We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take your friends”

Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs
Ranked #17 of 95 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Price range: $8 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs is fully licensed with innovative & exciting dishes specialises in Australian seafood, Australian game meat, bush food and regional Australian cuisine. Dine in the vine covered courtyard or inside in air-conditioned comfort.The restaurant is tastefully decorated in the colours of the outback, featuring a gallery of world-class panoramic photos of Central Australia taken by Ken Duncan.The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant is situated in the heart of the Todd Mall is open 7 days 6.30am - 9pm for breakfast, lunch, dinner or for just a great cup of coffee. EARLY BIRD DINNER OFFER : 20% off your food dinner bill when dining in the Red Ochre Grill Courtyard. Must contact restaurant before 6pm. Courtyard reservations 6 to 6.45pm and order placed before 7pm. Not available on spilt bills, Sundays or Public Holidays. This discount may not be used in conjunction with any other offer. Closed Christmas Day.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A little upmarket to what we usually patronize. Good food, good service. Good helpfull staff. Overall a nice place to spend an hour or so for a quiet brunch, especially Sunday mornings.

Thank oldie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thanks you for your review.

Sunday mornings are the perfect time to relax with good food and friends in lovely surroundings and it's excellent to hear that you received good service from our helpful staff.

As we say "come on GIVE US A TRY"!

Kind regards
Cliff Grendon
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 637 of 929 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stumbled upon this whilst looking for lunch in Mall. It was cool, reasonably priced and satisfied everyone. The club sandwich was especially good and we shared between 2. No problem coping with fussy eaters to just do plain eggs. Everyone happy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thanks you for your kind review.

Glad to hear that your meal requests were satisfied and that you were happy with your meal and you found the Red Ochre to be reasonable value for money.

A great outcome for all!

Kind regards
Cliff Grendon
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Red Ochre Grill in the Aurora Alice Springs hotel continues to impress with it's quality service, great menu choices including daily specials, ambient environment and lots of 'smiley' faces everywhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rainbowsalwaysrule!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

"We are glad we filled your GAP"

Thanks for your kind words Rainbow, much appreciated that we not only received your review as a local of Alice Springs but praises also from many other locals.

Thank you all for supporting The Red Ochre and other restaurants in Alice Springs.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - general Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

In Alice for a few weeks for work, this time with my family, and couldn't wait to take them to Red Ochre, after I'd been alone the first time. Both times have been for lunch, so I can't speak (yet) to dinner, but today's experience surpassed the first. It has a lovely outdoor seating area but also plenty of space inside if you prefer. Lunch prices were around the 18 aud mark, 6/7 aud for a beer. What I am SO impressed about though, was that children under 5 years old eat for free, this is more like aomething a club will do as a promotion, and only on certain nights - very unexpected in a restaurant with such an interesting menu, and is on offer all the time. What the restaurant might have spent on our young sons small meals, they will regain from us as repeat customers over the next few weeks. My husband had the club sandwich and liked it, I went for the warm kangaroo and crocodile salad, just for the novelty, I wouldn't personally do it again, but there is plenty more on that menu for me to enjoy. Service was prompt and friendly without being pushy. See you guys soon :)

Thank rachaelOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Satisfied customers, that’s what I like to hear. Thank you for your return visit and advising us that all your family had a most enjoyable lunch.

I notice you have given us an extra star rating this time than your previous visit so maybe a little more staff training and who knows we may crack the 5 stars on your return?

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

An excellent lunch - just what we needed after spending 2 weeks walking the Larapinta Trail. Excellent service, great value for money and delicious food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE.

WOW, 5 stars all round; thank you very much.

Please call in again.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing