We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs
Ranked #17 of 95 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Price range: $8 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs is fully licensed with innovative & exciting dishes specialises in Australian seafood, Australian game meat, bush food and regional Australian cuisine. Dine in the vine covered courtyard or inside in air-conditioned comfort.The restaurant is tastefully decorated in the colours of the outback, featuring a gallery of world-class panoramic photos of Central Australia taken by Ken Duncan.The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant is situated in the heart of the Todd Mall is open 7 days 6.30am - 9pm for breakfast, lunch, dinner or for just a great cup of coffee. EARLY BIRD DINNER OFFER : 20% off your food dinner bill when dining in the Red Ochre Grill Courtyard. Must contact restaurant before 6pm. Courtyard reservations 6 to 6.45pm and order placed before 7pm. Not available on spilt bills, Sundays or Public Holidays. This discount may not be used in conjunction with any other offer. Closed Christmas Day.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I've eaten here several times for lunches with friends, mainly because they offer good choices of gluten free for our friend and we enjoy sitting outside (when it's not to hot). Everything from food to price, service is average. No expectations no disappointment just enjoyable and relaxing.
Had one bad Mother's Day experience where I booked first on a specific table and when we got there they had given it away and put us in the sun in the middle of the day with no apology and terrible service It wrecked my Mother's Day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review, yes it is relaxing during the day in our outside courtyard and as you probably have noticed we do not offer table service in this area during the day. We require you to pay and order at the bar for both drinks and meals; reason? We do not have the luxury in Alice Springs of a bank of casual staff during the day to service and watch this area, especially to keep an eye out for those few that walk out without paying !!!!!! We do though offer full table service inside our restaurant.

With the availability of more casual staff in the evening we are able to provide full table service both in the outside courtyard and inside area from 6pm.

Boy, when I saw your comment about Mothers Day I thought I must have forgotten to phone my mother, but then Mothers Day is not until next month, May? I then realised you were taking about your table been given away 11 months ago, WOW, what can I say? It was so long ago and was such a busy Mother's Day that we have no recollecting of the circumstances.

Thank you for your continued patronage and let's hope this Mothers Day is a great one for you.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 431 of 914 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had dinner here a couple of nights ago, booked in early for the 20% disc rate with our 2 children. From the start the service was excellent, our daughter was asked if she liked to draw and was immediately brought a colouring in book. Dinner was served promptly and was constantly checked upon by the waiters. We had the barra, lamp pie and kangaroo, all meals were excellent. Great sizes and brilliant tasting. I had the quandong cheesecake, yummo!! I would rate this up there with one of our better dining experiences and highly recommend it!! Many thanks to the staff and chefs!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank honestfoodcritiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the positive feedback. All the team get excited upon reading such reviews as yours especially knowing you all had "a great night"

Thanking you and kindest regards,

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Terrible. Ate here today and was incredibly disappointed. Have been feeling ill ever since eating there. Must have been the whole 4 prawns in my salad that was terrible! Won't be back

3  Thank HollyHl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

I have asked Tripadvisor to remove your review immediately as your review is defamatory, unsubstantiated, slanderous and as it is not consistent with other reviews it appears to be a deliberated attempt to discredit our popular restaurant.

We prepared many of the same lunch menu dishes with no complaints at all as our Chefs are fully trained in the correct food handling, preparation, cooking and storage of all our food. We have served 50,923 patrons this financial year and are proud to say we have not received one defamatory, unsubstantiated complaint like yours. Quote “Have been feeling ill ever since eating there”

HOLLYH17 you only ever write negative reviews of establishments you have visited and they are not consistent with the majority of other positive reviews. You must think to yourself how unlucky you are to be in the minority when having to consistently write your negative reviews?

Have you ever visited an establishment that you did like?

Ron Thynne – General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We didn't have a reservation but were quickly shown a table and served.... The lady guest was unsure which wine to have so the waitress brought along two samples of what she would recommend based upon talking to the lady guest on her preferences.... Both wines suggested were tasted, both were excellent so she ended up have a glass of both, separately during the meal of course.
The meal was cooked to perfection and tasty, the restaurant was able to even satisfy our "fussy" eater... I had barramundi, daft really as I couldn't be further from the sea but I had already had kangaroo on the "Ghan" train in so didn't wish to deplete stocks further... Red Ochre is highly recommended and good value. Well done to all the staff.... See you again on my next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the kind review and your caring thoughts in not depleting our Kangaroo population.

It's extremely pleasing to receive feedback like yours “Red Ochre is highly recommended and good value. Well done to all the staff”

Thanking you & kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Good service. Had a kangaroo steak for the first time, sorry Skippy. Very similar to beef steak. Bit pricey but you get what you pay for.

Thank Ken18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

That's for the review and your feedback that you loved our Skippy.

Happy Easter,

Kind regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing