We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a good time at toddys! Great value for a great price.”

Toddy's Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toddy's Backpackers
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Toddys is a really good hostel in Alice springs with a lot of features. For just 20$ a night you get free wifi that works excellent (I was talking on FaceTime every evening when everybody else did), a nice and refreshing pool with a sun deck, free breakfast (even at 5 am) and aircon in every single room. The toddys bar has excellent pizza and is a nice place to spend the evening. It closes at 10 pm, which is mainly because the managers don't want toddys to be a party hostel with a lot of noise. There are mostly people staying who are going to the rock tour next morning and the hostel respects that.
The stuff is more than friendly and helpful.
You can rent bikes really cheap. They even gave me a special price because no one wanted to rent the bikes and they were free anyway.
The walk to the city is indeed 15 minutes but you won't find a hostel closer to the city as they are all a bit more outside. At least toddys is closest to the place where you can feed wild wallabies :-)
The beds are not the most comfiest ones I have ever slept in, but they were clean and alright for just 20$.
In the hostel are a lot of young and friendly people. It does not take more than 5 minutes to get in touch with another guest.
The hostel is ok clean. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned dayly. If you are staying with a lot of dirty guests then it's maybe bad luck because I was there and it was mainly clean.

I just can recommend staying at this hostel as they do a great job and care about their guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 107 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

I strongly recomend the toddys hostel and the rock tour !! Nice roons, nice pool, free wi-fi ,amazing staffs and who will book the rock tour, is gonna have an awesome time in uluru and alice springs!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Location of the hostel was to far out of the center. The beds were very uncomfortable and rooms to smal for the amount of beds. The staff reacted rude to normal questions. Very unhappy about this hostel. I've traveled a lot and have been to a lot of hostels and am easily satisfied but the way I've been treated here is not ok.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Booking this hostel and the Rock Tour is a good package to everything that needs to be seen. The hostel itself is not the newest one but the staff is great, the pool is perfect for summer days and I liked the routine with which everything was done. Good place in Alice springs!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Nils E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed at Toddy's for 3 nights . Reception staff was really helpful , the room was clean and tydy> For 20 $ a night you can t find any better. Swimming pool available for free , and free wi-fii.
We also did The rock Tour and was one of the best experience in Australia for me. John was amazing.!!!
I will defintely suggest to do this combo, rock tour and Toddy's , you can meet people and have a lot of fun!
Claudio

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I stay at Toddy's as part of "The Rock Base Tour" (5/5 review), Toddy's supply a free airport pickup and a reasonable $12 drop off. The dorm I stayed in (room 40) had 7 other beds/people (all of whom were friendly and didn't snore!), air con worked as did the hot shower (not that you wanted a hot one), beds were a little hard but the sheet and pillow were clean, yes the bathroom could be a little cleaner but it's not going to kill you!

The staff are great, offering loads of good advice and free lifts into town - cheers Myles! (Alice Springs town is 15 min walk, which is a little dangerous at night so take a cab). The on site bar is friendly, again with great staff and good pizza. The free WiFi is very fast with a good signal and the pool is soooo nice on a hot day. I've given it 5 stars not because it's a luxury hotel, but because it's good value for money and a great experience - I was sad to leave and would return.

As Toddy's and The Rock Base Tour (5/5) and The Rock bar (3/5) are all the same company/package, I've reviewed them all.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank FireflyMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed at Toddy's for three nights either side of going on The Rock tour. The reception staff were lovely and welcoming and being able to store your bags for free whilst going on tour was great. Toddy's is cheap and cheerful and its 20 mins from town. The downsides were easy: coming back from tour our room had cockroaches in it. They were little ones (where were their large parents we wondered?) and mainly existed in our bathroom. However, the thing that annoyed me about this was i reported it to reception asking for the room to be sprayed and was assured it would be... I asked 4 hours later and was told it would happen later in the day. It never happened and so our cockroaches lived on. Toddy's has the potential to be a great hostel but its things like this that would make me reconsider staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Joanna443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Alice Lodge Backpackers
Alice Lodge Backpackers
#4 of 30 in Alice Springs
469 reviews
1 mi away
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
#3 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.1 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
570 reviews
1 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toddy's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toddy's Backpackers

Address: 41 Gap Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range: $22 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toddy's Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cool swimming pool and sun-tan area, FREE Wi Fi, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, bar and FREE train and bus pick up, and DISCOUNT airport pick-up - what else would you need? Enjoy our FREE brekky of toast, spreads, tea and coffee - just enough to get you going before start your tour :) Offering a range of share dorms and budget double rooms, reasonably priced accommodation for the budget-conscious traveller. Our "bar" has a variety of drinks available and a large beer garden to relax in whilst catching up with new and old friends.Toddy's offers a free ARRIVALS pick-up from trains and buses, so let us know your arrival details when you book. Winner of the 2011 & 2012 Golden Backpack Award for "Best Backpacker Hostel N.T." Toddy's is the place to stay when visiting the rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Toddy's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing