We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base to explore Kings Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings Creek Station
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Kings Canyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in July with my parents, husband and three kids (aged 13, 12 and 9). We stayed in their permanent tents and could not have been happier. The tents were clean and tidy equipped with heaters and fans with the toilet block a short walk away. The toilets and shower were also very clean. Camp kitchen was spacious and well equipped with an excellent adjacent camp fire site with plenty of firewood available for the nightly camp fires. Sitting around the campfire at night was a great chance to meet others, on the nights we were there we met families from France, Belgium and elsewhere around Australia.

The national park is nearby with the drive to the heart of Kings Canyon taking only 10-15 mins. Camel rides and helicopter rides are available at the station although we didn't do this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays-mmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    76
    34
    24
    13
See reviews for
58
84
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Absolutely loving staying here. And Charlie the dog has a new Besty. The camp sites are the best I've ever seen. Spacious, shaded and secluded and each with its own camp fire place. There are several cooking/camp kitchen areas and even a pool. There is a real feeling of being out in the bush. Friendly staff. Even a cafe and a cute baby camel called Snowy. Excellent toilets etc. the place is immaculately maintained. Gorgeous all round. Just about 30 from Kings Canyon. Great value all round. Had a delicious steak burger for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aell0473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle V, Front Office Manager at Kings Creek Station, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi Aell0473,

Your review was such lovely feedback for everyone here, we've shared it with Lyn and Ian who own the station as well as the kitchen staff that cooked your dinner and our wonderful team that work so hard in the campgrounds to keep things clean and comfortable.

Everyone passes on their thanks!

We're looking forward to you and Charlie visiting again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Tumbling Waters is a Gem. We had a powered site and there was ample room on our site and enough room between sites.
The cinema under the stars is simply a must.
The cafe is also a bit of a surprise, great food and coffee, but the hours are reduced so you have to make sure you get in when they are open.
Facilities are a bit cramped and the laundry could do with a few more machines, but the price is good.
The layout of the park is great, it has a lovely feel about it and the staff and owners couldn't be more helpfull.

Room Tip: Stay and enjoy the location. Better off swimming at Berry Springs than the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossfam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The place is nice enough, set in the bush, big roomy sites, though quite dusty. Very basic amenities. Noisy generator can be heard all night. Way overpriced at $42 powered and $38 unpowered a night for two people. Most expensive fuel I have ever seen (around 2.50lt). The shell service station down the road at the resort was about 13c lt cheaper. Would suggest free camping outside the park if self reliant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ellewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle V, Front Office Manager at Kings Creek Station, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi Ellewh,

It's nice to hear that while your price expectations weren't met, you found Kings Creek Station to be a nice place to stay with roomy campsites. We're proud of our established bush settings and while the desert is a dusty place, we manage to maintain some grassy areas with shady tree cover. Our campsite also offers three sets of toilets and showers, laundry, free wifi, pool, gas BBQ's and camp kitchens for our guests to use.

Unfortunately, free camping within the Watarrka National Park and the surrounding Aboriginal Freehold Land is not available, however there is a rest stop around 80km prior to the station that self reliant travelers are welcome to utilize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Eco Tents and loved it. Felt like we really were camping only with the luxury of real beds, heater and fans (which were not required in July). The camp kitchen was amazing, everything was provided, BBQ, Fridge, Crockery, cutlery even tea, coffee, sugar and milk. Our friends have travelled extensively in a camper trailer and said it was one of the best camp kitchens they have seen.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Raelene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle V, Front Office Manager at Kings Creek Station, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hi Raelene,

Thanks for your very kind words about your stay at Kings Creek Station, particularly your mention of the camp kitchen. "one of the best" is high praise in indeed and we're absolutely thrilled you think so! We hope you also made use of the campfire and BBQ that adjoin the camp kitchen as they really can make for a fun night, especially at this time of year when the nights are little cooler.

Please come and stay again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
524 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We got a cabin for 2 people. The cabin is a small tent with 2 beds on a tiled foundation.
Shower/toilet are shared. Breakfast is included, AU$165 for one night.
Cabin tent is not big but will do the job. Winter nights are pretty cold, heater is in the tent.
Restaurant available on site, free WiFi available.

The best part is after sunset. The silence and darkness makes the stars shine so intense and impressive. Grab a chair and sit, looking to the skies. Unbelievable!

Oh, Kings Creek is 32km from Kings Canyon. If you need to fill up diesel, check on prices first (a whopping AU$2,48 per liter).

Room Tip: Cabin 25, this is the last one in a row. Free views on sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoggiBonsi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee Why, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Station for 3 nights while on our trip around Australia with our caravan. Loved it. Showers are clean and big, plenty of room to dry and dress yourself. Only problem, when we stayed there, not hook to hang clothes or towel etc, I took a camp stool over, from our van to use. Lots of red dirt, but, hey, we were in The Outback, get to love it Princes and Princess!!! Fire pits and plenty of room to sit around the fire and chat. Covered eating spaces, fro travellers to sit. Ad share a meal as well. We liked the idea of paying a 'gold' coin for the under cover outdoor washing machine, the money all goes to The Royal Flying Doctor Service, so, we paid $4 with no problem. We would VERY happily stay here again. I must mention, one of the long term employees had died in the days previous to us staying at the Station and most people were back in Alice for the funeral, a sad time for all at the Stat.aion, so, we FULLY understood why there where no Camel rides, or Helicopter flights while we were there. The staff at the Station vet kindly organised for us to take a helicopter flight from King Canyon Resort. We stayed at the Station in July 2010.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyMcBucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle V, Front Office Manager at Kings Creek Station, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Sally,

Thanks so much for reviewing Kings Creek Station. We're especially pleased that you took the time to do so even after some time has passed since your stay with us.

It was very sad during the time when Moz died, he was a long term and much loved employee of the station and good friend to Lyn and Ian - it was pleasing to hear that even during this period your stay was enjoyable and memorable.

We still offer campfires and bush camping style powered and unpowered sites for travelers who are looking for the genuine outback experience and we look forward to hosting again you if you ever return to the station for a visit sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
138.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
138.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
138.7 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
139.4 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
139.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
138.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Creek Station

Property: Kings Creek Station
Address: PMB 164, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Creek Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ian and Lyn Conway established Kings Creek Station in 1981. The station lies 36 kilometres from the magnificent Kings Canyon (Watarrka) and is set amongst majestic desert oaks. Kings Creek Station is a working cattle/camel station with facilities for camping, accommodation and an opportunity to experience the outback either by quad (4 wheel motorbike), helicopter or camel. Basic supplies, meals and drinks can be bought at the station shop. You could even try one of our famous Kings Creek camel burgers!!!! The station is the largest exporter of wild camels in Australia and sells camels for live export, live domestic sales and meat. 37 documentaries have been filmed at Kings Creek and the station hosted Australian Geographics' fourth expedition. In 2001 the world famous Australian Safari travelled through and stayed at the station. Kings Creek Station has also been featured on 7 Sunrise Weather hosted by Grant Denyer in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kings Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Creek Station Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing