We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”

Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs
Ranked #17 of 95 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Price range: $8 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs is fully licensed with innovative & exciting dishes specialises in Australian seafood, Australian game meat, bush food and regional Australian cuisine. Dine in the vine covered courtyard or inside in air-conditioned comfort.The restaurant is tastefully decorated in the colours of the outback, featuring a gallery of world-class panoramic photos of Central Australia taken by Ken Duncan.The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant is situated in the heart of the Todd Mall is open 7 days 6.30am - 9pm for breakfast, lunch, dinner or for just a great cup of coffee. EARLY BIRD DINNER OFFER : 20% off your food dinner bill when dining in the Red Ochre Grill Courtyard. Must contact restaurant before 6pm. Courtyard reservations 6 to 6.45pm and order placed before 7pm. Not available on spilt bills, Sundays or Public Holidays. This discount may not be used in conjunction with any other offer. Closed Christmas Day.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great choice of food, nice location with outside seating. Great drinks menu too. Great evening meal deal offers

Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and letting us know you had an enjoyable time while dining in The Red Ochre.

I have passed your comments onto my staff.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 618 of 914 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Love the Tapas to share for two. Extremely friendly service. And the quandong (aboriginal) cheesecake is to die for! Will return for our second dinner tonight.

Thank NathanJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE Nathan & Jill"

Thank you for taking the time to review The Red Ochre, I have passed your compliments onto the staff.

It is also pleasing to see that you have reviewed other restaurants and attractions in Alice and by your reports it appears you have a great overall experience while in Alice Springs

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great spot . Food is good wholesome & value for money. Staff are friendly and helpful. outside dining a treat (if the weather is kind). The view of the mall is great especially when the Jacarandas are in flower.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for supporting not only the Red Ochre but other attractions and restaurants whilst in Alice Springs during your Masters Games stay.

We are looking forward to your return visit in 2014.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great food, but stop being so tight with your staff and get them some help !! Broke my heart to see the girl running around like a mad thing

Thank sglawrence2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you bringing your concern to my attention. Unfortunately we do not have the availability of staff in Alice Springs that you may have in Singapore and be rest assured my Restaurant Manager would have rostered on the appropriate available staff numbers when doing the roster for the week; this is not done on the basis you suggested "so tight with your staff"

It appears that you came to breakfast during an unexpected rush and the breakfast staff member may have elected not to contact our back up staff from our reception area.

Whilst I appreciate constructive criticism and your compliments on our food I am disappointed that you choose to rate the Red Ochre with such a low rating directed at management and not on the quality of the food; all you have done is disappoint my hard working staff with this low rating as they pride themselves on providing excellent customer service as highlighted in the many previous reviews.

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Location is good and we got 20% off discount for dinner booking before 7pm. Food is okay and not that great. However, it seems pretty unsafe to walk around in Alice at night to look for food (police petroling in the town areas all the time, and we noticed a few drunk aboriginals asking for money or food outside the restaurant all the time).

Thank klws524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

"We are glad we nearly made you SMILE"

Sorry to hear that you found the food average, can't please everyone one all of the time unfortunately.

Alice Springs is no worse than many other places so in regards to your comment “it seems pretty unsafe to walk around in Alice at night to look for food and police patrolling in the town areas all the time” seems contradictive. I personally travel often and am most appreciative seeing the presence of police patrols, gives me a sense of safety. I also encounter drunks and beggars all over the world, Alice is no different just because you tag these type Aboriginal.

I hope that overall you had an enjoyable stay in Alice Springs.

Regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing