We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, cheap place to base your desert adventures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Desert Rose Inn
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here after our car broke down after travelling from Darwin. Our double room had a TV, fridge, shower, sink etc which pleased us. The decor is a bit dated but the facilities are good with free WIFI (hard to come by in Australian hostels) and large kitchen/dining room. Nice and central with good security. The staff were really friendly and helpful and it was cheap as chips. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megmagmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 84 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed in a budget ensuite room for a couple of nights eitherside of going outback. The hosts were friendly and welcoming.
Despite the garish 70’s décor and building, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the hotel is safe and secure. The showers deserved comment; they were good and powerful. The kitchen block was huge, but grotty and utensils all a bit hotch-potch. Luckily theres a couple of BBQ's outback in the patio area which were handy. The free internet access was welcomed and the small pool was refreshing. Its a short walk from the centre of town.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in Desert Rose for 4 nights in a double room with private ensuite, this room was located outside the backpacker dorms, next to the parkinglot. Our neighbour lady was a chinese woman, who had man visitors over. Some nights they would knock on our door and then realise they knocked on the wrong door..... This situation applied or the last 3 rooms in the row, we were just unlucky to be the next door neighbour. Also the outdoorlight would go on when someone walked by, the curtains were vey light so we would wake up many times from this light.
The kitchen area in the hostel was very poorly, very few equipment, made it difficult to do some descent cooking.

Room Tip: For a double ensuite, ask for the first room in row, the manager lives next door! No knocking on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigit v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed in room with ensuite near the pool. Clean, comfortable double bed, jug, tea, milk provided, good bathroom, TV on wall in bedroom. Safe, secure, walked to cafes and supermarket. Staff friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. I stayed two nights, then away in outback, then another three nights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosa1Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

When phoning to book and when we owed the company money the service was great! As soon as we had paid for a week in advance the service was below average. when arriving in our room we were happy with what we got for the price we paid, but the smell of the room resembles that of a butchers. We also work nights so sleeping past seven oclock is a usual thing for us, until we stayed here. The corridor is a playground for the cleaners screaming young children! this goes on until about 12! So if you want a smelly room and screaming kids as an alarm clock this place is for you!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmmmmm000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

After one night in room no. 25 I had bedbugs. My hole body was full of bites, it was horrible. I told the manager immediately. He gave my another room but said, there couldn`t be bedbugs in his motel. He and his wife (she´s working at the reception) were very unfriendly. The next day I moved to another hotel in Alice Springs because I still had bedbugs in the other room. Again the manager said this couldn´t have happened in his motel. They didn´t help me with washing my clothes. At the check-out the manager told me that there stayed two people having bedbugs a couple of days before my arrival.
It seemed that he didn`t change the matress in room no. 25 nor did hedo anything to expel the bedbugs from the room. This all was very strange I would not recommend to stay there! Especially not in room no. 25. The bed sheets didn`t look like they have been changed and the room wasn`t clean at all. Even the towels were dirty. Some brown indefinable dirt. It is the worst motel I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katha1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Sadly not as expected. The rooms are cheap and it's not too far from town but that's about it. Stayed in a twin room which had a barely noticible air con unit, small beds, a dodgy small shower and a tv so old you need to manually tune in the channels with a dial. Never use the laundry as it is a complete rip off. Four dollars to wash and four dollars to dry but the dryer will need at least two cycles and all of a sudden you are spending a small fortune. Sadly the staff didn't care nor were particularly helpful.

If you want a cheap place to stay that is a bit different from a backpackers then knock yourself out but I would suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iann28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
318 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,040 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alice in the Territory
Alice in the Territory
#11 of 13 in Alice Springs
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desert Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desert Rose Inn

Address: 15 Railway Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Alice Springs
Price Range: $59 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Desert Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Desert Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing