We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desert Palms Alice Springs
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Aurora Alice Springs(Alice Springs)
$89
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Alice Springs(Alice Springs)(Great Value!)
$126
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elkira Court Motel(Alice Springs)
$76
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs(Alice Springs)(Great Value!)
$97
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Diplomat Alice Springs(Alice Springs)
$89
$86
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters(Alice Springs)(Great Value!)
$109
$103
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Alice Springs Resort(Alice Springs)(Great Value!)
$116
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alice Motor Inn(Alice Springs)(Great Value!)
$56
$54
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alice in the Territory(Alice Springs)
$89
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveler rating
99
189
110
40
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
189
110
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf clubgolf courserecommend this resortself containedswimming poolair concooking facilitiestown centrefree wifistayed here for nightsbbq areaplace to stayquiet locationcrowne plazalaundry facilitiesqueen bedan oasis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 453 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

These are villa style rooms, they have a queen and 2 singles, which didnt leave much room, but would be good if you wanted to sleep 4 or have kids. Good curtains meant a sleepin was possible which was great. Cooking options were microwave and electric fry pan, the exhaust fan just went into the room so wasnt much point, cooked with doors open which was fine. The bbq area was ordinary. The room was well serviced and the cleaners did a good job. I did find my room unlocked once on my 2 week stay. Pool looked nice. Its a 10 minute walk to town, but not suggested to walk at night anywhere in Alice! Has 24hr laundry facilities, use the washing line, clothes dry so fast in Alice. Place backs onto the golf course, has no road noise and is very quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms have no windows so you have to have the doors & curtains open for fresh air so ask for a room that people wont be going past all day if your going to be there during day light hours!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJeremiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Cute gated place of individual cottages with steeple-like roofs. Front desk gentleman was not too helpful when asked for local information, but did inform us to make sure that we keep the car locked and items out of side, and to keep the door locked when inside due to some illegal activities in the area. You park right in front of each unit, which makes it very convenient for loading and unloading the car. Cute little deck area to relax. No restaurant onsite. The unit was clean and fresh inside. The kitchen area spacious, well equipped. The bathroom was modern and bright. This place is not in close walking distance for shopping and dining downtown Alice Springs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0nyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We travelled to Alice Springs in November 2011. We stayed in Desert Palms Resort for seven nights. The locaton was good and prices were very reasonable. There are secured gates to the complex which are closed at night but has a keypad and code to let yourself in and out easily, The accomodation was perfect for our requirements, the rooms had a fridge, an electric frying pan, a microwave, kettle, tea and coffee, cold glasses in the fridge, plenty of dishes, cups, knifes, forks and spoon. The room has a tv, air-con, an en-suite bathroom with a shower, toilet, sink, soap and towels, There are laundry facilities on site and a washing line to hang wet clothes which was great.

On our trip we filled our days travelling around the outback taking in all the sights. Desert Palms was perfect for staying in because it was peaceful at night and perfect to relax by the pool when we didn't go out for the day. You can get pool towls at reception. There is also seating outside your room. There is a DIY BBQ area but no restaurant although there are plent of places to eat in the area if you would rather go out. We could easily park our car outside our room.

We would like to thank the staff as we found them to be very plesent, they were helpful and there was always service with a smile. There is also wi-fi but it is not free but if you do not want to use/pay for wi-fi there is also a computer with internet connection in the reception area, I think it was a dollar or two for about six minutes.

The rooms are all non-smoking and the rubbish bins are outside so no nasty smells. There are also green outside lights above the doors of your room which are turned on at night, I think they may be like a bug repellent as there were no bugs in our room or immediate outdoor area.

We very much enjoyed our stay here, it had everything we needed and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Go to one of the supermarkets to stock up on fresh food to put in your fridge. Reception sells a variety of food and beer too.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Motel style accomodation, no idea why called resort, no restaurant on site. Great parking in front of one's house and great seating on one's own deck. Good kitchenette with sufficient space, No insects in room, excellent that rubbish bin outside the house. No change to let a breeze into the room which I found the worst. Also, for three the small house might be a bit crammed but for one it's great. Most people stay for one night only, so calm place during the day. - Internet 25 Dollars per 24 hours...

Room Tip: Your own house
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matilda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This was the sort of place we expected while on an outback adventure, honest and no pretensions. It’s not really a resort as such, but it does have a small swimming pool, and it’s right next door to the Alice Springs Golf Club, who are also a friendly crowd. It’s clean but don’t expect room service or all the five star malarky. Showers in the rooms, but no baths. Has handy self-laundry facilities, which makes a difference to damned expensive hotel laundries when you are on the road. We never used the barbecue (we are not Australian and don’t have the skills LOL) but was pleased to find microwave in the room. Would recommend

Room Tip: Try and get a room nearest the golf course
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armyguyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaponga, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Thank you for your review we rely on reviews to help us keep our standards high yet still be able to cater for the 3.5 star market. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and outback experience. Hopefully we will see you back in the Outback again one day. Kind regards Angie Reidy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews