We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff made it a fantastic small and personal hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alice Lodge Backpackers
Reviewed April 10, 2014

really nice and clean hostel. Recommended to us by a friend who had already stayed there and enjoyed it. refreshingly cool pool. close to town. funky wall art. Comfy beds. Kitchen is small and hot but it has dry and clean tea towels - a rare treat for hostels! Clean showers and toilets

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyLou_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 473 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just a quick note to say I enjoyed my stay at Alice lodge, Robt was a wonderful,person, very helpful and considerate. For me it's not the location, or rooms, or even cleanliness. It's the staff that's makes my stay. And they went well beyond making me feel at home! Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suegreen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Backpackers clean, kitchen open all times, swimming pool clean, nearly cold, quiet place, music quiet and good music, personnel kind, just feel stay forever ! near center but outside also, garden and caravane, small Back so good. Thanks you Alice

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here for several days and have absolutely no complaints about this wonderful find. Aside from the great prices, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, clean rooms, great shower and laundry facilities, lovely homely atmosphere and at night, the communal garden comes to life with fairy lights. Plus if you love listening to music, the music is fantastic!! I would really recommend this place for those who are looking for a place from which to base their travels to Uluru, or even for a nice relaxing break. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would go back again.

Room Tip: There is a mixture of rooms and caravans. Both were pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

A friendly and welcoming place, Alice Lodge has friendly and helpful staff, good facilities, and clean rooms. The showers were nice and most welcome because it was so hot! The airport transfer was free and so was the breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scarophion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, one before and one after our Ayers Rock trip. The rooms were basic, but adequate for the time we were there. The electricity in the showers and kitchens did go off at one point, but were fixed by the time we came back. One warning: DO NOT BOOK YOUR TOUR WITH THEM. We did and have since had problems, as the tour company are trying to take more money, despite the fact we had paid in full. They blame Alice Lodge for the mix-up.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

In our 60's and first time staying at a youth hostel, my sister and I found this to be an unexpected surprise. Hostels are not only for the young, but also for the young at heart. We found the staff to be friendly and the atmosphere very homey. The property is situated in a quiet residental street with a park in front and within walking distance from downtown. We spend a week at Alice Lodge waiting for the Ghan which never arrived but that is another story.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mae-Hah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
374 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.5 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alice's Secret Travellers Inn
Alice's Secret Travellers Inn
#1 of 30 in Alice Springs
330 reviews
1 mi away
Jump Inn Alice Budget Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Lodge Backpackers

Address: 4 Mueller St, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range: $39 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Lodge Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alice Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing