We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place, nice helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alice Lodge Backpackers
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Cute place, nice helpful staff”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Alice Lodge before and after an Outback camping trip. All of the services were great, from free pick-up to luggage store to enabling us to get in late when our Outback trip ran into a snag. The gentlemen at reception were very helpful and friendly.

The 4-share room is smallish, but fine for the price. Walking into town at night feels a bit deserted, but it's really not far and we didn't run into any problems. The common areas are very handy, too, from the laundry to the internet/TV room. The cheeky signs are fun but also informative.

A nice stay and definitely suited our needs!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    164
    57
    29
    10
See reviews for
25
105
188
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a double and twin two nights then again one more later. On our first visit we were in the retro campers surrounding the courtyard. These were well kept and comfortable. On our second visit we were in the main building, also very good rooms. Rooms have a fridge. The bathrooms were clean as was the kitchen. It was a huge bonus to have free wifi, especially since there was not cell phone coverage out of town. Free breakfast was strictly managed and not generous. It it is nice to have free tea & coffee and a clean well equipped kitchen. It is a safe, economical and friendly place to stay we highly recommend it to the budget traveller.
Office is closed in the afternoon until 4.30pm so don't rush to check in earlier.

Room Tip: the pool pump was loud at night, rooms near this were louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This review is long overdue, I stayed here in December 2011 and what a fabulous time I had.

Great place to stay. Close to everything, less than 10 minute walk to town and tourist attractions. I stayed here for 5 nights (2 nights then 3 nights) and got to know staff pretty well. Great facilities, clean and free breakfast from 4am. Yes, 4am! I highly recommend if you do intend to stay in Alice. It was one of the cheaper hostels in the area and one of the best in my opinion.

PJ, don't worry about what other people are saying about you. I found you lovely and very helpful considering my luggage didn't arrive with me when I came and you found me the next day when it was delivered.

The only negative (if it was even a negative) was the aircon shut off on one of the days and it soared to something like 35degrees -- but it moved me to the pool and the main area where I met some great people.

Room Tip: I chose a smaller room so it was very secluded and not noisy as it was away from the main area. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnadraMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in Alice Lodge in April for 2 nights. The rooms are basic but we found them clean and tidy. The signs we found very amusing and the free airport pick up was a nice touch.
We would highly recommend Alice lodge to anyone wanting a Hostel in Alice which is clean an cheap.

P.S I had 4 slices of bread with extra helpings of butter. And my wife lost a cotton bud in the washing machine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I didnt get picked up from the airport, and the owner seems to hate everybody, even though sometimes he manages to fake a smile. If you take more than 2 slices of bred, they tell you they will pretty much hang you and the toilets and rooms were way to dirty!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicelodge, Owner at Alice Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Well Jacob,

I'd first like to point out that there is no possible way to not to avail of the pick-up from the airport, our shuttle is operated by the Alice Springs airport shuttle who are contracted to meet every flight into Alice Springs.
I apologies if you got the impression that I was "angry with the everyone", I can only assumme you stayed in Mid February when I was sick, I had a virus called Shigella and it took the doctors 3 weeks to figure out what was wrong with me, unfortunately due to the fact that I manage Alice Lodge on a daily basis with one other staff member, it meant I had to work when I was exhausted, I wasnt angry just wasn't my usual easy going self. Again it wasnt my intention to give off the impression I was angry.
As for the rest of your comments, as a hostel we do not have the same standard as a Motel or Hotel, as a business person that you listed you were on Tripadvisor, I think you maybe haven't stayed at a backpackers before as this is your first review on tripadvisor. Also we have checked our records thoroughly for any Jacob who may have stayed this year and we have have no person under that name,

The 2 reviews before your don't suggest that our rooms and facilities are'nt dirty, we endeavour to keep a clean hostel at all times.

PJ Bedford
Info@alicelodge.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent some days in a double (which was a caravan in the back of the yard) and we really enjoyed our stay before and after the trip to Uluru. We had to shift the booked trip for one day because of a health problem and everybody was really helpfull and flexible to change the booking dates althoug it was fully booked. I enjoyed the garden, the free breakfast, and the quiet surrounding. I found it a perfect place to start and end the 3 days Uluru trip. It is a Backpackers not a five star accomodation, the caravan was clean (ok, they could repair the the drawer of the commode), had a fridge, was lockable and quiet. The showers could be a bit cleaner, as it looks after the cleaning the same as before (the use of a brush would solve that). All together, thumb up!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eksnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Basic room – Bed, fridge, heater, and chest of drawers

Friendly atmosphere

Free airport pick up

Free wifi usage (one ticket per person)

Free breakfast between 5am and 9am – Cereal and Toast

$5 per person for a lift to the Ghan train station

Free luggage storage available if you are going on a 3day tour to Uluru. Have to be dropped off by 6.30pm the previous night

Free day luggage store available

$1 to hire a towel

4 showers and 3 toilets

Gated premises with an access code to gain entry

Walking distance to the town centre. Advisable to get a taxi once dark. Roughly $8 one way.

Room Tip: One overlooking the road at the front of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LKPAA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicelodge, Owner at Alice Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
G'day LKPAA25,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply on Tripadvisor.

Your review is a pretty candid reflection of Alice Lodge backpackers as a whole.

Wishing you safe travels

PJ Bedford - info@alicelodge.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.5 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Lodge Backpackers

Property: Alice Lodge Backpackers
Address: 4 Mueller St, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Lodge Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Alice Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing