We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible hotel! but your only option in this area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We came to this hotel to see kings canyon. We bookd a standerd room, but it looked like a prison cell. So we asked for another room. We paid for a suite with whirlpool. But everything very bad!

- There were mice in the room!!!!!
- The TV did not work.
- It was full of spiders.

That you do not expect for this price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for sending you feedback. We do sincerely apologise for all of the issues you encountered during your stay with us – these are very unusual for us and not something we come across often. All of your concerns are being followed up as a matter of priority to prevent any disappointment from future guests.

We would like to contact you off-line to discuss further and will be sending you a private email shortly.

Warm Regards,
Kings Canyon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were in a very good standard room with its own balcony to enjoy the sun going down with a drink. Spacious, clean, nice decor a tad expensive but you have to remember where you are.
Fuel and meals close by. Eat in the restaurant part. Other part is all expensive but if you come prepared it won't bother you. Not a fan of the pushy entertainer trying to get audience participation on stage. Would stay again. Alice Springs next.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry-Jezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback, we appreciate it.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The sunset at Kings Canyon is amazing as it’s wonderful that you were able to enjoy this from the comfort of your room. That is one of the benefits of staying in a resort such as ours – you are completely surrounded by incredible scenery and experiences.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback and we hope to see you again next time you travel through the Red Centre.

Warm Regards,
Kings Canyon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a very comfortable night here and a good meal in the restaurant with interesting entertainment. You just have to realise that EVERYTHING is very, very expensive. Some of the costs are hard to justify, but as this is the only accommodation at the canyon, you have to wear it. If you use the camping area, make sure you bring your own food.

Being so expensive, we thought we could have expected some hot water in the shower. Also the exhaust fan had never been cleaned in its life. Luckily we could only afford one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnVacation00Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNAPR, Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback – we appreciate it.

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a pleasant night enjoying the food and the entertainment.

Our remote location does pose some challenges with logistics which can be reflected in pricing, but we do believe, however that the experience we offer and our facilities are worth coming for.

With regards to the fan in your room, our housekeeping department is following this up. We are unsure about what the problem may have been with the hot water though, that is very unusual and we have not received any other complaints regarding this. This issue has now been logged with our maintenance department to look in to though to prevent any future disappointment.

Once again, thank you for feedback and we hope to see you again when you next travel through the Red Centre.

Kind regards,
Kings Canyon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in the top level room with the spa and the view and the room itself was realy lovely, I have no complaints about it at all. We paid $250 per night for 4 of us, including breakfast, which was significantly cheaper than the resort's website.

But calling this place a resort is a bit of a stretch. The restaurants had no air conditioning, were like barns and the food was expensive and very mediocre. Service is almost non existent with everything being served cafeteria style. The pool at the campsite end of the resort was out of action and so the other pool at the hotel end was overpacked with school groups making it unpleasant for everyone else, particularly younger kids. Quite a few of the things on the website were not operational in fact and even though we were here in school holidays, the hotel part of the resort had a half empty feel to it. Grocery prices were ridiculous, with a small box of weetbix for $9, a packet of dry biscuits $10 and a small pack of coco pops over $16. Quite a few of the freezers and refrigeration were out of order in the grocery store, giving it a bit of a run down feel. Petrol was $2.20 a litre for unleaded ($1.40 in Melbourne at the time and $1.90 along the Lasseter Highway).

Kings Canyon is about 12 km away and is absolutely beautiful, but I'm not sure I would do this area again as the West MacDonnells offer so much more and are so much less expensive to get to. Alternatively, although it would be a long day I would consider a day trip out of Alice, because the canyon itself is the attraction, not this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Like some of the other reviewers, we were not able to check in at the advertised time. We arrived at 2:15, and our rooms weren't ready, we weren't able to check in until 3:45. There were a number of other guests waiting around to check in as well, so not an isolated occurrence. Once checked in the rooms (deluxe spa) was beautiful and the view from the spa was just like in the brochure pictures. However you could see that housekeeping wasn't a strong point of this place, as the sheets were crumpled and although clean, were stained. We had the recommended BBQ dinner - expensive for what you got. Quirky live country entertainment, quite a ho-down. The proximity to the canyon was a winner though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scooterpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Overpriced budget room with no way to turn off the noisy aircon, even when it was 15 degrees outside at night. Shared facilities were dirty and the food at the supermarket and restaurants were overpriced. Check in took 15 minutes for the person in front of us and the girls at reception didn’t know what to do about the aircon. Good location but that’s the only positive thing about it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Arrived at check-in time on a very hot day to be told no rooms ready! Saw the sign about requesting an upgrade and very happy to find a spa suite available straight away. Good move, as the room was spacious, and the bath with desert views great. We were turned away from the nearby small pool by the noise of screaming schoolgirls on an excursion, but managed to have a nice dip in the larger pool at the other end of the complex. Dinner at the outback BBQ was good plain food, and we ate outside to be further from the noise of the same school excursion ( pleasant but not to be shared at close quarters ) Up before dawn to do the Canyon Rim Walk - two advantages to the timing- cool weather for the climb, and the magnificent sunrise at the top. We finished that in about 2 hours with much time for photos, and then did the Kings Creek walk which is also well worth doing.
We asked for and were given a late checkout at 11, which allowed plenty of time for a shower and packing up to head back to Alice.
Everything is pricey out here, but given the distances and limited transport options, it was a good place to stay to see the fantastic sights of the area. Don't miss the sunset viewing from the boardwalk viewing station.

Room Tip: Go for a spa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgsSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range: $98 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing