We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary hotel in Alice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Recently under management of Hilton, name changed. Paid for room advertised as view of pool and garden - in reality, allocated a room with a view of nothing but a brown brick wall. Beds hard, cheap mattresses. Tired furniture, in need of refurbishment, not just a name change.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank seekingMevlevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Seekingmasnavi,

Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the view from your room. We do have some upgrades and refurbishments currently under way, with lots more planned for the future. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and make it a better experience for you.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in Oct 2013. The room was pleasant and roomy, if a little dated, particularly the bathroom. It was quiet enough but could hear doors slamming and trolleys in the corridor. The phone in the room had incorrect numbers on it, and the in-room guide had a lot of outdated information.The pool area is definitley in need of maintenance with loose tiles evident. The spa pool was out of order, as was the sauna. The staff were friendly and very helpful and professional but with only 2 people on the front desk, and no concierge, there was usually a wait for service. The breakfast buffet was good, and Hanumans restaurant is outstanding. The hotel bar had no draft beer and all drinks are expensive. Plenty of free parking which is good. Be aware that the hotel is some distance from the town centre, with a marginal taxi service - when we arrived there were people waiting for 30 min or more for a cab. Walking is quicker - but pretty tiring when it is 38 degrees. We had a car so not a problem for us.
A lot of negative stuff there but despite that we enjoyed our stay. The hotel was adequate for our needs, it just needs some money spent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaneC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear ShaneC60,

Thanks for taking some time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor. I am happy that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the last phases of re-opening our pool bar and giving the outside a bit of a face-lift. If your travels bring you back this way, it would be great for you to stop in and check out the upgrades!

Thanks again, and please know that your concerns have been followed up.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had high hopes for this hotel, which were very quickly dashed. First of all, the hotel is located on the outskirts of town--although it is within walking distance of the casino, if that is your thing, it is a $10-11 cab ride to get to the town center, which is quite inconvenient. I knew I was in trouble when I arrived at the hotel and was told I had a "garden-view" hotel room, only to find that my room overlooked a patch of red dirt with some struggling patches of grass. The room at first seemed mostly clean, although there was a urine stain on the toilet seat that was a bit surprising to see in a DoubleTree hotel. The room and bed were comfortable. The really horrific experience of my two night stay came on my day of departure. I woke up and noticed small ants crawling on the desk and along one wall (probably about 6 of them). I was a little grossed out, but still left to go have breakfast. By the time I came back, I found DOZENS of ants crawling along EVERY wall of the room--it looked like an ant hill had exploded. Before people object, I should mention that I had absolutely no food or drinks whatsoever in the room. I quickly packed up my bags (praying that there were no "stowaways") and checked out of the hotel a few hours earlier than planned, reporting this infestation on check out. I have no way of knowing if they dealt with it or not afterward, but I was sufficiently grossed out. I can't recommend this hotel, although I will say the hotel restaurant (Hanuman) is a passable indian/thai restaurant.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank DoctorWHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear DoctorWHK,

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that you experienced some difficulties with ants in your room. Our very dry and remote location in the desert does expose us and the surrounding areas to ants and various other insects. We do have an aggressive pest control program in place which we find generally keeps pests at bay.

Again, we really appreciate the feedback and please be assured it has been investigated by our maintenance team.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Doubletree is average accommodation and over priced for what you get. They missed some basic things and got our room wrong. The whole place is in need of a good face lift! Some staff were great, most average.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Sam T,

Thanks for taking a moment to leave a review. Among our top priorities is that our guests feel welcomed, comfortable, and that their needs are being attended to. I am very sorry that there were some details that were unattended to.

Please be assured that your feedback has been well received and will be followed up.

Kind Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Got this hotel via lastminute.com.au. But got really disappointed when I got there. We got the service of the price we paid, not Hilton style. The rooms they have allocated for the mystery deal is the furthest you can have, you walk for probably 10 minutes to get there from the reception and it faces the carpark. Even though you may request King Bed, it seems only double beds are available. Asked front desk for the possibility to change rooms for king bed but they said because it was lastminute that was they had for us. I just got a bit disappointed because it was a special night for us. Anyway... the highlight was of course, the cookie they give you on check-in. That was to die for!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Hanna R,

Thanks for taking a few moments to leave a review. And thanks also for taking some time to speak with my assistant to get this matter sorted out.

Sometimes the requested room configuration comes in from our partner websites at the very last minute and we have already sold out of the requested room. Still, I am sorry that you were disappointed.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back at some stage.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a comfortable 2 night stay.We arrived from the Ghan at 10am and were delighted to be able to get in to our room straight away. We wanted to keep the room until 12 when we left, but were charged $25 per hour for this, which I felt was a bit much
The room was large, with a pleasant view over the golf course. Good quality linen and towels, very comfortable beds, well equipped bathroom
Had breakfast included in our package, and it was OK with a good choice of hot and cold. Took ages to get my decaf coffee though.
Hotel quite a long walk from the main town, but it was very quiet so I think situation was fine
Swimming pool large and well maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Levoyageur,

Thanks for taking a moment to leave a review here on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that you had a comfortable stay and found the facilities and surroundings to be up to your standards. And what a great experience to take a trip on the Ghan!

Our hotel has a standard 12:00 noon check out time so I am not sure what happened with the charge, but if you would like my assistant to look into it further, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel and we will be happy to sort that out for you.

Thanks again and I hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was good to be able to make a booking before hand and arrive to find that everything was taken care of. This would be about the fourth time that I have stayed and each time has been of an excellent standard thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear John J,

Thank you very much for leaving this short and sweet review of your stay! We appreciate you being a loyal guest and I am delighted to hear that each of your stays have been comfortable and enjoyable for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in town next time.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
751 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,040 reviews
1 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Address: 82 Barrett Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $78 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience eco-friendly luxury and enjoy stunning views of the majestic MacDonnell Mountain Ranges when you stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs. Conveniently located just off of Stuart Highway, the hotel is only 15 minutes' drive from Alice Springs Airport and within walking distance of downtown. Enjoy easy access to many businesses, government offices and attractions such as Simpsons Gap, Desert Park and Anzac Hill. Ideal for both corporate and leisure guests, this Alice Springs hotel offers fantastic business and recreational facilities and friendly service from our dedicated staff. We will even welcome you with a signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check in. All of our spacious guest rooms and suites offer mountain views, generous work surfaces, luxurious bedding and high-speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour fitness centre, improve your serve on one of two tennis courts, swim in the heated outdoor pool overlooking the lush garden landscape or play a round on the 18-hole golf course located just next door. Unwind in our inviting Deck Eatery and Bar, enjoy lunch in our casual, bistro-style restaurant, Springs, or savour the highest quality, fine-dining experience in the area in Hanuman. Hold an event at this Alice Springs hotel with 700 sq. meters of meeting space, including a divisible grand ballroom, the latest A/V equipment and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing