We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We took a junior suite because the price was so reasonable. It made it a great and luxurious one night stay. The hotel is well fitted out, staff are helpful, pool is very welcoming after a hot day. Breakfast is very good.

A previous unhappy review told how her room was burgled while she slept. Fortunately we had none of that ... but a few cars were broken into in the car park and police were in attendance. Clearly the Alice has a crime problem that tells you to beware.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Jonathan H,

Thank you for taking some time to leave a review. I am thrilled to hear that your quick stay with us was such an enjoyable one. Please stop in and see us again if you should happen to be back in the area!

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here the night before our big camping trip to Central Australia. The hotel was comfortable and staff were helpful. There was well lit parking at the back, which was great considering the amount of camping gear we had tied down in the back of the ute! I was a little worried we would wake up in the morning with no gear, but was all there when we woke up. The only minor downside is the walk to the elevators from the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kirsten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Kirsten J,

Thanks for taking a few moments to leave a review. I am very happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us! I do hope your Central Australian camping experience was a good one, and I certainly hope you will stay with us again if your travels should bring you back through Alice Springs.

All the best,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Travellers arriving in Alice Springs have a variety of choice in quality hotels and motels, ranging from the budget over-nighter through to the luxurious, elegant and outrageously expensive, but for those happy to steer a middle course you can’t go past Doubletree by Hilton, an attractively presented hotel in Barrett Drive opposite the Todd river [dry when we first arrived, watery when we left] and just a few minutes’ drive from the heart of Alice Springs. Arriving a tad before check-in time, we found reception staff to be friendly, obliging and informative. On entering our room we were delighted to find ourselves in a spacious, bright and airy room, comfortably furnished, and with most of the amenities travellers’ desire. The bed was attractively made up and very comfortable; the TV provided a variety of entertainment choices; the ensuite was small but very clean and functional, and the room was well insulated against outside and adjoining noise and distractions. A small external balcony alcove was a welcome addition, although while our room was described as a “Mountain View” room, it took some searching to see the mountain view, hidden as it was by trees and shrubbery, as well as the hotel building itself.

We liked the interior appearance of the hotel and the more than ample parking close-by to our room. Some reviewers have suggested the hotel is starting to look outdated and needs a facelift – we saw nothing to confirm this view. The foyer artwork was impressive, the external landscaping attractive, and the internal walls, carpets and floors well maintained. The in-house restaurant facilities were particularly inviting, with meals and service to match. Indeed, dining choices are probably one of the great strengths of this hotel, for just off the main foyer can be found “The Deck Eatery & Bar” and immediately alongside the “Hanuman Thai Restaurant”, probably two of the finest restaurants in Alice Springs, and both of which we heartily recommend. Meals in both establishments tantalised our olfactory senses and more than gratified our taste buds and feelings of hunger.

We didn’t like the absence of easily accessible power outlets to service the numerous electronic devices that now accompany travellers [in our case 2 mobile phones, computer, 2 cameras, and a sleep apnoea device for him at night]. This oversight is not restricted to the Doubletree – it’s a deficiency a lot of contemporary hotels need to correct if they are going to keep up with the times [a 4-way power outlet board installed near the TV would fix this problem in a jiffy]. So a quick tip to travellers – carry your own power board if you are loaded up with electronic devices.

We particularly didn’t like the lighting in the room, which didn’t co-ordinate well with the placement of furnishings. It wasn’t that the room was overly dark; it was just that, for oldies like us, it was difficult to read seated at the coffee table provided because the light didn’t throw directly to the table or the comfortable room couch. The bedside lamps were fine for general illumination, but sadly found wanting when it came to providing a bright light to read in bed. Speaking of bedside lamps, most travellers waking up in the middle of the night in a strange room don’t want to have to fumble to find the switch that operates the bedside lamps, much less knock one over in one’s blind haste. A fumble-free solution to turning on a lamp switch in a pitch black room at 2 am in the morning would be great improvement. It mightn’t be a bad idea if one day management could sit in one of their own rooms and every couple of hours rate how well they could read a newspaper or paperback in different parts of the room.

Some might feel that bench space in our room was a bit light on, but that’s probably a very subjective evaluation, depending as it does on how you like to strew your travelling gear around: we managed with what was available quite ok.

And where have exhaust fans in bathrooms gone? We couldn’t find ours, so showers and baths became very steamy affairs during our stay.

But notwithstanding these minor moments, it’s the Doubletree by Hilton for us on our next trip to Alice Springs, and we are more than happy to recommend it to our friends.

He gives it 4 stars – so does she.

Room Tip: If you are loaded down with electronic devices [camera, phone, computer etc] carry your own power ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Ben087,

Thank you very much for your time in leaving such a thoughtful review. I am delighted that our team, service, and food made for such a great stay for you both. I appreciate your feedback about the power outlets and lighting, and please be assured that it is captured and noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip through Alice Springs!

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay here. The hotel is classy, clean and the customer service lovely. We ordered room service one night and the food was just incredible - couldn't fault it! The hotel is situated a couple minutes out of the main strip of town (no complaints - we loved the quiet) but has the town's best and busiest restaurant (Hanuman) on the ground floor and the casino next door - perfect location!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Keekstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Keekstar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you felt comfortable and well looked after.

All our best to you and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back if you should find your travels bring you back to Alice Springs.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a fantastic time in Alice Springs which was complimented by the accommodation. We stayed in the King suite which was very comfortable. Staff where all lovely and very quick during the check in and check out process. The pool was not as big as what I expected after looking at the photos on the web site but still a nice area to relax in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Joanne L,

Thank you for your kind review! I am thrilled to hear that you had such a good time during your visit and that our team took such good care of you!

All our best to you and if you're back in the Alice in the future, I do hope you will call on us for your accommodation needs.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A real hilight when at this hotel is Hanuman restaurant. Great food as solo diner or with a group. The service was excellent this time too. Being able to order a good coffee with breakfast is a plus. Great morning walks and not far to the botanical gardens. Bed is good and room spacious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Sharon D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to hear that you had a good experience during your visit., and that you enjoyed your meals.

I hope we'll be able to welcome you back if your travels bring you back through Alice Springs.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed three nights at the hotel during our stay in " The Alice ".. Nice hotel, good service, friendly helpful staff. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable.. The two restaurants in the hotel were excellent ... The breakfast was first class with a good choice on offer; including porridge, yeah!! A bonus!!... Nice Opel shop in the hotel too that gave good value for money... Shame the only let down was the internet access... Twenty minutes of " Free " access only accessible whilst in the area of the reception.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Malcolm C,

Thanks for taking a few moments to leave a review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team took such good care of you. We do offer the 20 minutes of free wifi in the lobby per day per device.

All our best to you in your travels and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back if you are ever in this part of the world again!

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
745 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Address: 82 Barrett Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience eco-friendly luxury and enjoy stunning views of the majestic MacDonnell Mountain Ranges when you stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs. Conveniently located just off of Stuart Highway, the hotel is only 15 minutes' drive from Alice Springs Airport and within walking distance of downtown. Enjoy easy access to many businesses, government offices and attractions such as Simpsons Gap, Desert Park and Anzac Hill. Ideal for both corporate and leisure guests, this Alice Springs hotel offers fantastic business and recreational facilities and friendly service from our dedicated staff. We will even welcome you with a signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check in. All of our spacious guest rooms and suites offer mountain views, generous work surfaces, luxurious bedding and high-speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour fitness centre, improve your serve on one of two tennis courts, swim in the heated outdoor pool overlooking the lush garden landscape or play a round on the 18-hole golf course located just next door. Unwind in our inviting Deck Eatery and Bar, enjoy lunch in our casual, bistro-style restaurant, Springs, or savour the highest quality, fine-dining experience in the area in Hanuman. Hold an event at this Alice Springs hotel with 700 sq. meters of meeting space, including a divisible grand ballroom, the latest A/V equipment and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing