We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, poor, poor”
Review of La Casalinga

La Casalinga
Ranked #22 of 92 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor, poor, poor”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Ravioli that was swimming in an inch of watery sauce. Chargin $7 for a small coke that came from a plastic bottle they buy from woolworths. Quite possibly the worst meal we have had in four years of living in alice springs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    51
    22
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Tasty Italian food cooked by Nonna but with appalling service. Workers were friendly but seemed to be very unorganised and a little forgetful. Interior and decor very old school but comfortable enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DreSgubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So sad”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely service retro diner super excited to go here but complete disaster. We reiterate the reheated frozen dinner meal comments by other tripadvisor reviewers. Massive fail. If you are interested in our food preferences and dining standards please see our TA profile! Bon apetite!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WeloveNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Has not changed a bit in 18 years”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I use to be a resident of Alice Springs and La Casalinga was a resturant I visited weekly for a load of carbs in the form of pizza or pasta . I am pleased to say that even though it is 18 years since I my last vist the charm, the feeling, the great food and the owners are still the same .
As always it was very busy even though it was Monday night so the food took a little time to arrive . No matter when you are on holidays . My partners and I both had the Ravioli Alla Panna (which was always my favorite dish ) with a salad . Looking around I did get a bit of food envy as the pizza's looked fantastic . And we had a good strong cappachino to finish .
Thanks Lisa and staff for not only remembering me but keeping La Casalinga as I remembered it

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidb0962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Italian Meal”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had the best Italian meal from any Restaurant for years , All four of us found the meal as surpurb and could not fault one thing. If you are in Alice you have to eat at this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casalinga also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to La Casalinga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing