We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - as long as you like insects!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place - as long as you like insects!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had booked a deluxe spa room for one night as a stopover on our journey between Ayers Rock and Alice Springs. When we first went into the room we were quite impressed by the size of it - until we discovered a number of large webs (and spiders) above both the spa bath and the beds.
My wife has an absolute fear of these creatures, and whilst she was ok with travelling through the outback she really didn't want to share her room with them! I called housekeeping who were very apologetic and said it was most unusual for this to happen, and showed me a room just a little further along. Unfortunately that also had quite a few eight legged inhabitants too.
We were offered a free drink at the bar whilst Trish (who was delightful) went to find us a room that was web-free, which took about half an hour. She was very apologetic and offered us dinner and a bottle of wine 'on the house' to compensate us, which was very much appreciated.
As I've said, the deluxe room was large, and the spa bath was a nice treat.
Dinner in the evening was OK - the main courses are all around $30 which was OK but I think that $15 to have a dessert (which was a choice of cake, some strange blancmange pudding or melon) was a bit steep. Breakfast was included in the room cost, and was not bad.
You have to remember that this is the heart of the outback, so there isn't going to be a huge selection of fresh fruit and vegetables.
I think that given her phobia of spiders, staying a night out here might not have been the best holiday-planning decision my wife made. Outside the rooms there were still huge webs (and occupants!) across the railings and around light fittings etc. Clearly this is "their" world and the hotel guests are staying in it, and if they don't bother you then it's a good place to stop overnight because visiting the nearby Canyon is amazing.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the deluxe spa rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremys30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hello from Kings Canyon, pleased you enjoyed the lovely dinner and pleasant atmosphere at Carmichael's Restaurant, Yes the spiders are having so much fun at the moment, it’s that time of the year when all happy little critters are sharing homes together and traveling about exploring new destinations.
Tracy Walker (Assistant General Manager) knew that your wife was struggling with her anxiety about spiders, that’s why she double and triple checked the room, at the end of the trip to Australia, I hope you’ll remember the beautiful desert Oasis that is a favorite destination for many thousands of happy travelers and explorers visiting us out here.
Thanks for taking the time to write about us, we really appreciate it !
Best Regards… Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    603
    407
    192
    95
See reviews for
391
866
47
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We loved this place! It is a little oasis in the outback. Cute rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotsfuninperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Hello from Kings Canyon.
Wonderful review ! thanks very much... You guys are fantastic !
We appreciate your positive input, as we're so far from any shoreline in Australia, word of mouth positive reviews are awesome !
Thanks again and hope your travels are safe and exciting, no matter where you live.
Best Regards... from all the team at Kings !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as part of an AAT Kings tour. Having driven from Uluru (5 hours) we were happy to arrive and the coach took us to our room as it was at the far end of the resort. The standard room was fairly simple but reasonable size and clean enough. Only one restaurant was open (bistro over the road closed for renovation) and as we didn't want a big buffet we just had a drink and ended up getting some snack items from the small shop and eating in the room. I was up early for the rim walk while my wife laid in and did the valley walk. I had time to go back to the room, shower and pack then met her to check out before the tour moved on to Alice Springs. Kings Canyon is a great place to visit and the scenery spectacular but you need to be realistic about the accommodation to be expected in such a remote area.

Room Tip: Spa rooms looked nice but maybe not needed for a short stop. Campsite type things not our choice, sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teddytnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Hello from Kings Canyon, Thank you for staying with us!... you were here amongst the most amazing ancient landscape scenery in central Australia. The most impressive sandstone escarpments in the whole of Australia surrounds us here at Kings Canyon, steeped in culture, rich in colours and contrast... no wonder so many people flock here from all round the globe, even in the high heat of summer, you can see Europeans traveling thru' this amazing countryside, with cameras and water bottles strapped around their necks, walking and taking it all in... Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you again one day soon
Best Regards Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

During our recent trip to the NT, I proposed to my partner while we were in Kings Canyon (she said a resounding yes luckily). I highly recommend making the time to visit KC and do either the Kings Creek Walk or if possible, the longer KC Rim walk – our highlight over Uluru. We decided to stay at the KC Resort during this time, and stayed 2 nights from the 8th of January in deluxe spa room. First, a little about the resort, room and restaurant. As we were there in Summer, it was dead quite - probably no more than 20 rooms being used in a resort with over 250 rooms. This made doing our walks and using the resort facilities effortless and everything was still open for use (except for Dingo's just down the road, which was undergoing a 2 week renovation). It was really great that it was uncrowded as it was quiet and peaceful. The rest of the place was well manicured and the pool was clean. The room - one word, Fantastic! Everything worked fine, there was a fair size fridge waiting for us to stock up and spa looking out into the wilderness made evenings a real treat. The bed (king) was massive and not one of the dodgy types that are made of 2 pushed together beds you often find elsewhere. They were spacious, well maintained and clean, not a hint of duct taped fly mesh. The restaurant - can I just say all other positive reviews of Carmichaels on trip advisor were not wrong. The restaurant never failed to impress. The menu rotated nightly with about 5-6 mains on offer for about $30 give or take per main, plus $15 for entree's (buffet) or $15 for dessert (again, buffet). Both nights we spent there had a selection of native Aussie meats (Kangaroo, Barra etc..) and lamb/beef etc. We sampled 3 of the mains, one night both getting the Roo and all were absolutely top notch. Wine selection was also great, however a little pricey ($45 average for a bottle) but not to be unexpected out there. The one let down I had in the restaurant was the desert buffet which I think comprised of Sara Lee cakes like banana and carrot, cut into squares - sticking to wine was the better option ;)

Finally - the staff: These are the faces that made the stay as special, memorable and as fantastic as it could have been. Nothing was too much to ask of them and they catered to every request. As we had a special occasion for our successful engagement, I had secretly organised with the staff to have a special menu organised for our dinner, and for a bottle of wine with a small congratulations note brought out immediately at seating. Originally, I had tried to be seated somewhere we could see the sunset, which the staff was all too happy to help with by setting up a table outside on a rocky platform. Unfortunately though, the weather wasn't accommodating to this so instead (and unknown to me) the staff had organised to ferry my partner and I by golf cart (or 'chariot' as I coined it) to the nearby sunset viewing platform where we were being offered a complimentary special plate of hors d'oeuvres including oysters, choc coated strawberries and champagne while the sun set. Again the weather slightly altered the plans, so the staff member drove us up there, left us to our own devices as long as we wanted, then drove us to the restaurant where we had the champagne, entree plate, wine and a special and very nice note congratulating the both of us. We were also seated in a private part of the restaurant to enjoy a great view of the rocky waterfall just outside the restaurant!

I could write for hours of how well all staff members involved treated us, kept my secret and looked after us, but the message would be lost in the lines of text. Suffice to say, Tracy, Louise, Candice,Daniel and Carmichaels Chef all conspired well and honestly made the best efforts possible to make sure Cass and I had a fantastic stay. They really made the occasion special and we are both truly grateful.

To the staff of Kings Canyon Resort - thank you for taking onboard all the feedback your guests have been providing you both through this medium and the feedback cards in the rooms & restaurants. Your proactive attitude to these comments allayed all the not so positive comments I had read prior to my stay with you. Thanks again for giving us a great start to our engagement and congratulations on a job well done!

Best regards,
Gareth and Cass
Canberra

Room Tip: Definitely get the Spa Rooms, much bigger and the spa is a bonus after a days hard walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazE85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Hi Gareth & Cass, Thanks so much for your amazing positive congratulating review !
We were equally as pleased to help make your positive experience even better by providing you with all the little trimmings that you guys enjoyed. Thanks so much Gareth, you were truly inspirational for my staff members as well... they were all influenced by your positivity and compassion towards Cass over the two days. I would like to take this opportunity to send you both all the best for the future that you guys are planning together, well done mate, You are off to a great start, keep up the great work and look after each other... You guys Rock !
Thanks for choosing to stay here at Kings Canyon Resort, we feel delighted to help accommodate the perfect outcome for you both...Well done mate... Cass is a very lucky girl to have you come into her life !
Sincerely...best wishes to you both... Daniel & The Team here at Kings !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

King’s Canyon “Resort” is close to the only game in town if you are going to visit King’s Canyon and stay overnight (non-camping). We read the reviews prior to going, and for the most part, if you don’t have overly high expectations, you will be OK.

The hotel itself is very basic, and our room was not the “upgraded” spa room. As such, it is clearly not what you see in the photos for the Spa rooms, ours was more simple, and close to the (not so clean looking) pool. We had “duct tape” on the carpet (true, and it doesn’t match!) and a strong smell in the room which we assumed was due to the sulfur in the water? It did get better the second day, but we had the sliding door open to air out the room as much as possible.

We traveled to the resort from Ayer’s Rock – which is about 300km one way. We came in from Sydney to Ayer’s Rock, and rented a car and almost immediately headed for King’s Canyon, arriving in mid afternoon. This allowed us to go on the Valley walk prior to dinner.

King’s Canyon should be something you visit if you are this far out, and we actually thought it was as nice if not nicer than Ayer’s Rock. The rim walk will take you about 3 hours, and is very worth it. There is a bit of “overhype” as to you should be fit to walk it – it is a fairly easy walk, and everyone should be able to do it, just take your time.

In theory, you could do both the valley walk and the rim walk, and do this all in one day – and drive back and forth to Ayer’s Rock. It makes for a long day (~6 or 7 hours of driving, ~3-4 hours of hiking) but you can avoid the overnight at King’s Canyon Resort if you do this.

A tip for cheap travelers….we booked our car via the Quantas airline web site (we didn’t book air tickets, only the car) and had much more favorable rates than any other web site we could find.

We paid AU$199 for the night -- not a bargain, but I would really hate to pay the true rack rate in high season for what we received.

Room Tip: Our room smelled of what we assumed was the water -- others we spoke to did not have an issue. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ordflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Hello happy travelers, I thank you for contributing to the Kings Canyon Resort reviews, “people like to hear your opinion” The Kings Canyon Rim is by far one of the most spectacular landscapes and walks I have ever done. During my time here as GM, I’ve really enjoy hearing how much people enjoyed the walk and how they fell in love with this amazing sandstone escarpments and the rugged cliffs and deep colours, ancient plants and vast old mountain ranges. The issue you’ve had with the water is totally right, Yes there's been some sulphur smells come form the drains, we’re still investigating and so far assume it's from the artesian bore water coming up from way down deep in the basin. Selected rooms are going thru' a refurb, so yes there is some that are in need of carpet care, mostly all rooms are really nice considering the guest impact over the time, We get amazing positive feedback when people ask for the inexpensive room upgrade and jump up “one notch” and slip into the deluxe spa rooms for a deep soak and enjoy the wonderful picture window views out to the rocky ridge. (Breathtaking view !). I do know of some people that drive here from (Ayres Rock) Yulara in a day, remembering it’s a huge drive for anyone (678km round trip) and the big open country can make people really sleepy and we especially always worry about people from overseas, not being accustomed to these vast conditions, so therefore, we suggest frequent stopping and staying over night somewhere pleasant and relaxing. We want to help make our visitors holidays more memorable, were you lucky enough to capture the amazing sunset here at Kings Canyon Resort… Simply breathtaking! Best Regards Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The first thing to bear in mind about this "resort" is that it is a long way from anywhere. Therefore you have to factor in the logistics of transporting everything into the resort and the resultant extra cost and availability. We had two rooms in different parts of the resort and they were comfortable but not luxurious.
There are limited options for dining, and while we were there the main restaurant was closed for refurbishment, so the options were even more limited! If you are a family group then I would recommend bringing some basic food items with you.
Fortunately the bistro and bar (across the road) serve up some decent (although limited) fare and you have the opportunity to try Camel, Crocodile and Kangaroo. I recommed the Camelburger.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keywee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Hello from Kings Canyon. We can see that you stayed here nearly 5 months ago… Time fly’s, We do agree, the Camel Burgers are simply awesome, but as you’d expect, after busy season, we consolidate and renovate where needed, many changes have happened since your visit. We now have the main Restaurant open and the other two smaller Bistro and BBQ venues closed for renovations, so people are now enjoying a great meal in our air conditioned quality Restaurant… Carmichael’s is nicely nestled in amongst the rocks and shrubs overlooking the Canyon ranges. Thanks for spending part of your holiday with us… hopefully we’ll see you again one day soon !
Best Regards… Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Usually campgrounds are per car, not per person so as a couple this place was expensive! If you drive further north I believe there were some free camping places by the side of the road that weren't marked in Camp 6. The camp kitchen tiny and was so basic, the pool was ok but not much shade. Basically it's the same price as Yulara (Uluru) but not as nice, clean or welcoming. The prices of food at the store were sky high!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
G'Day from Kings Canyon, thanks for staying with us in the campground, don't you just love the views towards the Carmichael's Crag (the mountain range) the Campground has the best position and the best views from anywhere across the Resort. Many people mention that we have such a great oasis resort in the middle of nowhere. It's hard to compare the Resort to others when you consider the absolute remoteness of our location, we are in fact the most isolated resort from any seashore in Australia... Best Regards... Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kings Canyon hotels

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Property: Kings Canyon Resort
Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing