We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay on 02.06.2013!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 11, 2013

First time I have stayed here (02/06/13) since it has become a Doubletree by Hilton. Was a great nights stay. My room was clean and bed was comfortable.
The staff I dealt with were all friendly and polite and it was nice to see the General Manager on the front desk checking guests in/out.
Although I was informed by a friend that they no longer do local rates, not sure if this is true or not.
But overall enjoyed my night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisMick7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear KrisMick7268,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs. I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share feedback on TripAdvisor and am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel and Alice Springs sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Given the competition and the price point at which this hotel sits, I don't see much reason for anyone who is on a hotel (v. hostel) budget to stay anywhere else in Alice Springs.

Pros:

Price - My rooms were $149/night, including a sumptuous breakfast the next morning. Didn't see any other hotels in the area for anything particularly less.

Common Areas - Huge lobby, nice pool, and generally welcoming atmosphere

Hanuman's - The best restaurant in Alice Springs is in the lobby of the hotel so you can eat there and get a bit buzzed without having to worry about transit. Also a nice hotel lobby.

Breakfast - Did I mention that the breakfast is really great? Because it is.

Rooms - Large, clean, reasonably appointed.

Cons:

Exercise Room - In a bit of a shambles, with limited/dirty/broken equipment. Probably the most disappointing part of the hotel and a relatively easy fix.

Decor - The hotel was clearly built in the 80s and has not really been redone since then. This didn't bother me much, but I suppose a man has to be picky about something.

Location - The hotel is slightly "outside" the center of town in that you will have to walk 15 minutes to get to any of the "downtown" attractions in Alice Springs. Not a problem for me, and makes it quieter, but if you are super picky about these sorts of things it's worth a note. On the positive side, it is immediately adjacent to the Casino, so if you are up for a spot of gambling, you are in the right place.

In the event that I ever find myself in Alice Springs again, I would definitely stay here and would also recommend it to any friends or family passing through.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickDC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear NickDC33,

I appreciate you posting on TripAdvisor. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us and visit to Alice Springs.

Please be assured that we greatly value your feedback. I am pleased to advise that we are currently looking at how we can further improve the fitness centre facilities at the hotel.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Alice Springs and to stay with us once again in the future.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Room smelt like someone had smoked in it. It was not strong so it seems some attempt had been made to rid the odour but that was not completely succesful. The room was an interconnecting room and noise from the adjoining room, comprising conversational noise and TV noise, came through

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for an overnight work trip a couple of weeks ago. All the staff were top notch and nothing was too much trouble. A warm welcome on arrival. Went to my room and wasn't happy because it was adjoining another room with a family and crying baby. I went back to reception and they couldn't do enough for me. Moved me to a room with no one next to me even though hotel was very busy. Next morning breakfast was great and again warm welcome by staff who ensured all breakfast supplies were topped up and tidy. Before i left the very friendly girl at reception checked me into my flight and printed my boarding pass out for me - fabulous! Ordered my taxi and off I went. Will definitely stay again. Hotel needs a revamp but room was clean and tidy. Also Asian restaurant has good quality food with nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellynMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear BellynMimi,

Thank you for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor. It is truly pleasing to read that we were able to "WOW' you and ensure that your stay was an enjoyable one.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Alice Springs and the DoubleTreeby Hilton in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights for a work trip. Rooms are spacious, the king bed was comfortable. I paid $149 per night which was a good rate and felt like decent value for Alice. Staff were helpful. Is a little walk into town but not too far - about 15 mins. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xhlgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear xhlgette,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us on your recent work trip. It is pleasing to read that we met your expectations.

If Alice Springs is a regular visit for work, please do touch base with me directly via the hotel as I would love to discuss how we may better be able to take care of your companies needs.

Thank you again for taking the time to post and I shall look forward to personally meeting you on a future stay.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Doubletree by Hilton. We had initially booked to stay at the Crowne Plaza but it had changed hands in the meantime. The atmosphere and location were brilliant!!!Staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our entire stay. When we checked in we were each given a chocolate chip cookie which was a lovely surprise! The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. We were right next to the golf course which was an added bonus for me!
Breakfast was included in our package, but we found the buffet a little dissapointing (but maybe that's because we had just gotten off the Ghan and had been very spoilt with the Chef's on the train!). We chose to eat out as the room service prices were a little expensive for us ( our funds were depleted by this stage of our holiday!) but the prices were comparable to other lovely hotels of this calibre.
The only downfall for us throughout all of our Northern Territory experience is that while we had pre-paid all of our accomodation in advance, with each hotel we stayed in, varying amounts of money ranging from $50-$200 was frozen on our credit card as a security.
Maybe we are still fledglings when it comes to travel, but we were unaware of this process as we have never had money frozen on our credit card and it left us very short of funds towards the end of our journey.
Saying that though, we would most definitely stay at Doubletree again as it was so lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear G S,

Thank you for taking a few moments to share your recent experience on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your Trip on the Ghan and your accommodation in Alice Springs at DoubleTree by Hilton.

I appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast buffet and are pleased to also let you know that we offer an A La Carte breakfast offering.

Thank you again for posting and I do hope that we will see you back in the Red Centre at some stage in the near future.

Happy travelling!

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The service is a bit lack lustre at time and the rooms are a little tired and are no different from when the hotel was a Crowne Plaza. The breakfast buffet is very limited and no a la carte breakfast menu is offered to you, although the hotel guide in the room states that available. I don't think a kilojoule loaded cookie can sweeten the whole experience...maybe that works in the US!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank philiph759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
735 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Address: Crowne Plaza 82 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $96 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience eco-friendly luxury and enjoy stunning views of the majestic MacDonnell Mountain Ranges when you stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs. Conveniently located just off of Stuart Highway, the hotel is only 15 minutes' drive from Alice Springs Airport and within walking distance of downtown. Enjoy easy access to many businesses, government offices and attractions such as Simpsons Gap, Desert Park and Anzac Hill. Ideal for both corporate and leisure guests, this Alice Springs hotel offers fantastic business and recreational facilities and friendly service from our dedicated staff. We will even welcome you with a signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check in. All of our spacious guest rooms and suites offer mountain views, generous work surfaces, luxurious bedding and high-speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour fitness centre, improve your serve on one of two tennis courts, swim in the heated outdoor pool overlooking the lush garden landscape or play a round on the 18-hole golf course located just next door. Unwind in our inviting Deck Eatery and Bar, enjoy lunch in our casual, bistro-style restaurant, Springs, or savour the highest quality, fine-dining experience in the area in Hanuman. Hold an event at this Alice Springs hotel with 700 sq. meters of meeting space, including a divisible grand ballroom, the latest A/V equipment and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing