We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uluru Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Uluru Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Now this finished up be a little disappointing, the place itself is in a fabulous position and the friendly staff at the reception area where more that helpful, our site was great and close to all the amenities, which were very clean and nicely set out with amenity blocks all around us but do you think that we could get a hot shower. Now I am not sure that they were doing a bit of plumbing work around nut surely if the showers aren't working properly then please put up a sign, rather than have to get to the shower, strip off and find the bloody water cold!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Hello from Central Australia, Kings Canyon Resort is definitely positioned in the most spectacular part of the country…The beautiful campground is situated at the best end of the resort, views out and across the ranges and well positioned to handle large amounts of happy campers alike, sadly we had a bank of heaters go down that week, sadly the testing showed us we were good to go, but the issue was in the switch gear, not the heaters, so apologies for the coldish shower you had to experience. Did you see the Malley Ring Neck Parrots that are nesting throughout the area, they are really beautiful...Thanks again and happy travels… Regards Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    575
    381
    174
    92
See reviews for
366
826
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 young children in April in a Deluxe Spa room with 2 x queen beds. Our schedule only allowed one night but wish we could have stayed 2. I felt the room was pretty luxurious for the middle of the outback, and after completing the rim walk would have loved to make use of the spa, but we were all too tired and just crashed in the comfortable beds. This set up wouldn't suit everyone (2 x queen beds in the one room), but it was OK for our situation. You could put the children to bed earlier and sit out on the balcony and enjoy a glass of wine.The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, and the children loved the pool. Our room rate included buffet breakfast at the restaurant and this was good. We also ate dinner at the restaurant because it was close to our room and it was OK - expensive as you would expect for such a remote location. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend the spa rooms and the rim walk. Well worth the detour.

Room Tip: Deluxe spa rooms are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kangamum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Hi There, Yes the Deluxe Spa rooms are fabulous and as you said, everyone really enjoys the great views out across the desert sandstone escarpments from your balcony. I'm really grateful hearing all your positive review and great feedback; we often hear how guests just love the outlook from the rooms and vast rugged but yet beautiful landscape. How nice to be able to enjoy all the comforts of home, especially given the huge mileage from major cities or supplies. Thanks again for staying with us and love to have you comeback again one day soon, please make sure you tell all your friends and relatives about how much you enjoyed your visit. From all of us out here at Kings Canyon Resort, Travel safe and stay happy ! Best Regards …Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We traveled from Uluru to get here. On the way our tour guide told stories of the area and local people keeping us entertained on the journey.

The resort was good and rooms clean and tidy. The view from the room made me think the we were alone in the outback even though we were in the middle of the resort.

The Dingos in the area were around, we heard their howls at sunset, but they kept themselves hidden

Breakfast at the resort restaurant was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentKirkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Great to hear from you, pleased you loved the Resort and the our natural surroundings, Yes very outback and very peaceful with a billion stars... we had a night of star gazing last night and the sky was simply amazing ! We've been told the clarity of the night sky out here is the best there anywhere, possibly also because of the vast distance to any metro city or coastal shore line, desert nights are breathtaking, thanks again for your positive comments, really grateful hearing your lovely feedback...Thank You ! All the best and safe travels... Daniel Boissevain(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed one night in a Deluxe Spa room and found it to be excellent. Lovely and spacious room that was decorated very tastefully.
Plenty of seating options provided in room including dining table and chairs, sofa and outdoor table and chairs. A nice touch in the room was the two champagne glasses provided which we used when sharing a bottle of champagne to watch the sun set over the canyon. Beautiful.
The resort itself is well maintained and offers a number of different levels of accomodation.
As we speak the two restuarants are closed for renovaton with only the BBQ open barn open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate dinner here and found the food to be tasty, generous and homestyle in nature. Not bad at all.
The only thing we did not enjoy about the current dining experience was the forced exposure to their "band" in the same room as the dining area. The band were audience participation in nature as well as loud. Not much fun whilst you are trying to enjoy a quiet meal in a beauitful location. Hopefully the alternative dining options will be up and running soon.
The resort is in a great spot for ease of access to the canyon and the rim trail hike is a must!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Hi all the way from Central Australia, Kings Canyon Resort is the most isolated resort in the country, especially given the distance from any coastal sea shore, incredible to think, we're 3 full days in driving distance from any ocean. All our supplies come via huge big long Road Trains and rail, nearly 2300km away, so arriving at Kings Canyon Resort in itself has been a test, we love hearing great positive stories about how much you enjoyed the Resort, the area and the amazingly ancient landscape, thanks for writing about us in such a positive manner. We really appreciate you taking the time to enjoy our destination, the great food and the lovely rooms. I’ll make sure to pass on your positive comments to all my staff, they work so hard to deliver the high standards you spoke about and that you’ve enjoyed. Warm regards and happy travels... Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in two deluxe spa units for one night in April. The rooms were spacious and beds comfortable but the main feature of the room is the large spa bath overlooking the red rocky landscape through the large picture windows, really quite spectacular. The major downside to both our rooms was the appalling smell, hard to describe but maybe like rotten water in a bilge? Hopefully this was a temporary problem and once fixed people will enjoy the view from the spa.

Being so close to Kings Canyon is also a benefit as it is only about a 10 minute drive, which is important at 6am when wanting to be at the Canyon for sunrise (which is well worth the effort).

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller5ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Hello from The Kings Canyon Team, I am really pleased you & your family enjoyed your stay in the deluxe spa rooms, yes it is an awesome view from the Spa, that's one of the main features everyone talks about. Central Australia is known for its amazing beautiful weather, crystal clear blue skies and gorgeous rocky landscapes, ancient culture and rare plants and birds life. We thank you and your family for staying with us and hope that one day we’ll get the chance to look after you again ?. …Next time you drop in for visit, you’ll see how we’re constantly improving our oasis resort in so many ways...Warm Regards… Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife an I stayed at the Kings Canyon Resort for three nights and decided to spoil ourselves and stay in a deluxe spa room. The room was tucked away at the top of the resort and very quiet. The room was very spacious with a nice genuine two person spa overlooking the rocky outcrop. A king size bed was a nice change to spread out.

It was only a short five minute stroll to the restaurant and bar. Super clean with a nice and powerful shower.

Well worth the little cost of upgrading from a normal room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plugga_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Hi There, Great news that you've enjoyed the Deluxe Spa Room upgrade, well done ! I love the large picture window looking out at the red colored rocks and natural garden landscape.
Just as you've written, so many people love the extra little advantages in these wonderful rooms in comparison to the Resort Standard rooms, great that they both have bushland gardens and views, but how good is it to slip into that large Spa and enjoy sipping on a glass of bubbly with views out across the amazing colours of the setting sun ! Thanks for such a lovely review and hope your travels keep spoiling you with natures wonders. Warmest Regards Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. When we booked we were upgraded to the Deluxe Spa room -- an end unit with a spa tub and a porch that looked out on a wilderness area. It felt very secluded and private, and the wilderness view was really lovely. The room (2 queen beds), was large, with a table and chairs and a mini-fridge, as well as a table and chairs on the porch. Although the decor was a bit dated, the linens were nice and the bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious and up-to-date, and the whole place was nice and clean. Overall, the resort was showing its age and in need of some updating, but we had a very pleasant stay. Kings Canyon is a very worthwhile addition to your Red Centre visit. The drive from Uluru helps you appreciate how out-in-the-middle-of-nowhere you are, and it was a good way to see wild camels, brumbies and dingos along the way.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
As we say in the Outback, "G'Day", and welcome to Kings Canyon Resort, you are one of the lucky guests that enjoyed a Deluxe Spa room, Yes you're right, looking out onto the 200 million year old Sandstone Escarpments is a view worth a million dollars, how lucky are we to be able to have such an amazing place to live, visit, explore and enjoy !
What I keep saying to visitors is ... "your protected and looked after, right in the middle of a National Park and we have 75 staff who work and live here 24/7 helping to make sure you have the best possible stay... "In the middle of absolutely nowhere" ! stay safe and happy travels Warm Regards, Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Property: Kings Canyon Resort
Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing