We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with my tour group”

Kungkas Can Cook Cafe
Ranked #18 of 106 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Description: Kungkas Can Cook are passionate about Bush Foods and are dedicated to utilising Wild Harvested Products from the Central Desert Region and beyond. Kungkas Can Cook pride themselves in ensuring a sustainable and ethical supply direct from community to consumer. The menu is jam packed with an interesting blend of everyday meals with a twist.Come in and try one of the many tasty treats infused with wild harvested bush foods.
Restaurant details
Description: Kungkas Can Cook are passionate about Bush Foods and are dedicated to utilising Wild Harvested Products from the Central Desert Region and beyond. Kungkas Can Cook pride themselves in ensuring a sustainable and ethical supply direct from community to consumer. The menu is jam packed with an interesting blend of everyday meals with a twist.Come in and try one of the many tasty treats infused with wild harvested bush foods.
Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

This lady has devoted many years to promoting aborginal foods, empowering women who collect and cook with traditional desert foods.
We sampled many different grains, breads, condiments.
It was educational and very enjoyable. She inspires respect for millenia of aborginal culture

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank bokguey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 44 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2019

This was the most delectable meal of our three weeks in Australia! Rayleen first provided our group with a sampling of chutneys, dips, spreads, and a salt bush pesto, which we could eat with her wonderful wattle seed bread. Major components of various appetizers included bush tomatoes, wild fig, and kakadu plum. The flavors were delicate and exotic at the same time. This was followed by a family style meal, featuring roasted vegetables (squash, eggplant, carrots and potatoes), green beans, salad with thin slices of apple and pear in a light vinaigrette, roasted chicken and roasted kangaroo meat. Although the major components were familiar, regionally harvested spices provided flavor and interest. Everything was delicious. The meal was finished with a generous portion of chocolate cake.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019 via mobile

Twenty five of us dined here. I am a vegetarian so they provided me with extra beans. The explanations of the owner's experiences and plans were great. The food (with emphasis on indigenous and bush foods) was very good. It was a totally enjoyable evening

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank juliatC1138YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018

The food was amazing. When people exclaim over how delicious the carrots and potatoes are and I love the chicken breast (which I normally don't like), you know the cooking is extraordinary. And all the more interesting food was wonderful as well. The space was charming and the whole experience gave insight into and appreciation of indigenous Australians.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 238janexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018

This dinner was part of a Road Scholar tour the Alice Springs. Raylene described the seasonings used for the meal. We had kangaroo and chicken seasoned with Aboriginal spices. The meal was excellent. Raylene is an exceptional woman with vision to get more of the Aboriginal people involved in the growing and processing of the food products. I don't know what the meal cost. Meal included a starter plate, salad, cooked vegetable, meats, dessert and a beverage.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pfuji123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kungkas Can Cook Cafe also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Kungkas Can Cook Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing