We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded room is nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Upgraded room is nice!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent one night here on our mini tour of the outback. We booked a lower class of room, but paid for the upgrade to the deluxe room when we arrived, which was well worth it. The room was huge, and we got to relax in the spa tub after our long day of driving and hiking. The only draw back is there is a bit of an odor from the toilet as they use gray (semi treated) water for it. If you can get over this fact, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kupula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    603
    406
    190
    94
See reviews for
390
863
47
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Do not be put off by the outward appearance of the deluxe rooms with look like a shed with a corrugated iron roof. Inside is luxury with a double spa bath and a picture window looking out over the outback. Two double beds and clean. The main restaurant was closed but the other one whilst looking basic delivered very good food at a reasonable price. I can not comment on much of the service as our tour guide did everything for us

Room Tip: Go for the best if you can afford it. The view of the stars at night through the picture window was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigalEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a great two night stay here with my partner. We stayed in the spa room which was great. The view from the spa out to the red rock outback was fantastic. The rest of the room was clean and comfortable.

Only the cafe / bar was open but the food was nice there so didn't mind. If you're on a budget the pizzas are a lot better value for money than the main meals which were quite pricey.

We took a helicopter tour of the canyon. It was expensive but really worth it. It's such a large canyon and you can only really appreciate the size from the air. The guys that run the helicopter tours were really friendly and informative too.

A couple of tips if staying here, particularly in the hotter months. Do the rim walk at sunrise. It's a lot quieter because the big tour buses haven't arrived yet, not to mention cooler and the changing colour of the rocks during sunrise is spectacular. Don't waste your money on a guide either. It's easy to do on your own and there's plenty of signs to point you in the right direction.

Also, stop off at Kings Creek station on the way. It's about 20 mins from the canyon and the camel burgers are delicious!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brob_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is in the middle of no where.....you have to travel hours in the heat to get to this property. You are not going to get a room before 3 p.m. When checking out, I asked the clerk how many units were in the property. The response was about 250. So, were you sold out last night? No, probably around 100 units. You know they had to have rooms clean and available before 3 p. m. They can treat you the way they want to treat you cause there is no other place to stay. When we arrived in Sydney, we were going to drop off our luggage (it was 8:30 a.m.) and tour the city. The InnKeeper said to us, "I have a room ready for you. I know you must be tired." How nice is that? At least there is something to see in Sydney; in King's Canyon, the touring is somewhat limited....very limited. The resort was clean; the beds were comfortable. Joyce Bennett

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Joyce,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kings Canyon certainly is "off the beaten track" so to speak, however the point of view from most visitors is that Kings Canyon itself is certainly worth making the journey. There are many walks that can be done in the area and other touring and activity opportunities, this is what our guests usually spend their time doing whilst with us.

Our check in time is 3pm and we apologise that we were not able to have a room ready earlier than this for you. We are currently in our "low" season and we staff accordingly - in some circumstances we are not able to get rooms ready prior to check in time, although we do appreciate the long journey and certainly wish that we could do this more often.

I hope that you can understand that a city hotel in Sydney is not comparable to a property in the outback. We provide a cultured experience and do try our absolute best to meet and exceed all of our guests expectations.

We hope that you were able to enjoy the canyon while you were here Joyce.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbeulah, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel was perfect for us. They have designed it so it does not interfere with the landscape and is very eco friendly. It was peaceful and a perfect location for our tour over to Kings Canyon. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't want a walk to the restraunt/bar area, ask for a room behind registration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The room was nice. No porterage. No breakfast room, never mind a restaurant or bar. I don't want to have to walk across the highway to eat dinner at an outdoor roadhouse with entertainment geared to entertaining campers' children!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Explorer1950,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.

It is pleasing to hear that you liked your room - we get a lot of excellent feedback about our room facilities, the size and comfort of them so we are happy to hear that you also enjoyed this aspect of your stay.

At Kings Canyon Resort, we do try to cater for all tastes. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast area and the location of the restaurant and bar.

The majority of our guests enjoy that the bar and restaurant are located away from the accommodation area. Also, as our camping and budget accommodation are a little further down the road, the location of these facilities are convenient for all of our guests.

The entertainment (The Roadies) are a favourite among most visitors to our resort. We do have a lot of families that stay with us and the children and parents enjoy the outback entertainment. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy it - it is always our best intention to please all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The lodging at Kings Canyon resort is nice enough, although it is quite clear that the Resort is managed by a large, faceless, multi-national (the Delaware North Corporation) as the quality of service and sense of ownership among the staff is unusually low for Australia.

We stayed in two different rooms during our stay, a standard room and a deluxe room. The standard rooms are OK, with a reasonably comfortable double bed and a bathroom that surprised us by including a bath (not mentioned on the website). The deluxe rooms are stunning, with a lovely king size bed, a balcony and a jacuzzi with a picture window to the wilderness outside.

One subtle difference in care was evident when we returned from dinner. Lights outside the standard rooms where on light sensitive switches that had attracted thousands of night-time insects. When you open your room door, they all flood into the room. At the deluxe rooms, the lights are motion-sensitive, so when you get to your door, no insects have been gathering outside.

Food options at the resort are OK, but they are clearly geared to accommodate volume. The first night we ate at the Cafe, where the main fare was burgers and pizza. Our burgers were quite tasty, with typical Australian size portions. On the second night, we went to the Outback BBQ where they were serving a choice of grilled meat, with corn on the cob, potatoes and a choice of salads. The BBQ is also where a grizzly husband and wife band called the Roadies entertain the crowd with singing, dancing and karaoke!

I would like to make one observation about the main attraction, namely Kings Canyon, which is 10km from the resort. There is little point in coming so far off the beaten track (270 km off the highway) unless you are planning to do the Rim Walk, as there is precious little else to do. The other main walk is the Creek Walk which is about 2 km long, and takes about an hour.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $$$ for a superior room. The term "superior" is apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Proud_South_African
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Proud_South_African,

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback, we appreciate it.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation, in particular the Deluxe Spa Room. The spa is often a highlight for our guests especially after a long drive through the outback.

We were disappointed however to hear that you found the service levels below standard. The company that owns Kings Canyon Resort is Delaware North Australia Parks and Resorts. We have several properties around Australia and pride ourselves in the superior service we provide all of our guests. All feedback, both positive and negative is taken very seriously and escalated to our Australian Head Office. We have recently (in the past 2 weeks) had changes to the management of the property and we are confident that new transformations as a result of the new personnel will certainly be positive ones.

We are so glad that you enjoyed the Rim Walk around the canyon, its amazing!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you have the opportunity to come back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Property: Kings Canyon Resort
Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing