We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here twice as part of adventure tours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haven Backpacker Resort
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stayed here twice as part of adventure tours”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Quite good location, 5-10mins from town
Stayed here twice, before the tour and during the tour
First time private room, second dorm. Same room only private had fewer bunks and some extras
Had a problem with key to dorm, as did others. Staff tried to fix but didnt work, I gave up
Average room and bathroom
Dirty shower curtain in dorm room
Breakfast, toast free or make your own
Private room not worth the extra

Room Tip: Private room not worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenResort, Front Office Manager at Haven Backpacker Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Charlie,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't think that the double room was worth the extra money. Our room rates for our double rooms start from $75 per night. The facilities in our private rooms include a double bed, a set of bunks in case families stay, tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV, fridge, sofa, private bathroom and individual outdoor seating area. These are extra to what you get from an 8 shared dorm for $23.00 per night.

With regards to the key system, we have reviewed and reset the key card system which has sorted out the problems that we experienced during your stay.

Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards

Isabel Rowley
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    62
    47
    30
    14
See reviews for
10
19
101
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Haven was perfect for travel especially for young people. It wasn't loud or noisy at night, we stayed in private dorm for an amazingly cheap price and slept quite well. Breakfast is provided in the mornings and pancakes which was such an amazing bonus! Rooms were clean and serviced. Amanda was fantastic at organising our whole trip pretty much, definitely recommend this place for a place to sleep at Alice out of all the backpackers there! We had a fantastic time at the Haven, right near the town centre which was perfect and excellent security at night. Thanks so much to all the team!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1213039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Good friendly staff, within walking distance of town stayed three nights, place was clean and other backpackers friendly, great lawn for laying out in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Was there for 2 nights with my parents (both 60 years old). We had 2 vast double rooms, clean and so quiet for a backpacker. Most rooms have a door to go out in the yard and sit outside for meals.The girls at the reception gave us heaps of info for our self drive tour in the Red Center. My parents who are more used to Novotel than backpackers were very satisfied!!!
I had been at the Haven before and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: all rooms are good, downstairs maybe a bit mroe q.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melb3056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Pros - excellent staff on reception

Cons - absolutely filthy kitchen. I couldn't touch anything and I went out and bought my own utensils and plates. The microwave was BROWN inside, how can a cleaner not spot that? The last straw was spotting mice in the kichen.

The room - I paid for a room on my own. It was OK until a giant cockroach ran across the floor at 3am and went under the fridge. I also spotted cockroaches in the corridor. Creepy. I couldn't sleep so I left my room and stayed with my feet up in the reception area.

Please could the management give it a good scrub and then it would be an OK place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenResort, Manager at Haven Backpacker Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at Haven Resort.

With regards to the kitchen, the kitchen does get cleaned 3 times a day and checked on a regular basis. We do rely on guests to clean and wash up their own stuff which sometimes does not happen all the time. This can make the kitchen look dirty so I do apologise. We are in the process of looking to get cameras put up in the kitchen area to help sort out this problem.

With regards to the coackroaches and mice in your room, this is an on-going problem in Alice Springs at the moment as due to the weather conditions that we have recieved which has resulted in a 'mouse problem' throughout the whole of the town. We have taken measures with our pest control company to try to reduce this problem at the hostel and this is an ongoing issue we are addressing at the present time.

Sorry for any inconvenience and enjoy the rest of your travels.
Kind Regards

Isabel Rowley
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alice Springs hotels

HCMC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Good value for money. Clean, quiet, good facilities including pool, pet lizard and snake!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AminaLacour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenResort, Manager at Haven Backpacker Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Haven Resort. We do pride ourselves on offering good quality accommodation at a low price, so its great to hear guests enjoying the facilities at our hostel. 'Samson' the bearded dragon and 'Crumpit' the snake will also be pleased to know they made your stay! ;)

Kind Regards

Isabel Rowley
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We were a group of five (2 girls, 3 guys) staying in Haven for one night as it was included with our "Outback Camping Safari". Usual rates would be approx. 25$/night in a 8-bed dorm.

Overall our room was acceptable, although the bathroom wih shower and toilet combined was quite a bit dodgy and very old. As mentioned in previous reviews, the rooms close to the community area are very noisy - especially in the night hours when there are guests drinking there.

Luckily we didn't experience any bed bugs, however our tour guide told us, that this happens from time to time at Haven...

Of course you can't expect Heaven for little money, but - as we've seen when staying at a different place in Alice - you can get much better value for your bucks... One thing that has to be mentioned though, is the friendly and helpful staff at Haven.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenResort, Manager at Haven Backpacker Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Dear Customer,

I would like to thank you for your review. I'm really glad to hear that you felt that the staff were friendly and helpful during your stay. With regards to your other comments they are extremely helpful with regards to improving our service to our guests. I would like to apologize to you that the room that you were in was noisy. We do have a night manager on site to ensure that noise does not get out of hand, and as we do not have a bar on site we don't usually have too many issues regarding guests getting 'out of hand'. Most of the rooms are away from the communal areas, so if guests are wanting a more peaceful stay, we are more than happy to allocate them a quiet room.

With regards to any issues with bed bugs, I would like to say that we have a set and effective policy regarding bed bugs incidences. Unfortunately, with the amount of backpackers coming and going, to avoid these problems completely is impossible and we are very sorry for any of our guests who have experienced this at the hostel as we do take these issues seriously. I can safely say that we do not have a 'bed bug problem' as we close off any rooms that we have had complaints from and do not re open them until pest control have given us the 'go ahead'.

With regards to the price of the hostel, I would like to say that compared to other hostels in the area - we have one of the best prices in Alice Springs. The rate for our dorms are $23.00 per night and we have a special weekly rate of $138 per week (7 nights for the price of 6). We have many long term stayers who like to take advantage of the cheap rates and the relaxed feel we have at Haven.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia.

Kind Regards

Isabel Rowley
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
891 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alice's Secret Travellers Inn
Alice's Secret Travellers Inn
#1 of 29 in Alice Springs
269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alice Lodge Backpackers
Alice Lodge Backpackers
#4 of 29 in Alice Springs
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Backpacker Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Backpacker Resort

Property: Haven Backpacker Resort
Address: 3 Larapinta Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia (Formerly Larapinta Lodge)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Haven Backpacker Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The welcoming, Award winning Haven Backpackers Resort is a 3 star Alice Springs accommodation that is ideal for budget leisure travellers and backpackers. Situated only a short walk from the centre of Alice Springs and offering excellent amenities, Haven Backpackers Resort is an ideal place to stay for a great price. Winner of the Northern Territory Tourism Awards for Backpacker Accommodation and Finalist for the Golden Backpack Awards for best hostel in the Northern Territory, Haven Backpacker Resort will meet all your expectations. Guests at Haven Backpackers Resort will appreciate the outdoor swimming pool and outdoor cooking area with BBQ, TV, and patio seating. The property also features shared kitchen facilities as well as a TV lounge and laundry room. Convenient shuttle service (charges apply) to and from the airport, cafes, and shopping. There is no shortage of fun outdoor tours and adventures for guests to enjoy. A small sample of the activities includes camel rides, hot air balloon rides, trekking through the Outback , or a trip to the spectacular rock formations of Uluru. Our travel desk will help you book any tour that you need and we offer some fabulous discounts. All rooms have high ceilings and include en-suite shower rooms, security card entry, air conditioning, brand new beds with lockable backpack storage and the latest technology in bed bug resistance comfortable mattresses. Twins/doubles and family rooms are kitted out with 32" LCD flat screen televisions, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and sofa. We also have 4 & 8 share rooms and a floor with - "female only" rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haven Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Backpacker Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing