We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alice Springs 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Room was clean and tidy. Don't bother eating there it was woeful on all counts. If you have special dietary requirements I would advise before you go - they might need to forward plan for you. Have to pay for wireless internet - so do your eating and internet at a cafe

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Emma L,

Thanks for taking a few moments to leave some feedback here on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry to hear that you found the meals to be below your expectations. I can assure you that food allergies and dietary requirements are something that we take very seriously, and I am very sorry that you experienced difficulties with it. Please be assured that this matter has been followed up.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel where we will be able to extend to you the high level of service we strive to offer all of our guests.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,357 - 1,363 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst in Alice Springs on business. The rooms and public areas are a little tired looking and in need of a bit of an update. Having said this, the room I stayed in was clean and well maintained. The room itself was a decent size and contained all the amenities that you would expect.

By far, the most impressive aspect of this hotel was the level of service. From the front desk to the bar and restaurants, all staff were helpful and friendly. It's often hard to get a good coffee in hotels, but the team at DoubleTree did a great job. As a general rule, I don't usually eat in hotel restaurants (normally overpriced & bad quality), but I made an exception this time with the Asian restaurant in the lobby and I was pleasantly surprised.

Good value hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear SW_Sydney,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review here on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service to be top notch. I am also very happy to report that we do have some renovations and refurbishments under way and there are more planned for the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel if and when your travels bring you back to Central Australia.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After an unexpected overnight in Alice Springs we opted for the Double Tree by Hilton - asked for their best rate and got a king room with balcony overlooking the pool for $129.. Borrowed a trolley to take our bags to our room and had to negotiate the ramps around the pool - nearly tipped everything off - we weren't offered porter service. Room was well appointed, clean and quiet. Had a light dinner in our room - service was prompt, meal hot and quite acceptable. Buffet breakfast was excellent and staff were very attentive. Would recommend to friends and would definitely stay at Double Tree again.

Room Tip: Take buffet breakfast option when you pay for your room because it is only $20 per head - real value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karrick29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Karrick29,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave some feedback about your stay here on TripAdvisor. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton when you found yourself unexpectedly overnight here in Alice Springs. I am delighted to hear that your room was comfortable, your meal was good, and you found it to be a good value. It is nice to feel well looked after when life throws you those little turns.

I am sorry you had some difficulty with your luggage. We do not have a positioned porter in the hotel, but our front desk team are happy to help with baggage upon request, time permitting.

Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back if your travells bring you back to Alice Springs again.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

pleasant comfortable hotel for the price, the decore is rather tired, but everything works , the staff are very helpful, the pool is of a good size and very clean, we didn't have breakfast as was a crazy price, didn't use the restaurant so can't comment, staff very helpful

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Helen B,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave some comments here on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear that your stay was a comfortable one, and that you found the service you received by our team to be top notch.

I am also happy to report that we do have some refurbishments and renovations currently underway and some planned for the near future.

Thank you again and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spent two nights here. In a good location. Our room was clean and comfortable with a king bed and lounge and a balcony overlooking the garden and pool which was nice, and far enough away that you didn't hear people swimming. A small table to go with the chairs would have been nice on the balcony for afternoon nibbles or morning coffee. Good room rate (the cheapest we paid on our Central Australia holiday). Plenty of parking close enough to the rooms. Air conditioning and fridge that worked well - important if you're travelling or just to keep your water cold. Ice is available in the machine in the hall and ice bucket in the room. Service was great and staff were eager to offer advice on what to see and visit. The front bar has good coffee and the best share plates for dinner. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Susan B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments about your experience here on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was a comfortable and relaxing one.

Thank you also for the suggestion about the balcony table. This something that we will certainly review for the future. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Alice Springs has limited accommodation, this place is not the worst place to stay and has some good aspects like the pool and Hanuman's restaurant which is an independent business. The hotel food including breakfast is terrible and overpriced - for half the cost and food three times as good go up the road to Olive Pink Gardens. Staff especially on the desk do not seem to be hospitality trained.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Margaret M,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave some feedback about your stay here on TripAdvisor. It is troubling to hear that you feel you received poor hospitality. As guest service and hospitality are a top priority for us, please be assured that this matter has been looked into and followed up.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel where we will be able to extend to you the high level of service we strive to offer all of our guests.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Formally the Crown Plaza Alice Springs, the Hilton Double Tree in Alice Springs is a central hub for many tours throughout the red centre of Australia.

The rooms are comfortable, service is great and prices are reasonable and in a town like Alice - this would have to be the best option available. Bathrooms are a little small, in comparison to the rest of the room which is very spacious.

It seems that the place is under staffed as we had to wait all the time for service at the front counter, or on the phone or at the breakfast venue each morning.

But again, this is the outback so overall, I would stay back at this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broncos4Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Broncos4Eva,

Thanks for taking some time to leave your feedback about your stay here on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that your stay was a comfortable and enjoyable one, and that you found it to be a good value.

I apologise that you experienced longer than normal wait times. It can get busy when large groups are checking in or out, but I am sure it was a bit frustrating for you all the same. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future, where we will be able to extend to you the high level of service we strive to offer all of our guests.

Warm Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
752 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,040 reviews
1 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Address: 82 Barrett Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $79 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience eco-friendly luxury and enjoy stunning views of the majestic MacDonnell Mountain Ranges when you stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs. Conveniently located just off of Stuart Highway, the hotel is only 15 minutes' drive from Alice Springs Airport and within walking distance of downtown. Enjoy easy access to many businesses, government offices and attractions such as Simpsons Gap, Desert Park and Anzac Hill. Ideal for both corporate and leisure guests, this Alice Springs hotel offers fantastic business and recreational facilities and friendly service from our dedicated staff. We will even welcome you with a signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check in. All of our spacious guest rooms and suites offer mountain views, generous work surfaces, luxurious bedding and high-speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour fitness centre, improve your serve on one of two tennis courts, swim in the heated outdoor pool overlooking the lush garden landscape or play a round on the 18-hole golf course located just next door. Unwind in our inviting Deck Eatery and Bar, enjoy lunch in our casual, bistro-style restaurant, Springs, or savour the highest quality, fine-dining experience in the area in Hanuman. Hold an event at this Alice Springs hotel with 700 sq. meters of meeting space, including a divisible grand ballroom, the latest A/V equipment and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing