We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very very disappointing”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The term "resort" is such a misnomer.... there is nothing luxurious about this place. The pool was unusable, but did provide amusement as we watched hopefuls arrive in swimwear with towels slung over shoulders, only to take one look at the greenish soup and walk away disappointed. It was clearly a health risk. The smell and flies from the open "water" draining from the picnic area toilets was third world. This place exploits its monopoly and location near to the canyon.... taking credit for the natural beauty.... but I would recommend a day trip to the canyon rather than risking health thru any activity involving this so called "resort". Shame to the owners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicaltrish0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine I, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear tropicaltrish0210,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, we appreciate it.

It was disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Please allow us to apologise for these shortfalls – being located in the Red Centre does have its challenges, including having to manage facilities like swimming pools in extreme heat.

Our remote location does pose some challenges with logistics which can be reflected in pricing, but we do believe, however that the experience we offer is worth coming for.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    588
    394
    179
    92
See reviews for
375
844
44
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this resort in November 2012 just for the one night on a tour of the Red Centre, Ayers Rock - Kings Canyon - Alice Springs. If we would have known what this was going to be like we would not have done it. The resort is very basic and we couldnt wait to get out. Whilst the room was adequate and clean the resort as a whole was awful. The staff were just not interested in helping at all and the restaurant was the biggest disaster! We enquired about the menu and found there were 5 main main dishes on the menu, all of which were about $30 each. We opted to have 2 starters and a side between us. Thank goodness we didnt as we sat on a dirty table in a dark and dingy room which seemed to house a million flies. It was near impossible to eat a meal because of them - we eat in under 5 minutes just so we could get the hell out of there. Staff just didnt care - they have no competition and you can definetley tell because they dont care about giving you even basic service. We woke at 6.30 and checked out straight away. Would not recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshine0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine I, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sunshine0710,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, we appreciate it.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

With regards to our dining facilities, in the low season (November - March) we do only have the one option available due to low occupancy and very few visitors to the area. However, in our peak season we also have the Outback BBQ and Grill with live entertainment which provides 2 options to our guests.

We were disappointed however to hear that you found the service levels below standard. The company that owns Kings Canyon Resort is Delaware North Australia Parks and Resorts. We have several properties around Australia and pride ourselves in the superior service we provide all of our guests. All feedback, both positive and negative is taken very seriously and escalated to our Australian Head Office.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you have the opportunity to come back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

4 of us stayed in 2 interconnecting standard rooms at the resort for 2 nights (26 and 27 December). The rooms were spacious. However, the room I stayed with my wife had putrid smell from the bathroom. I immediately went to the reception requesting another room. They could only offer a room for the first night at the other end of the complex and nothing for the second night. Yet the resort didn't seem to be that busy. There was nobody in about 12 rooms next to us, but those rooms didn't seem to have air conditioning. In the end they sent a handyman and a plumber to fix the problem. They said that the room had not been used for a while and that is why it stunk. They let the water run for a while and the stench was largely gone. However, there was a bit of odour the whole time we stayed there. Surely, they could check the rooms before they let the guests in, especially if they know that there might be a problem.
The bar fridge was falling apart. It had no door on the small freezer and the ice built up over a long time and was hanging out of the freezer. The temperature adjuster and bottom shelf were both missing. Bottom shelf of the fridge in the 2nd room was also missing.
The place could be a lot better if it was run a bit better.
The rim walk was excellent and I did it both mornings I was there. It really is the only reason to come to Kings Canyon. There is nothing else there. The supermarket is extremely expensive and lucky we brought most of our own supplies. Even reviews here could not prepare me for the prices.
I will probably be back to do the rim walk, but I don't believe I would be staying overnight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cromansydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine I, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear cromansydney,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, we appreciate it.

We are so glad that you enjoyed the Rim Walk around the canyon, which is amazing!

All of your concerns are being followed up as a matter of priority with regards to the rooms so this problem does not occur again.

Our remote location does pose some challenges with logistics which can be reflected in pricing, but we do believe, however that the experience we offer is worth coming for.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you have the opportunity to come back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
261 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We did the trip from ayers rock by car through kings canyon and then to glen helen.
thus, you must stay at this resort. VERY expensive. food is rather terrible and very basic. rooms are ok, but for this price you would get 5* somewhere else.
staff is not trained. checkin is at 3. no exceptions. in fact they had quite a mess when we arrived. many people were still waiting at 4 for their rooms.
do the helicopter tour of kings canyon. great.
do the hike early in the morning. the heat will kill you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine I, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear RolandShanghai,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, we appreciate it.

We are so glad that you enjoyed the Rim Walk and helicopter tour, which are both amazing.

Our check in time is 3pm and we apologise that we were not able to have a room ready earlier than this for you. We are currently in our "low" season and we staff accordingly - in some circumstances we are not able to get rooms ready prior to check in time, although we do appreciate the long journey and certainly wish that we could do this more often.

Our remote location does pose some challenges with logistics which can be reflected in pricing, but we do believe, however that the experience we offer is worth coming for.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you have the opportunity to come back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

As we were not prepared to pay a lot more, we had budget accommodation. We had a double bed, TV, kettle but the 'climatisation' left a lot to be desired - someone explained that we had to open the window, not the door, to get the room cooler! With no private facilities we used the 'shared facilities' nearby - OK for 1 night. There were cooking & laundry facilities on site & a reasonable restaurant. Best of all was the 'look-out point' just behind the complex - wonderful views at sunset.
We were well situated for our walk round the rim of Kings Canyon the next morning. We left the hotel complex at 5.30am to benefit from the less-hot part of the day. A hard & long climb up, with our excellent guide, but it was well worth it fro the views from the top. The 'Garden of Eden' was great too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWalker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were booked here 2 nights, and we wished it was only 1, or rather none, but there aren't that many possibilities in the area.
The check in was horrible. The room wasn't ready yet (12.30??, check out time 10.00 am). A very unpolite lady, almost rude, send us to the woods.... Go for a walk, she said....euhhhh, midst of the day, over 40 degrees C?? So we decided to explore the surroundings..... It all looked a bit shabby, outdated and lost. I think, it once was a nice place, but the spirit is gone. Poor pool, and no pooltowels (resort???).Then we decided to have a drink at the bar. The drink is okay, overpriced for sure, but the bar itself, terrible. Music so loud, you could not speak to eachother, so we sat outside. Which is preferable anyway, because there no airco.
The only dinner option, a some kind of a open kitchen snack, is totally overpriced. Extremely expensive, and not very polite served. As we had a hotelroom, we didn't have option to prepare our own food, which we wouldn't have done anyways, the shop is extremely expensive, example: 7A$ for a small jar of salt.
The room, we had a standard room, had a good working airco, and was spacious and reasonable clean. The bathroom was a laugh, the strangest bathtub/shower combination ever. No way i could stay under the shower, and i'm around 1.70m. So much for washing your hair after a beautiful hike. Because that's what we came for, and enjoyed very much, despite our stay at this place.

Room Tip: Don't expect to much
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DutchAntilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine I, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Dutch Antilles,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, we appreciate it.

We are sorry to hear that your didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Our check in time is at 2pm, which is standard for all hotels. Whilst check out time is at 10am, there are multiple rooms that need to be cleaned everyday and whilst on some occasions we are able to have rooms ready prior to 2pm we can not guarantee this. We do apologise however that you were inconvenienced by this. We understand that it is a long drive out to Kings Canyon and that you would have loved to get straight into your room to relax.

Two weeks ago we had air conditioning installed into the Bar and Bistro - which has brought much relief to our guests. We apologise that this wasn't yet installed when you stayed with us, however we are pleased to advise of this change. We are sorry about the volume of the music - that is unusual and certainly not acceptable. This feedback has been passed on to the General Manager who will follow up accordingly to prevent future frustrations.

It is pleasing to hear that you found your room to be spacious, comfortable and clean. The rooms them selves were built quite some time ago and we do have plans to refurbish the bathrooms in the future.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the Rim Walk. It is the reason people come all this way from around the world, it is absolutely breathtaking.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

The team at Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hi, i have been to Kings Canyon 2 times now. Back in 2010 and 2012, and can i say things are getting worst or at best stayed the same. Rooms need to be cleaned up with new pillows, sheets, and towels.... getting old with holes also in the blankets. The aircon is to cold or doesnt work, get fans instead.... The restraunt and bar cafe, why do you close the restraunt every summer? I know this because i have been there in both summers. The bar cafe is dirty and flies whilst trying to eat, not good. The entertainment has been there since last time i visited, and yes fun but not entertainment.... Maybe i want too much, but when i look at the word RESORT you need to deliver and not just say we are making changes. You need to spend money to make money! Your staff serve you well and its a wonder they would stay there for long periods as they seemed to be working hard as you have a short list of them. PLEASE DO SOMETHING!! see you next summer as i love the Canyon walks and surrounds. Look forward to a new look resort sometime???

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are the only ok rooms. Clean and great aircon to keep cool whilst enjoying a spa.... w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p0stcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine I, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear p0stcards,

Thank you for your taking the time to post your feedback.

The feedback with regards to the quality of the bedding has come as quite a shock. This has been immediately passed on to the General Manager and also the Executive Housekeeper as this is not acceptable and certainly not the quality we usually present.

In summer flies do present a problem in the Australian outback. We try our very best to keep them outside and in particular out of the cafe but this can not always be achieved with doors opening and shutting constantly with our guests. In saying this, we are looking at better ways to manage the flies and protect the food as to avoid future disappointment.

In a destination such as Kings Canyon, for the most part our guests prefer air conditioning, especially given the hot conditions at this time of the year. If you are finding that the air conditioning is too cold or would prefer a fan, we do have fans available at reception and the maintenance team would be happy to assist in turning off the air conditioning for you - I do hope that these tips come in useful next year when you come to visit us again.

As you have mentioned, Kings Canyon is a remarkable destination and we do value all of our wonderful staff that work at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you again next year and showing you the positive changes that we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Property: Kings Canyon Resort
Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing