We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of competition doesn't drive standards!”

Toddy's Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toddy's Backpackers
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lack of competition doesn't drive standards!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Having booked the Rock Tour, I opted for hostel accommodation with their own hostel - Toddy's. It's fair to say that because people will stay there anyway, due to booking the Rock Tour, and because of a lack of much other hostel accommodation in Alice Springs, the standards are pretty low.

Rooms were not particularly clean. Floors grubby, bathrooms with mildew, ceiling fans caked in grime and dust. My second room had a handbasin which was grimy and had toothpaste splattered over the mirror. It just demonstrates a complete lack of care and any attention to detail.

Thankfully most of the staff were great,. Very friendly, helpful and smiley. One guy especially was always smiling, even at 5am!

Free breakfast was a great idea (albeit limited - bread for toast and spreads. The Reception hours were very limited and one evening a guy walked in looking for accommodation at about 8pm after Reception was closed. Therefore he couldn't stay here. It seems unrealistically early to close.

I probably wouldn't stay here again. It is on the outskirts of town and being advised that we had to take a 10 minute walk into town to confirm our tour was not great considering it was 42 degrees and it was over 20 minutes walk NOT the 10 that they said!!

I usually give very positive reviews, it is just unfortunate that the staff are probably the only positive thing to comment on.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJamSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
1
20
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here nearly two weeks and this hostel has really very friendly staff. They treated us as they treat their own family. This is the best hostel you can stay in when you visit the rock :)
We spend christmas and new year's day with them :) and it can't be better :)
When we arrived in alice with the greyhound bus they catched us for free and brought us to the hostel.
There is also a brekkie for free with everything you need to start the day.
And you can also use the free wifi in the reception area. Perfect :)
The pool is the best thing you can do when there are more than 45degres.
The staff is always absolute friendly and they will always help you when you have a problem.
Sometimes there is also a lift to the city. You only have to ask the staff :)
The rooms are clean, big enough and we had our own bathroom, TV and fridge and our air con worked the whole time perfectly.
Toddy's location is really cool and you have all things you need : pool, kitchen, laundry facilities...
we can't say anything negative about this hostel!!! (there is only a long way to the city but you have time enough to walk:)
We would stay here again and again!!

The rock tour was also a great adventure, although we had 50degres. Our tourguide john knows a lot about the rocks and the culture and he was always friendly and helpful.
We slept under 1mio stars :) fantastic :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romyschneider13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stopped Toddy's hostel for three nights while visiting Alice Springs. It's an awesome little hostel. The staff are super friendly and will go out of their way to help you in any way they can. It's quite an old hostel, which does require some love and care but for the price it is by far the best deal in town. It's around a 15 minute walk from the center of town which I found great as at night it's not too loud, (unlike some others, which have bars right next door to the room which plays loud music into the early hours of the morning)

The rooms are quite spacious, and mine had a sink and a fridge in there, which is always a bonus. There is a pool on the property, which is a good size, and is cleaned daily. There is a table tennis table which we all made good use of, playing table tennis and beer pong. I understand that the hostel has been taken over recently by new management, and they have really transformed the place. Although it is quite a lively hostel, by around 9pm the place had calmed down, as there are a lot of people stopping there who are attending The Rock Tour (Also awesome, by far the best part of my trip so far, I recommend John as the tour guide, he was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and great fun) and had to be awake early for departure.

I highly recommend Toddy's Backpackers. I will definitely revisit there and re do the tour before I leave Australia.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good, but the best would be the motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Staff helpful, rooms comfy enough and linen clean if a little small for the bed but bathroom has dirty loo and shower Easy to fix ! Bedroom needs repair of damp patch. Hot water tap in basin doesn't work. On the plus side there is plenty hot water for shower and the swimming pool is good.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I wish I could split apart the two components of the trip (3 day Rock Tour and Toddy's Hostel) but looks like I can't so here's the combined review :)

Rock Tour - The Rock Tour Rocks! Well organized, good value for money and great food (considering it's the outback). Sleeping under the stars in the middle of nowhere is a once in a lifetime event - favourite part of my trip to Oz. The guides really do a lot of work to prep and organize everyone. Having reviewed the website, I felt well prepared except for the bloody flies (seriously only "outback" strength cream seems to work!). The heat and UV is no joke, so when they say make sure you have a hat + water + sunscreen, they ain't kidding!

Toddy's Hostel - Meh - Not being overly familiar with hostels, I was slightly disappointed in Toddy's, given that Australia is a developed country. The rooms were adequate and clean linen provided however kitchen, washrooms and showers were a bit of a disaster and the whole place could use a good cleaning with some serious disinfectants. The staff were friendly and the breakfast provided was more than adequate but the location is a little far out and walking back to the hostel at night is not recommended so taxi fares are a must.

Overall I would highly recommend the Rock Tour but depending on your comfort level, you may want to look for alternative accommodations in Alice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTravelGal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had two nights at Toddy's, after the Rock tour, in a room with private bathroom.
Funny enough the sink was in the room not the bathroom and there was no window so it was boiling in there.
It's a bit far (15min) from the center but since there is nothing to do in Alice Springs you have time to walk...
Free wifi is available at the reception which is cool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Happened to have a 4-bed room to myself. Seemed like it hadn't been cleaned for the last few weeks (dust and sand everywhere). Bunk beds are very unstable and noisy and the lower bed is so low that you can barely sit in. So I was happy to be alone.
Party going on outside until 3:30am and I was picked up for the Rock tour at 5:45am... little sleep so to say.

Location: quite a walk to the city centre (about 20-25min also to supermarket).

Plus points:
AC in all rooms, basic but good complementary breakfast (already from 5:30am), nice and helpful staff.

Good for a night before and after booked trips, but certainly nothing for longer.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room far away from kitchen and pool area if you want sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzifrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alice Lodge Backpackers
Alice Lodge Backpackers
#4 of 29 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toddy's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toddy's Backpackers

Property: Toddy's Backpackers
Address: 41 Gap Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toddy's Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cool swimming pool and sun-tan area, FREE Wi Fi, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, bar and FREE train and bus pick up, and DISCOUNT airport pick-up - what else would you need? Enjoy our FREE brekky of toast, spreads, tea and coffee - just enough to get you going before start your tour :) Offering a range of share dorms and budget double rooms, reasonably priced accommodation for the budget-conscious traveller. Our "bar" has a variety of drinks available and a large beer garden to relax in whilst catching up with new and old friends.Toddy's offers a free ARRIVALS pick-up from trains and buses, so let us know your arrival details when you book. Winner of the 2011 & 2012 Golden Backpack Award for "Best Backpacker Hostel N.T." Toddy's is the place to stay when visiting the rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toddy's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing