We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Desert Rose Inn
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very cheap if you stay long-term. I would not stay here again however. Too noisy, particularly early in the morning and during the night. Cleaning standards not good. Indifferent staff. Smokers everywhere. Only good thing is the location. Air-con works at about 1/4 strength. Expensive laundry facilities. Probably the chepest place in town, without having to sign a lease.

Room Tip: Upstairs might be a bit quieter. Askf or one which has new air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sglawrence2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

...you didn't want to pay a lot but wanted somewhere within convenient strolling distance of the centre of town.

Well, that's exactly what you get. Its old Australian motel style through and through so is never going to win any awards but its clean and does the job.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here just over a week recently and had a good time. Like most reviews, the motel is very close to the centre of town with Woolworths and Coles very close plus MacDonalds, Red Rooster and Dominos. The rooms need a little attention but were clean and tidy. The staff were attentive and helpful and the TV provided all digital channels. The free WIFI was a huge bonus and helped me keep in touch with business matters and family. The kitchen and games area was also a plus and allowed us to eat in relative comfort. Overall, very well priced and affordable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here after our car broke down after travelling from Darwin. Our double room had a TV, fridge, shower, sink etc which pleased us. The decor is a bit dated but the facilities are good with free WIFI (hard to come by in Australian hostels) and large kitchen/dining room. Nice and central with good security. The staff were really friendly and helpful and it was cheap as chips. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megmagmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed in a budget ensuite room for a couple of nights eitherside of going outback. The hosts were friendly and welcoming.
Despite the garish 70’s décor and building, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the hotel is safe and secure. The showers deserved comment; they were good and powerful. The kitchen block was huge, but grotty and utensils all a bit hotch-potch. Luckily theres a couple of BBQ's outback in the patio area which were handy. The free internet access was welcomed and the small pool was refreshing. Its a short walk from the centre of town.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in Desert Rose for 4 nights in a double room with private ensuite, this room was located outside the backpacker dorms, next to the parkinglot. Our neighbour lady was a chinese woman, who had man visitors over. Some nights they would knock on our door and then realise they knocked on the wrong door..... This situation applied or the last 3 rooms in the row, we were just unlucky to be the next door neighbour. Also the outdoorlight would go on when someone walked by, the curtains were vey light so we would wake up many times from this light.
The kitchen area in the hostel was very poorly, very few equipment, made it difficult to do some descent cooking.

Room Tip: For a double ensuite, ask for the first room in row, the manager lives next door! No knocking on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigit v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed in room with ensuite near the pool. Clean, comfortable double bed, jug, tea, milk provided, good bathroom, TV on wall in bedroom. Safe, secure, walked to cafes and supermarket. Staff friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. I stayed two nights, then away in outback, then another three nights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosa1Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,029 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desert Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desert Rose Inn

Address: 15 Railway Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Alice Springs
Price Range: $56 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Desert Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Desert Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing