We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rapidly became our favourite place to eat and drink”
Review of The Juicy Rump

The Juicy Rump
Ranked #63 of 95 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We only meant to have one meal here, but we loved the food and the atmosphere so we ended up eating here about five nights during our stay in Alice.

There are two bars, and they stock different drinks, which we found out on the first night, so if your favourite beer isn't at one, it's probably at the other which is next to the tables. Prices were reasonable.

The menu is quality pub fare, and very well cooked and presented. I particularly liked the salmon and the kangaroo, but what we both liked best was sitting out watching the sunset and the stars coming out over the dry riverbed. It was conveniently close to our accommodation, so we walked it and enjoyed it very much in perfect safety too.

Thank Ozwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 466 of 476 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have had their steak previously and it was really very good, but the kangaroo strips I tried this week were the best meat I have ever had. Juicy, tender(medium rare), great flavor, and reasonably priced. I will be back for more. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnno31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LassetersHotelCasino, Manager at The Juicy Rump, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2015

Thanks for the review!

Glad you enjoyed the Kangaroo.


Kind regards the team at Lasseters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I've only eaten from the cheaper, "light meals" section of the menu. It's pub-style food, prepared to a high standard, in generous portions. You order and collect your own meals at the counter. Grills, pasta, burgers, a steak sandwich that I rate highly, a good Caesar salad and fish and chips. You get drinks at the bar. It's in the casino complex but you can enter and leave without going through the gaming area if you object to that sort of thing. You can eat indoors or out on their very pleasant deck area with views of the MacDonnell Ranges. Big screen TVs scattered throughout the complex show various live sports. It's popular - really busy on Tuesdays when there a significant discounts for members and Fridays after work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LassetersHotelCasino, Marketing Executive at The Juicy Rump, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2015

Thanks for the review!

Your feedback is appreciated.

Kind regards the team at Lasseters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Had the fish & chips, was quite nice. The menu has changed recently, is a little more expensive but they certainly have good food all the time, you'll be happy no matter what you get. Ps- become a free member and get 10% off!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WJeremiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LassetersHotelCasino, Manager at The Juicy Rump, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2015

Thanks for the review!

Your feedback is appreciated.

Kind regards the team at Lasseters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Natjev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Juicy Rump also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to The Juicy Rump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing