We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. We found the staff to be professional and helpful. I had lost my voice and tried to make a restaurant booking on arrival, somehow I was understood and later enjoyed a superb meal which we repeated the next night. The manageress was very kind offering honey and lemon drinks! and our waiter was very pleasant . The food was of an excellent standard, unusual for hotel catering.
Our room was clean and comfortable. We would certainly stay again if the opportunity arose. Thankyou for and excellent stay and kindness shown to us.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TileKiln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear TileKiln,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about your stay, and for your kind words. I am thrilled to hear that you received such great service while you were here! Looking after our guests' every need and making sure you are comfortable is our top priority.

I do hope you're feeling better by now! If your travels should happen to bring you back through The Red Centre, we would love to welcome you back.

All our best to you,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. If you are part of the Hilton Group expectations are risen. Unfortunately this hotel is not worth it. I am ok if a hotel is old or needs some refurbishment but it needs to be clean. This hotel is not clean at all!! There are dead insects ( not sure it looks like cockroaches) on the floors. The bathroom is not clean, tiles behind the toilet bah. When I wanted to fill in a comment form in the hotel, there was not any. They wanted me to write on a paper but since I thought this was easy throwing away I write it here. Also the fact that nobody helps you with your luggage is not very customer focused. Finally the restaurants in the hotel serve good food, breakfast however is not that good when you talk value for money. Upon arrival the chocolate cookie at the reception was nice and the when we arrived the receptionist were friendly, when we left this was not the case. I would not come here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Esther1606,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that you found your room to be below the standard for cleanliness. This is one of the areas we pride ourselves on. Please be assured that your feedback has been received and followed up.

If your travels should bring you back through Alice Springs, we would love an opportunity to welcome you back and make it right.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Beautiful grounds, well located beside a golf course. Nice, clean and fairly large room with a balcony over the golf course. Room could use a coat of paint and a little maintenance ( a molding was falling down). WiFi is available free for 20min in the lobby but response time was very slow and then you have to wait another 24 hours for more time. You can purchase additional time for $10 for 2 hours and $25+ for 24hrs. When are all the hotels going to get on board with unlimited free wifi across their facilities? I've had that pleasure at a number of hotels over the course of this long vacation and think in today's world - all hotels should upgrade.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear souriz,

Thanks for taking a few moments to leave a review. I am happy to hear that you liked your room, and that you were comfortable and well looked after while you were here. A face lift is always good for a hotel and we have lots of projects in the works that we are very excited about. If you are in the region again, I do hope you will stop by to check out the changes.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here whilst awaiting tour to the rock. A pleasant 15 minute walk to the town centre and next to Lassiters Casino. The hotel has retained an 80's look and could use a bit of a makeover but there isn't much competition. Room were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starman1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Starman1405,

Thanks for taking a few moments to leave a review about your stay. I am glad to hear that you were comfortable and well looked after while you were with us.

We're looking forward to lots more exciting improvements around the hotel, so if you travel back to Alice Springs, please stop back in to visit us. We would love to welcome you back!

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I can recommend this as excellent value for money coupled with great restaurant and comfortable rooms. The restaurant had exceptional Thai reflected by the fact that it was booked out with locals! Well appointed facility nd easy to get around with relaxing grounds looking over the Macdonnell ranges and golf course. I felt relaxed and refreshed after the weekend and would highly recommend that people look out for the regular great deals.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Edwina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Edwina M,

Thank you very much for stopping by to leave a review, and for your wonderful comments! I am delighted to hear that you were comfortable and well looked after while you were here! It sounds like all the boxes were ticked for a lovely little holiday, and that is what we aim for!

All the best to you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in town.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

First, the front desk staff ignored us and hailed the man standing near us. Room was OK (air conditioning worked really well considering it was nearly 100 degrees outside - a definite plus). Nice shop near front desk. Had lunch in restaurant where staff was not very attentive. Didn't offer us full menu when others in restaurant were. REALLY need a shuttle service into town. Staff told us it was walking distance but not so in the heat. Cab $10-12. Looked forward to pool area but the hot tub was closed. Cookies were great though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Marion B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor. It seems like perhaps your stay was a bit "hit-or-miss". I'm sorry to hear that there were a few hitches while you were here.

Walking into town is a bit tricky since some guests really love the walk and others don't prefer it. Still, I appreciate you sharing your perspective on in.

We have made quite a few changes around the hotel even since November. If your travels should bring you back this way, we would love to welcome you back.

All the best to you,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while booked for a tour to take us to Ayers Rock. From the airport in Alice Springs we used the hotel shuttle service which dropped us off at the hotel. The staff was great, very knowledgeable and readily available to answer our questions. Our first day we walked to downtown Alice Springs which took only about 20 minutes. There are shops and restaurants but it's a small town. There is a Woolworth's grocery store downtown which we made use of.
Through my online research prior to booking I had heard that it is possible to feed wallaby's at the Heavitree Gap Outback Resort, though we didn't want to stay at that hotel we wanted the experience. Upon returning to the Hilton we inquired about this with the guy at the front desk who was extremely helpful. He told us exactly how to get there and even called the hotel to see if the feeding had started yet. He advised us that if we want to walk there it would take about 30 minutes and we should do it before the sun sets (not the safest area to be wandering around in at night) and recommending that we take a taxi on the way back.
We did exactly that, the feeding was wonderful! You can buy food at the reception ($1/bag I believe) and head to the back where the wallaby's come down to feed. I would highly recommend this experience, it was a highlight of the trip.
Word of advice, head out early enough to have the reception call you a taxi. We stayed too long and the reception area closed causing us to walk to the gas station nearby and use a payphone.

The hotel had already arranged for our return shuttle back to the airport (organized on our first day there) so there were no issues getting back.
We had a nice room with amazing views of the outback from our balcony. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbialy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear kam_k01,

Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review about your stay! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It sounds like you really got to experience some of the best of Alice Springs and the surrounding areas while you were here.

If your travels should bring you back to our part of the world, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another stay.

All the best to you,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
756 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,055 reviews
1 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Address: Crowne Plaza 82 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $91 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience eco-friendly luxury and enjoy stunning views of the majestic MacDonnell Mountain Ranges when you stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs. Conveniently located just off of Stuart Highway, the hotel is only 15 minutes' drive from Alice Springs Airport and within walking distance of downtown. Enjoy easy access to many businesses, government offices and attractions such as Simpsons Gap, Desert Park and Anzac Hill. Ideal for both corporate and leisure guests, this Alice Springs hotel offers fantastic business and recreational facilities and friendly service from our dedicated staff. We will even welcome you with a signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check in. All of our spacious guest rooms and suites offer mountain views, generous work surfaces, luxurious bedding and high-speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour fitness centre, improve your serve on one of two tennis courts, swim in the heated outdoor pool overlooking the lush garden landscape or play a round on the 18-hole golf course located just next door. Unwind in our inviting Deck Eatery and Bar, enjoy lunch in our casual, bistro-style restaurant, Springs, or savour the highest quality, fine-dining experience in the area in Hanuman. Hold an event at this Alice Springs hotel with 700 sq. meters of meeting space, including a divisible grand ballroom, the latest A/V equipment and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing