We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Travel for Hours to Get Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“You Travel for Hours to Get Here”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is in the middle of no where.....you have to travel hours in the heat to get to this property. You are not going to get a room before 3 p.m. When checking out, I asked the clerk how many units were in the property. The response was about 250. So, were you sold out last night? No, probably around 100 units. You know they had to have rooms clean and available before 3 p. m. They can treat you the way they want to treat you cause there is no other place to stay. When we arrived in Sydney, we were going to drop off our luggage (it was 8:30 a.m.) and tour the city. The InnKeeper said to us, "I have a room ready for you. I know you must be tired." How nice is that? At least there is something to see in Sydney; in King's Canyon, the touring is somewhat limited....very limited. The resort was clean; the beds were comfortable. Joyce Bennett

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Joyce,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kings Canyon certainly is "off the beaten track" so to speak, however the point of view from most visitors is that Kings Canyon itself is certainly worth making the journey. There are many walks that can be done in the area and other touring and activity opportunities, this is what our guests usually spend their time doing whilst with us.

Our check in time is 3pm and we apologise that we were not able to have a room ready earlier than this for you. We are currently in our "low" season and we staff accordingly - in some circumstances we are not able to get rooms ready prior to check in time, although we do appreciate the long journey and certainly wish that we could do this more often.

I hope that you can understand that a city hotel in Sydney is not comparable to a property in the outback. We provide a cultured experience and do try our absolute best to meet and exceed all of our guests expectations.

We hope that you were able to enjoy the canyon while you were here Joyce.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    582
    387
    178
    92
See reviews for
369
838
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenbeulah, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel was perfect for us. They have designed it so it does not interfere with the landscape and is very eco friendly. It was peaceful and a perfect location for our tour over to Kings Canyon. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't want a walk to the restraunt/bar area, ask for a room behind registration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The room was nice. No porterage. No breakfast room, never mind a restaurant or bar. I don't want to have to walk across the highway to eat dinner at an outdoor roadhouse with entertainment geared to entertaining campers' children!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Explorer1950,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.

It is pleasing to hear that you liked your room - we get a lot of excellent feedback about our room facilities, the size and comfort of them so we are happy to hear that you also enjoyed this aspect of your stay.

At Kings Canyon Resort, we do try to cater for all tastes. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast area and the location of the restaurant and bar.

The majority of our guests enjoy that the bar and restaurant are located away from the accommodation area. Also, as our camping and budget accommodation are a little further down the road, the location of these facilities are convenient for all of our guests.

The entertainment (The Roadies) are a favourite among most visitors to our resort. We do have a lot of families that stay with us and the children and parents enjoy the outback entertainment. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy it - it is always our best intention to please all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The lodging at Kings Canyon resort is nice enough, although it is quite clear that the Resort is managed by a large, faceless, multi-national (the Delaware North Corporation) as the quality of service and sense of ownership among the staff is unusually low for Australia.

We stayed in two different rooms during our stay, a standard room and a deluxe room. The standard rooms are OK, with a reasonably comfortable double bed and a bathroom that surprised us by including a bath (not mentioned on the website). The deluxe rooms are stunning, with a lovely king size bed, a balcony and a jacuzzi with a picture window to the wilderness outside.

One subtle difference in care was evident when we returned from dinner. Lights outside the standard rooms where on light sensitive switches that had attracted thousands of night-time insects. When you open your room door, they all flood into the room. At the deluxe rooms, the lights are motion-sensitive, so when you get to your door, no insects have been gathering outside.

Food options at the resort are OK, but they are clearly geared to accommodate volume. The first night we ate at the Cafe, where the main fare was burgers and pizza. Our burgers were quite tasty, with typical Australian size portions. On the second night, we went to the Outback BBQ where they were serving a choice of grilled meat, with corn on the cob, potatoes and a choice of salads. The BBQ is also where a grizzly husband and wife band called the Roadies entertain the crowd with singing, dancing and karaoke!

I would like to make one observation about the main attraction, namely Kings Canyon, which is 10km from the resort. There is little point in coming so far off the beaten track (270 km off the highway) unless you are planning to do the Rim Walk, as there is precious little else to do. The other main walk is the Creek Walk which is about 2 km long, and takes about an hour.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $$$ for a superior room. The term "superior" is apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Proud_South_African
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Proud_South_African,

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback, we appreciate it.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation, in particular the Deluxe Spa Room. The spa is often a highlight for our guests especially after a long drive through the outback.

We were disappointed however to hear that you found the service levels below standard. The company that owns Kings Canyon Resort is Delaware North Australia Parks and Resorts. We have several properties around Australia and pride ourselves in the superior service we provide all of our guests. All feedback, both positive and negative is taken very seriously and escalated to our Australian Head Office. We have recently (in the past 2 weeks) had changes to the management of the property and we are confident that new transformations as a result of the new personnel will certainly be positive ones.

We are so glad that you enjoyed the Rim Walk around the canyon, its amazing!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you have the opportunity to come back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We're stay in Aug 2012 and only spend a night there at the camping ground. It was very pleasant and soft grass, bathroom are clean, restaurant is really nice. We had a burger for dinner, it was quiet good actually and a reasonable price for the outback. Overall, it was a pleasant experience with them. The only let down probably the fuel price. It was $ 2.20/littre at that time. Eventhough we sort of expect that, but it didn't stop my husband for swearing at the gas price. But we don't have a choice. One advice, don't look at the price, just fill up your tank :-)

Of course, don't forget to do the rim walking at Kings Canyons. Amazing!!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr-and-Mrs-Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

After 350 km from Alice Spring with rented car we arrive in Kings Canyon. Worried for what any hotel whoud have been in the middle of the desert we were very surprised to find out that this Resort had every amenities, even the wifi connection. The restaurant is nice, of course everything is very expensive, it couldn't be different. Room very clean

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giotto79Perugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed two nights in this resort. We didn´t expect much as we saw photos from the hotel and everything looked a bit old BUT we were suprised how nice everything was. We booked a "normal" room with air condition. Everything was in a good condition and almost new. The beds weren´t the best, as it was pocket spring and we felt like on a ship but it was ok. I really liked the restaurant at the resort. The prices were normal and the quality very good! Nice people and a good service! I can warmly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Property: Kings Canyon Resort
Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing