We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Saturday brunch.”
Review of Tali

Tali
Ranked #16 of 94 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Tali provides an a la carte dining that is second to none in the region, offering cuisine that is a blend of modern Australian fare with a hint of the Outback.With seating for up to 180 people, diners have the option of sitting inside or outside on a shaded deck. Two private rooms are perfect for parties, meetings or special occasions (approximate capacity of 10 and 20 each or there is a sliding door that can be opened to create a room of approx. 32.)Tali will be open seven days a week, and offer breakfast (buffet and a la carte), lunch and dinner as well as brunch until 2pm on the weekends. A la carte table service will be complemented by an exciting wine list that combines popular wines with a few rarer, more unusual offerings.Tali means 'sand dunes' in the Pitjantjatjara language of Central Australian and is a recurring theme in many local artworks featured within the new Premium hotel wing. As well as strongly linking the restaurant to its Central Australian location, Tali is also reflective of restaurant decor in terms of colour palette, carpet design, artwork, and landscaping.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I took a friend to the Tali restaurant for a late Saturday brunch. The atmosphere was delightful and I deeply appreciated the table settings with fresh lilies on every table. The service offered by the staff was wonderful, always ready to help but not intrusively hovering. The meal was beautifully cooked and presented with very suitable portions. I will most certainly return to this lovely restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ulkumanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Tali
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 271 of 282 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We went for brunch on a Sunday. The service took a long time even though we were the only diners in the restaurant at the time. My meal of frittata was terrible - served in a soufflé dish with no sides. There were 2 slices of potato in the bottom of the dish along with a lot of baby spinach and some goat cheese, the egg wasn't set and there was a fair bit of liquid sitting in the bottom. Needless to say I didn't eat much - the waiter said he would take it back and talk to the chef but he never returned. Definitely not worth the price and not what the menu description states.
The setting and the décor of the restaurant are lovely though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gizmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juicy_Rump, Manager at Tali, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. It is important to know that Tali is an a la carte restaurant - foods are ordered according to the menu which means sides are ordered separately. As for the issues with the frittata, we do apologise. Tali values quality in cuisine & service & we would like the opportunity to welcome you back. Deryck Goodman is the food & beverage manager. He can be reached on 0417 847 908. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Last night we went to Tali after knocking off work, we ordered the black angus beef, and were very disappointed. On the plate was a small fillet, with little else. No real sides. Just a bit of chopped veges to make the plate look good. We also ordered the bruschetta, this was also very disappointing. There was no flavour on the plate. All you could taste was salt. Service was very poor, at times there was 6 people standing at the front gossiping. Did not check on us at all throughout the meal. Not even for a drink. (I had to call for them) For a new restaurant with the "desire to be high class' everything needs tuning. Was not worth the $42.00 for the beef, nor the $15.00 for bruschetta. The best thing they had to offer was the drink as how can you screw up a Bailey's and milk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SNR199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukra_Manager, Manager at Tali, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Good afternoon SNR199,

Thank you for your feedback from your visit during our opening week at Tali. As far as the menu goes, Tali is an a la carte restaurant. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. We are taking all feedback on board and making changes as required to our menu and service. I appreciate your comments and will endeavour for these to be fixed as quickly as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We went to Tali on its opening weekend for my birthday. Living away from home, my mum had arranged a surprise bar tab of $150 which no one at the restaurant told us about so we did not get to use it. It was only when I spoke to my mum the following day that I was made aware of it. No less than 4 phone calls were made to sort the situation out with the end result being the money refunded and one free dessert offered.

The restaurant said that there was a note on our booking that they did not see until after we had left, yet they failed to phone and apologise.

The food was good but not worth the high prices. The wait staff were trying very hard but were just not as attentive as they should be at such an expensive restaurant. Water was not readily available and drinks took a while to come out. Overall, the concept of Tali is good but needs some refining. If you have to choose between Hanuman and Tali, choose Hanuman's.

2  Thank Megsy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukra_Manager, Manager at Tali, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Hi Megsy26,

On behalf of the Tali food & beverage team I sincerely apologise for the miscommunication and failure to deliver the surprise tab from your mother, although I am glad to hear that the issue has been resolved. Our opening week tested a variety of our services and we are taking the necessary steps to improve and rectify these shortcomings. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Tali in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Jörg Andreas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tali also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Tali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing