We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Overlanders Steakhouse

The Overlanders Steakhouse
Ranked #15 of 93 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went on recommentation of a lady at Alice Springs Visitors Centre, who said it would be a good place to go and that the food was special.
Looking at the menu it looked interesting ,but portions were small and the service seemed rushed. The interior is interesting and rustic, however the place seems to live from past glories.
Considering the bill at the end I would not go back there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lemgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    108
    90
    46
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
“Don't choose this place!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

- Many mistakes were made;
- The waitresses were rushing us: as soon as our plate was empty, they came to ask "are you ready for the next dish?" We had to tell them several times that we wanted to take it a bit slower;
- The chips we had were heated up in the microwave;
- Too expensive for what you get;
- Not friendly staff;
- Meat overcooked...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Plouplouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced food - divers though”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you are looking for Australian food like kangaroo, buffalo, croc, emu then this is your place to go. But it will be a bit overpriced to my opinion. They do give you a bit of personal treatment with putting your country flag on the table :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
“An Unforgetable Night !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Well yes, this was meant to be a night to remember as some friends and I were having a farewell dinner. Unfortunately the experience has left us with a bad taste in all our mouths. It all began with a presumptious waitress guessing our nationality wrong, that slip up was forgiven but the rest can not !! The waitress rushed our orders was annoyed by our questions about the menu and tried to take orders while one member was away from his seat. The spag bol was served with a crust and when I stated that i received crispy pasta the waitress asked "what do you want me to do about it" I was shocked and she reluctantly brought it back only with the explanation that it was the trainee chef's fault. The ribs were brought sizzling but were stone cold in the middle and when they were returned by the kitchen they were hotter than the surface of the sun and my friend ended up burning her finger and lip with the sauce. The 1kg T-Rex TBone was a undernurished and was 500g at best !!. One waitress kept taking plates from the table even though people were still eating and was consistently rude about it. The atmosphere was awkard and not relaxed.There was no proper apology and the full price was charged!!A dissapointing evening to say the least.. I would advise looking elsewhere for a steak!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“All the meat tasted like liver”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We tried the "Drovers Blowout" sampling many different kinds of meat. I've had Kangaroo and Croc before so have an idea of how they should taste. The portions were very small (despite a large price) and everything tasted like liver. Really couldn't tell much of a difference between the different animals. There are many other options in town for tasting the different meats. Try them instead. None of us rally enjoyed our meal, wouldn't go back even if someone else was paying.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bokad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overlanders Steakhouse also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to The Overlanders Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing