We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice but remote place to stay in Alice Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A nice but remote place to stay in Alice Springs”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a very clean and nice hotel. But it is not centrally located to town. The rooms are good size and comfortable and the staff is very helpful. I did not like that breakfast is served only until 10 and then there is no food service until dinner. This is especially disappointing given there are no other restaurants nearby. The hotel should have food service throughout the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munro1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Munro1954,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am happy to hear that you were comfortable, well looked after, and found our staff to be friendly. Our hotel is only located a short distance of 2.1km from the town centre, which is a 20min walk or 5min drive.
Our Springs breakfast restaurant is open from 6:30am to 10am weekdays and 11am weekends and I am sorry this did not suit your needs. We do have room service available if you require to dine outside of these time frames or prefer to eat in your room.
There are two restaurants within the hotel, Hanuman's and The Deck Eatery and Bar Restaurant. Hanuman's is open for lunch between the hours of 12pm and 2:30pm for lunchtime dining and 6:30pm until late for dinner dining. The Deck Eatery and Bar Restaurant is open from 11am until late.
We believe there is adequate dining available through the day (from breakfast through to lunch and dinner and late night dining) to cater to most people's needs whilst they stay at our hotel and I apologise if the services available did not meet your needs.
We hope to see you see return to stay with us in the future should your travels bring you back to Alice Springs.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    636
    305
    91
    40
See reviews for
236
543
113
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murray Downs, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was booked in for a king with a view. The room was spectacular. It was my birthday and I was hoping to enjoy my stay. The aircon didn't work so I had no heat for myself and my daughter. We were moved to an average disabled room with no comfort. A little disappointed but I would still return as the staff were accommodating and this was the last room left.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Amanda P,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave a review. I am very sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties with the room cooling and had to be relocated to another room that you found to be less than comforting. I'm glad our staff were friendly and helpful and I do hope you enjoyed your birthday. We would love to welcome you back to the DoubleTree in the future and to create a rewarding experience for you.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Only stayed the one night, en route to Darwin. Rooms and linen, very clean, also quiet. I guess the rooms themselves could do with updating. Staff extremely helpful and handy gym available, breakfast good. Not bad value in the scheme of things.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Heather H,

Thanks for posting this review. I'm glad you had a nice stay and found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Reception area is clean and abnormally large. Our room was in an annexe and a reasonable trudge with our cases past the pool. The room itself was clean but quite tired and in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was busy but okay.
The hotel is a fair distance from anything

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyOpinion22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear MyOpinion22014,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I hope that you enjoyed your stay. All the best to you in your travels and please come back and see us if you're ever back in the area.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Hilton at Alice Springs for two nights in June. The rooms are starting to show their age but they are very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent (interesting Asian menu well cooked and presented). Although the hotel is a little away front the CBD that may be a blessing as it is in a quiet area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 1KB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear 1KB56,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you found the DoubleTree by Hilton to be comfortable, clean and staff very friendly. You are right, we are in a nice quiet part of Alice Springs, only 2.1 km from the town centre, a quick 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk.

I think you may be referring to the Hanuman's restaurant with the 'interesting Asian menu'. The restaurant is separate from of our hotel and they have their own TripAdvisor page that you can leave feedback on here: http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Restaurant_Review-g255063-d725492-Reviews-Hanuman_Alice_Springs-Alice_Springs_Red_Centre_Northern_Territory.html

I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Situated on the opposite side of the dry river bed to town and around 20 minutes walk. It's a nice walk during the day but you would not do this at night as there are always drunks hanging around the riverbed.
Nothing to complain about here. Perfectly clean; pretty quiet; nice little verandah. It's not luxurious though, and the architecture of the hotel is really ugly. In such an incredible setting you would think there would be an amazing building, but like Alice springs in general, no one seems to have wanted to make this investment.
The service here is pretty good though. Apart from no one offering to take our bags to our room - quite a long way away from reception - we otherwise had good service from the front desk.
The restaurant onsite - Hanuman - is good and reasonably priced. You need to book as it is probably the best restaurant in Alice.
The spa in the gym is broken and I heard that it has been broken for a long time. That's probably not good enough.
In a town where there is not much choice of good hotels, I think the Doubletree is a reasonable decision especially if you can use some points and get a bargain room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louloubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear louloubelle,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave a review.
We have completed a number of upgrades at our hotel and have lots more planned for the future.
I do hope you enjoyed your stay and I apologise that our porter was not available to assist you with your bags.
The Hanuman's restaurant is not a part of our hotel but is in fact separately run, you can leave feedback for them here on their TripAdvisor page: http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Restaurant_Review-g255063-d725492-Reviews-Hanuman_Alice_Springs-Alice_Springs_Red_Centre_Northern_Territory.html

You mentioned that the spa in the gym is broken, which is not true. It is actually a plunge pool in the gym, which is suppose to be cool and used when hopping out of the Sauna. I hope this clarifies things for you.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a night when we were touring Austrialia in a Scandinavian group. Alice Springs is widespread, and the hotel is situated some distance from "downtown". The rooms were spacious and well equipped. The dinner at the in-house China restaurant was very good.
The breakfast had an acceptable number of choices.
The checking out next morning did not hold the same quality as the rest of the stay, and we had to wait for quite a while.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnutPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear KnutPG,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave a review, I hope you and your wife enjoyed your travels through our lovely outback. Our hotel is only located 2.1km from the town centre which is a short 20min walk or 5 min car drive.
I'm glad you enjoyed the Hanuman's restaurant, they are not actually a part of our hotel and have their own TripAdvisor page, so please feel free to leave them feedback here: http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Restaurant_Review-g255063-d725492-Reviews-Hanuman_Alice_Springs-Alice_Springs_Red_Centre_Northern_Territory.html

I apologise if the check-out process was a little slow for your liking, being a part of a group booking can sometimes take longer processing the paperwork.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
943 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
715 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Address: Crowne Plaza 82 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience eco-friendly luxury and enjoy stunning views of the majestic MacDonnell Mountain Ranges when you stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs. Conveniently located just off of Stuart Highway, the hotel is only 15 minutes' drive from Alice Springs Airport and within walking distance of downtown. Enjoy easy access to many businesses, government offices and attractions such as Simpsons Gap, Desert Park and Anzac Hill. Ideal for both corporate and leisure guests, this Alice Springs hotel offers fantastic business and recreational facilities and friendly service from our dedicated staff. We will even welcome you with a signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check in. All of our spacious guest rooms and suites offer mountain views, generous work surfaces, luxurious bedding and high-speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour fitness centre, improve your serve on one of two tennis courts, swim in the heated outdoor pool overlooking the lush garden landscape or play a round on the 18-hole golf course located just next door. Unwind in our inviting Deck Eatery and Bar, enjoy lunch in our casual, bistro-style restaurant, Springs, or savour the highest quality, fine-dining experience in the area in Hanuman. Hold an event at this Alice Springs hotel with 700 sq. meters of meeting space, including a divisible grand ballroom, the latest A/V equipment and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing