We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an average motel with a ridiculous kitchenette” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Palms Alice Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“an average motel with a ridiculous kitchenette”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

the cabins (wrongly called 'villas' in some travel guides) are worn and dated, with only the most basic comfort. The kitchen corner is so poorly equipped that cooking is not really an option - you can only heat pre-cooked meals, and the available steam container didn't fit the microwave provided. Our cabin looked out over the 'resort' fence which at 2m high gave the depressing feeling of a concentration camp. the pool is nice for kids aged 5-12y

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axispanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaponga, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we do take all reviews seriously both positive and negative and it was good to read you felt the pool was nice.

We are 3.5 stars which we do include in all our advertising and we have tried very hard to keep our rooms updated with all carpets, curtains, beds, bedspreads, airconditioners, and TV's being replaced in the last 1 - 3 years. We also advise in all our advertising that we only have kitchenettes and not kitchens which include microwave, electric frying pan and hot plate.

It is a shame you did not advise reception that you were not happy looking at the fence or that the microwave container did not fit in the microwave. The reception would have been more than happy to relocate you to another room and replace the container. Unfortunately security fencing is a sign of the times along with security gates we installed last year and hopefully this makes our guests feel more secure whilst they stay with us.

Once again thank you for your feedback it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    158
    97
    38
    14
See reviews for
103
141
33
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at Desert Palms for 10 days during the September school holidays and absolutely loved it! The staff were great and very helpful. The rooms smelled fresh and were, surprisingly clean, considering the age of the resort. One time,i went to reception to ask for extra towels and to replace a glass I had broken.Before I returned to my room, Housekeeping had already been. I asked Steve (not sure of his position because he works everywhere!) if my outside light could be fixed. within 5 minutes, it was fixed. Now that is service! I also loved the kitchenette in the cabins. it saved me heaps of money as i found most of the restaurants and takeaways too expensive for my limited budget. They also have a beautiful relaxing pool that was always clean!
Overall - a great relaxing place to stay. I will definitely stay again and I recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Alice Springs! The General Manager was also great, very helpful and informative. from: Ben and Sue, Brisbane.

Room Tip: chose a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suetaylor62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaponga, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello Ben and Sue,
I was really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Desert Palms and that my staff were all very helpful and made you feel welcome. Thank you for your comments, they were appreciated by all and I have forwarded your positive comments to my staff. Hopefully we will see you back again one day. Regards Angie Reidy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights altogether, using it as a base to explore the red centre. We found it comfortable and relaxed, sort of like luxury camping in cabins. Everything you need for a basic holiday is there - kitchenette, laundry, pool, digital TV. Staff were friendly and accommodating and we were able to check in early with no problems whatsoever. The grounds were neat and tidy and well maintained, housekeeping and maintenance is high on the agenda with this place. The on site shop is very convenient for picking up the odd few things even a bottle of wine! Good location, but a vehicle is advisable unless you're a keen walker. We were travelling as a family of four with two teenage boys - the quad share was a double bed and two singles in the one room so this was good for short stays but for longer stays you would need more room to spread out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooterpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

The staff seem very uninterested in being ether helpful or friendly. Everything seems like trouble for them. DON'T GET THE BREAKFAST BOX...$16 for two pieces of bread, three jams, 45 grams of cornflakes and the milk.
The rooms are clean and nice, and the poor is a winner. Nice place for two or three days

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chap6595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaponga, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate customers who let us know when things are not right and I was very disappointed to read your remarks about our staff. Please be ensured I take customer service seriously, it is one of the most important assets we have and will be following your comments up with all staff this week and put in place additional training. I know myself if staff are friendly and helpful it can make a stay so much more pleasant. It was nice to read though that the rooms were very clean and you enjoyed the swimming pool. Regards Angie Reidy Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennant Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stay here on my grocery trips to Alice Springs.I have found the staff very very courteous and friendly.The bungalows are very clean and spacious and the grounds are kept immaculate.The quietness and security here is wonderful. You certainly get value for money and I won't stay anywhere else in Alice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights recently, and found it to be a great spot to get to town and around. The cabin we had was a twin, as I had my son with me. The kitchenette was great and had everything we needed to cook for ourselves. The shower had a good strong water flow and plenty of hot water, which was great as it was cold, however, we hardly used the heater, the cabin seemed to be warm enough. We had a quiet area, down the end of the resort, so slept well. On returning to the cabin, one of the nights, I found we had no towels and as it was after reception hours, I walked down to the reception area and used the night phone to talk to the Manager, he was quick to answer and had spare towels for us to use, so problem solved. I needed a hairdryer, which was available from the reception counter when we checked in, did not cost anything, but was really convenient, so I did not have to bring mine. We did not get a chance to use the laundry or the lovely pool, but will plan another trip. Overall, clean and comfortable. We had an internet deal for $99 per night, which was good value.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room, ask for one down the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shizane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our bungalow was very clean and tidy and was serviced promptly on a daily basis. We found all staff were very friendly and happy to help. The kitchenette was small with only a microwave and frypan (no cook top) but serviceable enough for breakfast, making lunches and easy dinners. We were also able to use the BBQ area provided. In the quad room there was no space for any other furniture except the beds, but we made do. During the warmer weather you would be able to sit out on the small deck at the front which has some outdoor chairs and a table. While not a "resort" as such, the pool and surrounds looked inviting and would be perfect also for the warmer weather. All in all, it was very satisfactory accommodation for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarmFam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.2 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Alice Springs

Property: Desert Palms Alice Springs
Address: 74 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Palms Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the outback, the Desert Palms is a 3.5 star outback property offering individual studio villa accommodation, set around a crystal clear free-form pool with island, waterfall and surrounded by tropical gardens. All villas are air-conditioned and include bougainvillea-covered verandahs, private en suites and kitchenette facilities. The hotel offers outstanding value for the visitor wanting comfort at an affordable price. We're located in the main accommodation centre of Alice Springs on the banks of the Todd River, close to town, Lasseters Casino - Alice Springs entertainment hot spot, the Convention Centre and the Alice Springs Golf Club is our backyard. Some of the best restaurants in Alice Springs are within meters of the Desert Palms. These include the Golf Course Club House, Hanumans (Indian/Thai) and Balloons Bistro at the Double Tree by Hilton and four restaurants at Lasseters Casino including the Juicy Rump. We offer a small kiosk/shop on-site where food items and liquor can be purchased, a guest laundry, BBQ area, secure gated off street parking directly outside each villa and FREE Wifi. Desert Palms offers a calm, peaceful environment, which creates a sense of relief for the weary traveller. After a hectic day of travelling by road or air take pleasure in watching the world go by on the privacy of your own private balcony surrounded by palm trees while watching the spectacular sunsets over the MacDonald Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Desert Palms Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing