We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Food & Bev Manager = Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Food & Bev Manager = Great Service”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Paul is the new Food and Bev Manager and is injecting new life into the place with great service and good ideas.
For example, he set up a table and chairs on the rock ledge 10 metres above the restaurant and we watched the sunset over Carmichael Crag with a glass of wine. Just brilliant!
The buffet is great and last night included ribeye steak cooked to perfection. All you can eat, as many coarses as you like, for $59.

The resort is still good quality and the Dingo Bar area is currently being repainted.

Room Tip: Try and stay as close to the pool and restaurant as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Hello from kings Canyon Resort, Yes folks, you're right, he is an amazing F&B Manager, we are very lucky to have Paul's professionalism here to share with our hotel guests.
We are recruiting many wonderful people with great skills as we move through this consolidation period, Kings Canyon stands for so much and displays amazing landscapes, so hinged with an aray of fantasic staff makes for a great guest experience.
I'll pass on your positive feedback to Paul, Thanks again !
Safe Travels... Regards Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    573
    381
    174
    92
See reviews for
365
825
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This place has big problems at the moment,since it has been taken over by the Delaware Group it has gone backwards.There's no staff they have dropped from 75 to 40 staff and 7 chiefs have resigned in the past few weeks.
So now they have gone down into shut down mode and have closed everything so if you go there at night your dinner option is a $59 buffet no other option.$23 for breakfast $23 for lunch.
So take your own food they have fridges in your rooms so make the most of them because this is a rip off place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
G'Day from Kings Canyon Resort, I appreciate the fact we don't always get a perfect result regarding guest feedback,
I must say I'm sorry you had a unpleasant experience whilst visiting our beautiful Desert Oasis Resort, I think you may have been slightly mislead by the source of your information, we’re not going into shut-down mode, we're in fact right in the midst of renovating, painting, tiling, revamping the resort is it fits with the right drop off time for the tourist season, great time to do these jobs, many of our staff are on well deserved breaks and enjoying holidays.
We’re really excited about the new changes going no that will lift the resort to new standard.
Please do return one day soon to check out the new look !
Best Regards Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kings Canyon hotels

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Close to King's Canyon.
Large grounds - tennis and pool available to campers.
Camp kitchen is well maintained, as are bathrooms.
There is a gas station and small store in the grounds, as well as bar and restaurant.

Dingoes and rabbits can be spotted in the grounds, so keep your eyes peeled!

http://www.kingscanyonresort.com.au/

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Hello happy travellers, thanks for dropping in to enjoy our many facilites and seeing the landscape at it's best !
We get many wonderful travelers just like you, who can see how much effort we place on providing our visitors with a great natural experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

OK, there aren't too many options in this part of central Australia, so I was pleasantly surprised by how good this venue was. My partner and I stayed in one of the standard rooms during an organised photography tour but returned to stay in one of the deluxe spa rooms for 3 nights after the conclusion of the tour. The standard room was very reasonable with all the amenities we could have asked for. However, the deluxe spa room was an absolute delight. A large room with a king-size bed and a 2-person spa looking out over the desert landscape. Fantastic! Service at check-in/out was great, all the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and fresh. The venue offers a wide variety of accommodation types to suit any traveller - family rooms, top-quality rooms, budget rooms, camping ground, caravan sites and backpacker accommodation.

There's a variety of dining options - outback barbeque (indoors), buffet dinner, pub food. The variety of wines is a little limited, but that's to be expected in this type of location. However, the wines that we sampled were quite reasonable. Plenty of variety in terms of beers etc, too. The meal and drink prices were reasonable for this type of location (a little more expensive than somewhere that doesn't have to transport all their food for hundreds of kilometres) and the variety was very good. The quality of the food was better than expected.

All up, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The deluxe spa rooms are easily worth the money and reasonably priced compared to city locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
How nice to hear from someone positive, well done, thank you !
We love our isolated Oasis Desert Resort and love sharing it with people like you, thanks for sharing your positivity… how refreshing !
Kings Canyon is not a palatial mansion sitting off the shoreline on edge of Sydney harbour.
It’s an earthy landscape reflecting an ancient land which people flock to, so they can have a very rare experience, day and night !
Hope you come back one day… love to shout you a cold beer !
Travel safe... Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here in October 2010 and then again in October 2011. First visit was expensive but good, the second was just expensive. The resort restaurant was closed and the roadhouse cafe was expensive and the food very very ordinary.

We arrived at midday and the reception said that the rooms were not ready yet and to come back at 3, which is fine as 3pm is check in time. So we came back at 4pm and the rooms were still being serviced! They knew we were already there so if they had any sense they would have expedited servicing our rooms.

One of the rooms was a twin with three occupants on the booking form but somehow between the booking officer and the resort they did not pick up that we needed an extra roll-away bed. When it came they did not also bring an extra towel for the third person - just a simple business systems failure.

Our room was sold as a having a Queen sized bed but only had one double that was much smaller that the two twins in the children's room, so we went back to complain and, to their credit, they moved us to a twin double bed room.

The pool was nice but they were out of the blue and white pool towels which was not a big deal but just symptomatic of the lackadaisical way the place is being run.

Having the only decent restaurant in the 'resort', Carmichael's, not open and not being told about it before we got here was very annoying. to cap it off, when we checked in there were some campers checking in and they had a special where if you bought a meal you got free drinks. When I asked they said it was for campers only, presumably as they have a choice of where they can eat whereas we suckers had no choice but to take the over-priced and substandard food on offer - $18 for a small Hawaiian pizza for one and $40 for a steak with veggies.

I went back to the reception at 4.45pm to ask for the GM to voice my complaints and the duty manager said the GM had left for the day - did not ask what the problem is, or offer to get him or to even ask if he could do anything to help. Very poor customer service to not seek to address issues immediately when someone comes up with them - otherwise they go away upset and tell the world.

If you must stay there - DO NOT BOOK AHEAD. They dropped the room rate from $360 to $299 and threw in $100 resort credit per room per night about two months before we visited. They would not price match the offer to our booking as we had already made it and it was within the no refund period.

The Kings Canyon Rim Walk is awesome. But you can do the Kings Canyon Rim Walk without staying there so don't.

As another poster said - come and do the Kings Canyon Rim Walk as a day trip - leave Uluru at 6am, be at Kings Canyon by 9am, walk the rim from 9am until 1230pm, have lunch and then head back to Uluru in time to catch the sunset - very easy drive, especially with two or more drivers in a car to share it, or go on the bus trip.

Room Tip: Do Kings Canyon as a day trip - no need to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneySkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thanks for you review, you have made many points that are valid and we appreciate that.
As with many different challenges we face in the desert, staffing issues here are huge.
At the time of your visit, we lost a large group of staff and were waiting for a new enthusiastic team to arrive, hard thing here is any new team members come mainly from the cites and takes many days travel to get here.
Housekeeping and Food & Beverage jobs in the middle of the desert is a challenge as you can imagine.
We love it here and spend many long days trying to make it nice for guests to come & enjoy !
Look forward to seeing you back again next year, you'll see huge changes as we're all new managers and have massive plans for improvements.
Best Regards Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Budget lodge, $120 per night, shared facilities. Rooms were tiny besser brick.
Not even a sink/water in the room.
Freezing air conditioning that can't be turned off or down.
Filthy shared bathrooms.
Very expensive food/drink, example $80 for a carton of beer,
$40 for a steak.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Hello travelers, thanks very much for the comments, the lodge room you stayed in ideal for inexpensive family budget or backpackers, many people stay there because they don't want to have anything other than somewhere to put down their head down and have a restful nights sleep, these rooms are not fitted out with all the trimmings you've mentioned, purely based on simplicity and low budget stays.
We have 164 rooms throughout our beautiful Desert Oasis Resort with many different options which pleases many happy travelers, from a tent to a deluxe spa room with all the luxuries of a huge big spa bath with adorable views and privacy.
maybe come back one day and try a different style of room, I'll like to show you around our lovely Resort... Regards and happy travels... Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at KC for two nights in the Deluxe Room. Whilst the view from the spa room was lovely.. not worth $350 per night. Together with this the food at the Outback Grill is most definately bordering on basic and not worth $40 per steak - as for kids - just order them chips. The best part about KC is of course the walk and the Roadies show at night - fun and fantastic for the kids and consequently for the Adults. If you must stay overnight - find the cheapest as the most expensive is not worth it! We stay at many fine accommodations.. this was not superior for the $$$

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Boissevain, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Hello, thank you for your feedback; we're pleased to hear reviews like this as it helps us deliver good service and products that please our guests.
I'll ensure these comments receive my immediate attention, Thanks again !
Best Regards ... Daniel Boissevain (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Property: Kings Canyon Resort
Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing