We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs
Ranked #17 of 92 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Price range: $8 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs is fully licensed with innovative & exciting dishes specialises in Australian seafood, Australian game meat, bush food and regional Australian cuisine. Dine in the vine covered courtyard or inside in air-conditioned comfort.The restaurant is tastefully decorated in the colours of the outback, featuring a gallery of world-class panoramic photos of Central Australia taken by Ken Duncan.The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant is situated in the heart of the Todd Mall is open 7 days 6.30am - 9pm for breakfast, lunch, dinner or for just a great cup of coffee. EARLY BIRD DINNER OFFER : 20% off your food dinner bill when dining in the Red Ochre Grill Courtyard. Must contact restaurant before 6pm. Courtyard reservations 6 to 6.45pm and order placed before 7pm. Not available on spilt bills, Sundays or Public Holidays. This discount may not be used in conjunction with any other offer. Closed Christmas Day.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My partner and I had dinner here one night in August. We ordered drinks and mine arrived fairly promptly but my partner waited for her wine almost 30 minutes, even though it wasn't that busy yet. It was pretty much an indication of the service for the rest of the evening, it seemed disorganised and the staff didn't seem to care much, even though they seemed friendly enough. My partner had the barramundi which she said was well cooked but overall a pretty boring meal. My serve of the spareribs was huge, but also really not that nice and the coleslaw that came with it was inedible. The meals were expensive, which is understandable as most ingredients would have to be transported a long way to get there, but other restaurants in Alice Springs manage to offer better value for money... As you already guessed I wouldn't recommend this place...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarjanG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Please accept my apologies that you didn't receive the service we attempt to provide to most of our satisfied customers, so unfortunately on this occasion we we not unable "to make you both SMILE"

Thank your your honest review.

Kindest regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/ Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    353
    156
    94
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“terittory treat”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The service and food was way above my expectations for a family restaurant. Alot of restaurants could use the Red Ochre training package its second to none.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woody6644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review and the mention of our training package, THE SMILE 10 point customer service program.

Unfortunately it is difficult to please all of the patrons all of the time due to our ever changing staff, hence a few mixed reviews lately but overall reviews like yours are most appreciated that we do get it right most of the time.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best taste of the Outback”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our family of three had several meals at Red Ochre. I was looking in particular for a taste of the Outback and this restaurant not only did not disappoint, it turned out to be the best restaurant we ate at in Alice Springs. I ordered a couple of the "local" dishes, kangaroo, barramundi, etc. and they were prepared perfectly. My family liked the more conventional fare which had the appearances and flavors of European cooking. The tapas dish was a great light fare to accompany a glass of wine and relax. The steak was much better and less expensive than the "more noted" steakhouse in town. Personal service meant that the staff recognized us when we came in, went out of their way to seat us where we liked, and talk to us like people, not a table number. Make sure you talk to Ron, the colorful owner/manager floating around in the Hawaiian shirt. Interesting character. While Australia is expensive in general, this place is genuinely great value for money. This could possibly be the best restaurant in Alice Springs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy4220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you Andy for taking the time to write an extensive review of your Red Ochre experience while in Alice Springs.
It's always nice to receive not only compliments but also your feedback that your family enjoyed their meals and staff service.

I do remember our conversation back in July but my staff would probably question what Ron, the colourful General Manager contributed, but thanks for the mention anyway.

A hui hou kakou,

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the staff”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

They went out of their way to make sure that we got our choices. Pavlova for me. thank you so much. The staff were very attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurisbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the kind words regarding the staff, they will really appreciate your remarks.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The tapas aren't tapas”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were drawn in by the tapas sign out the front, unfortunately (for us) this is NO tapas bar. You do get plenty of anti pasta, eg jarred capsicum, artichoke, egg plant etc, but where are the tapas ? Everything was out of a jar or processed. The head chef was not receptive to criticism. A disappointing evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Popejon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Last night (Monday 24th Sept) we had 76 customers of which 38 (includes yourselves) completed restaurant surveys, but unlike yourselves, all enjoyed their meals and would recommend us. Unfortuantley it is very disappointing for my staff when they work so hard only to be belittled by the three of you with your uneducated 1 star rating and insulting surveys.

Over the last 12 months we have served 1250 Tapas & Wine deals without a complaint, speaks for itself.

Whilst I encourage constructive criticism I don't think Tripadvisor is the forum for ignorance. The only correct statement you have made that is correct is that we are not a tapas bar, correct. The Red Ochre is a restaurant that just happens to offer a $49 Tapas & Wine deal as one of its many menu items.

It wasn’t appreciated that you insulted my Head Chef by suggesting that what we offer is not Tapas, especially as he personally come out to see what your complaint was about. I noticed that you read our specials board with the Tapas and Wine deal full description so unless you can’t read I don’t know why you wanted to complain to my Chef that what we offer is not tapas? Why did you even bother coming in?

For the uneducated - The Meaning of the Word Tapas

Tapas is not a particular type of food. Anything can be tapas - paella, croquettes, ham and cheese on toast, truly anything. As long as it is small and served with your drink (either free or at a surcharge), it is tapas.
The original tapas were the slices of bread or meat which sherry drinkers in taverns used to cover their glasses between sips. This was a practical measure meant to prevent flies from hovering over their drinks.
The serving of tapas is designed to encourage conversation with friends.

I hope the above has now enlightened you a little on the meaning of Tapas.

Ron Thynne – General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing