We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Desert Moon Dinner”

Under A Desert Moon
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Under Desert Moon Dinner”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Utterly fantastic and when you consider the 5 courses Nd recommended wines, quite reasonable value.
The setting wAs exquisite the service fantastic and staff very friendly. Its got to bet one of best dining experiences I have had

Helpful?
3 Thank Pete1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    5
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must do dining experience! Fine dining & campfire!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We were invited by Shelley our amazing hostess to join her to dine under the stars while enjoying fine food and wines in a unique location.
We were thrilled with the attention to detail our hostess and chef treated us to - the campfire, star studded sky, perfect balmy nite & amazing food and wines. A must do dining experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Margi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not an intimate dining experience”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This dinner is promoted as an intimate dining experience with no more than 8 couples. The night we went there 2 tables of 2 and a table of 6 all crowded around one outdoor heater. It was noisy and crowded - not at all what we had expected. The food though was wonderful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneygal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Disliked - location was not as advertised and was actually moved closer to the pool and Carmichaels restaurant and therefore a lot less rustic than expected. Check the website for it's original site on the other side of the pool!
Liked - We were fortunate enough to have a very small group of 5 as a table of 4 had changed nights, and we had a clear night sky full of stars. The food was true Australian cuisine - kangaroo, crocodile, barramundi etc served with a delicious assortment of Australian wines. The standard was excellent and the portions generous. The service was great.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank henri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A fade copy of Ayers Rock”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

It is like having dinner on the porch...only, a few feet away.
Have dinner and go outside finish your coffee while glaring at the stars. Samething.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pourvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under A Desert Moon also viewed

 
 

Been to Under A Desert Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing