appreciated. Despite our remote location we do endeavor to offer a high standard of services and facilities at all times.

Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    582
    386
    178
    92
See reviews for
369
836
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavaliere, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything was wrong except the location! All the facilities were dirty! 3 of 5 (maybe more) barbies were out of order and disgusting! We told the receptionist but nothing happened even if she said she would send someone... The swimming pool was nice but needs a refresh and a cleaning of course (full of sand and bugs). The staff was not efficient at all and on top of all : Very expensive 57AUD for an unpowered campsite!!!!! Sad!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Imisshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your Campsite, it is appreciated.

Please accept my apologies for any out of order BBQ's that were evident during you Camping, and we are glad that you enjoyed the pool.


Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kings Canyon hotels

Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I turned up with a friend and we took a beautiful spa room, we loved the feature window and the spa, even though we had no time to use it! Shower was wonderful, loved the room, but it could have been cleaner, cobwebs behind the door!
The restaurant was even better, the food was amazing and for a remote place, the prices were reasonable, I have to pay way more in WA.
I'll go back for a longer stay next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for the review and comments, they are greatly appreciated. Hopefully you will be back this way and can visit us again one day.........


Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I get they're a long way from anywhere and don't get too much repeat business but the pricing is still disproportionate. We arrived for one night on the way from Alice down to Uluru via the Mereenie Loop. We stayed in a spa room which was nice enough - good room, clean, good aircon, nice and private.

The bar area felt like a backpackers bar and it seemed only one of the restaurants was open - we were there in November which isn't peak season but some choice would have been nice - its not a small resort. The food was actually very good, the beer was good and cold but the price of the place put us off. No choice really apart from another resort about 20-odd miles away and you feel aggrieved at paying but have little choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essjay2730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We appreciate the review and the time taken to do so.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the Spa Room, food and beverage, and found your accommodation to be clean and in good order.

I can personally assure you that our pricing is not disproportionate to our location, we do keep our prices to a minimum and at no stage take commercial advantage of our location.

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The accommodation here is very basic but clean and functional. Anywhere else you would find the cost to be totally outrageous. Given the extremely remote location I can understand to some extent but the price was still very high for what you are getting.  The resort is located only 7km from the stunning Kings Canyon.

The resort bar and bistro were good for one night (good value pizzas). Unfortunately the BBQ was closed (apparently this is only open in high-season).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and observations, thank you for taking the time to review us.
Our remote location certainly presents us with some challenges with logistics and costs however we endeavour to keep rates to acceptable and affordable levels at all times.

The Outback BBQ dining area is open from 1st April and operates through to 31 October annually, we are sorry that you did miss a unique Australian experience there.

Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
388 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

If your are planning a visit to Ayers Rock, Kings Canyon is only 350 kilometers up the road and worth the quick three hour drive. Kings Canyon Resort is only six kilometers from Watarrka National Park in the Northern Territory. The Resort offers numerous options for accommodations. We choose the King bed room with a spa and a view of the rocky escarpment that highlights the area.

Our rate included a delicious outback breakfast that was excellent. If you have early bird dinner between 5:30 and 6:30pm, a beer or wine is included with the meal. Two days is the perfect amount of time to visit Kings Canyon and the Resort offers a 50% discount for the second night's stay. The Resort's website is excellent and look for their special discount offers.

Our room was oversized with a king bed, sofa, large bathroom with shower, refrigerator, and spa with a gorgeous view. You have choices of accommodations including camp sites, tents, budget rooms, standard rooms, and the deluxe spa room. The Kings Canyon Resort staff are there to help with your outdoor adventure in Watarrka National Park.

Room Tip: A deluxe spa room with a king bed and sofa offer extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We appreciate the review and the time taken to do so, thanks you.

We agree they are special, it is surprising I think to find such large spa rooms at the end of such a long journey. It is great that you enjoyed the breakfast and were able to take advantage of some of our other specials as well.

We trust you can make it back again one day!

Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in the cabin style lodge which we paid $130 for. The room was basic basic with 4 beds and towels, and a small tv. That is it. Had to walk to bathhouse for toilets and showers. Rooms were clean but so basic. Unfortunately there are no other options for accommodations so you have no choice but to pay this highly inflated rate for a room you would normally pay $50 for at tops. It is a beautiful location but sadly you leave with a sour taste in your mouth that you have been taken for a ride with the price you pay for everything.....fuel, restaurant, drinks etc. overall just put a damper on what could have been an amazing trip:(

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mfetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for the review, it is appreciated. We are sorry that the Lodge Room in our Campground section didn't meet your expectations, we also offer Standard and Deluxe Spa full service options one of which may have suited you better.

Our remote location certainly presents us with some challenges with logistics and costs however we endeavour to keep rates to acceptable and affordable levels at all times.

Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Property: Kings Canyon Resort
Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing