We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Omer, Israel
Level Contributor
258 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - best in town”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Rooms large, very clean and well maintained. Very good service with personel really caring for the guests and helpful at all times of day. Two decent restaurants on premises. If it would not have been for the lack of good, unlimited and free (included) internet access it would have qualified as an excellent hotel - but I made a point of not qualifying with a point less a hotel tha ignored this "basic need" of a modern traveller.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Julian S,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you felt so well looked after by our team. We get lots of great feedback on both restaurants and I'm very happy that you enjoyed them both also.

Thanks also for your feedback regarding internet access. Please be assured that it has been captured and logged.

All the best in your travels and we hope to welcome you back if you're ever back in Central Australia!

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    626
    302
    88
    39
See reviews for
227
534
112
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night before travelling onto Ayers Rock and this hotel met all our requirements. Staff helpful and friendly, rooms clean and welcoming. Would stay here again. Hotel slightly out of town but dont let this put you off.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Andrew T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience during your short stay, and that our team made you feel well taken care of.

All our best to you in your travels and we look forward to welcoming you back if you are in the area again.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I call to Alice Springs for Business three to four times a year. Stayed at a few locations and find that the Double Tree is a comfortable, economical value for money accommodation facility. Good value for money. Food good, facilities and the rooms good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Garry T,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave a review. I am delighted to hear that our team made you feel welcomed and comfortable - and that you found it a good value.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Alice Springs.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a marvellous stay in Alice Springs at the Double Tree by Hilton. Everything was perfect. Our suite was very comfortable and well appointed. Dinner in the restaurant was superb. Staff were exceptional in all areas of the hotel. We got a great deal on opals at the souvenir shop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Lily M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We love to hear words like marvelous and perfect! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us; and that you felt comfortable and well looked after.

I will certainly pass your sentiments on to Paul in the Opal shop, he does an amazing job and loves to really engage with the guests.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Hotel has been built few decades ago and it looks like it hasn't been renovated at all since than. It means that the paintings, the furniture, the bathrooms are very, very tired and I can't believe that it is part of the Hilton group. The chairs and tables around the pool are old and dirty with stains everywhere. You understand why when you see how the person who is supposed to clean the area is doing her job... She is useless. On top a that, someone entered in our room at 4:30 am while we were sleeping (we closed the window but didn't lock it, our mistake) and he has stolen my watch. The personal of the hotel was not chocked at all and explained that it was our fault as the window wasn't closed. "You know you are in Alice Springs..." we have been told. Not a world to show sympathy with their customers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephG1255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear StephG1255100,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very sorry that you experienced some difficulties during your trip to Alice Springs. While we do have signs that advise guests to keep doors locked at all times, I'm sure it was a frustrating experience and for that I am sorry.

It is my understanding that this matter was fully dealt with by my shift duty manager, to include a police report and internal investigation during your stay. I was not able to reach you personally when I called, but if there is anything more we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We got a taxi from the airport to the hotel. We waited ages as everyone was doing the same thing, so I would suggest using the free telephone to call one as soon as you get there. The taxi was about $35. When we arrived we were told our tour we had booked, was cancelled(there had been unseasonable amounts of rain). We went to our junior suite room, which was clean, and well maintained, but a bit dated. We has a separate lounge with its own TV, and toilet. There was a mini bar, and microwave as well. The hotel had a laundry room which is always handy. We decided to go out so went to reception, and asked for a taxi to be ordered. Only to be told our tour was back on!! We then decided we better eat at the hotel, the only place open at the time the Deck wasn't great. We ate breakfast in the hotel which was much better with a good selection. As a final note be warned the hotel charges 1.5% on credit card transactions.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trackywebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Trackywebb,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulties with getting your taxi from the airport. Also, we rarely get such heavy rains in Alice Springs, so I am sure there were quite a few tours cancelled unfortunately. However, I'm sure the switching back and forth was frustrating for you.

I do hope that your experience while at the hotel was a comfortable one for you. Also, for future reference, the 1.5% credit card surcharge is an Australia wide requirement.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Old and outdated hotel, could do with a huge freshen-up and paint job. Not what I expected of the Hilton association brand name. The corridors and rooms need a paint job and modernisation. The pool bar was closed during my stay. I am a Hilton Honors member but needed to ask for everything rather than the items, i.e. paper etc to be offered. When you did ask for it, you needed to ask everyday and not assumed for the time of your stay. Could have been a much better hotel and experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Charlie A,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave a review. I am very sorry to hear that you experienced some frustration with getting a newspaper to your room. Please be assured that this will be followed up on.

We have completed a number of upgrades already and have lots more planned for the future. If your travels should bring you back to Alice Springs, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back and make it right.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
709 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Address: Crowne Plaza 82 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience eco-friendly luxury and enjoy stunning views of the majestic MacDonnell Mountain Ranges when you stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs. Conveniently located just off of Stuart Highway, the hotel is only 15 minutes' drive from Alice Springs Airport and within walking distance of downtown. Enjoy easy access to many businesses, government offices and attractions such as Simpsons Gap, Desert Park and Anzac Hill. Ideal for both corporate and leisure guests, this Alice Springs hotel offers fantastic business and recreational facilities and friendly service from our dedicated staff. We will even welcome you with a signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check in. All of our spacious guest rooms and suites offer mountain views, generous work surfaces, luxurious bedding and high-speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour fitness centre, improve your serve on one of two tennis courts, swim in the heated outdoor pool overlooking the lush garden landscape or play a round on the 18-hole golf course located just next door. Unwind in our inviting Deck Eatery and Bar, enjoy lunch in our casual, bistro-style restaurant, Springs, or savour the highest quality, fine-dining experience in the area in Hanuman. Hold an event at this Alice Springs hotel with 700 sq. meters of meeting space, including a divisible grand ballroom, the latest A/V equipment and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing