We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for several reasons” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Alice Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Delaware, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for several reasons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2006

The Aurora was a very fine choice for us. The renovations that previous posters complained about are definitely finished--the lobby and hotel entrance are brand new and make the Aurora look extremely hip and boutique-y. (Sadly, the "boutique" decor does not spread as far as the rooms, but they were just fine anyway.)

The location of this hotel was great--the entrance is one block off Todd Mall, the pedestrian street that is the center of downtown Alice, and hotel guests can access Todd Mall directly via an internal staircase that leads to the attached Red Ochre restaurant.

Rooms are comfortable, with the usual amenities that we found in 2/3-star properties around Australia--hair dryer, tea/coffee facilities, TV (the usual 5 channels), and so on. The decor is pretty standard but clean and comfortable, and the furniture is reasonably new. A warning about some room layouts--some rooms in the back section of the hotel are entered through a sliding glass door that opens onto the motel-style walkway, with no other windows. This is somewhat annoying in that you have to completely open the drapes, and expose yourself to the gaze of everyone walking past your room, if you want any light at all.

We also stayed in a ground-floor room in the front section of the hotel, which did have a window, looking directly onto the entrance to the parking garage. Not great, but considering we were there for only about 12 night-time hours, not a big deal.

One big bonus of this hotel was that it has an in-house laundromat for guests (6 washers and dryers in two laundry rooms, AUD 2 for a wash, AUD 2 for 25 minutes of dryer time). This is a major plus since most people head into Alice after finishing up camping trips, and your clothes will be filthy, as ours were!

Another plus is the Red Ochre restaurant, which is quite good (although not cheap). We ate dinner there one night and also had the breakfast buffet one morning (continental cost AUD 11, cooked breakfast cost AUD 16). The restaurant has a 20% discount if you make a reservation by 5 and sit down by 7 PM (warning, this is not available on Sunday nights!).

Staff were very friendly and helpful and had no issues with us leaving bags in the luggage room for the few days that we left for a camping safari.

  • Liked — location, laundry, restaurant
  • Disliked — confusing layout
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmad478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    356
    278
    105
    44
See reviews for
108
408
125
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birchip Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2006

Very clean and tidy although modification work going on.Can only get better when it,s all finished.Would love to go back and probably will.Alan.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dieselfish43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2006

We stayed there for 2 nights earlier this month.We didn't know in advance about the work going on but were offered use of a sister hotel pool about 2 miles away. We didn't use it. We were also offered 2 for 1 meals in the Red Ochre restaurant as a little "apology". We took advantage of that and the meal was excellent. The only minor hiccup was that we chose to sit outside, and although in the evening, it was still in the high 30's. We moved inside for the a/c for desserts.
The room was basic but clean. Very efficient a/c. Outside the room was a patio with big sun canopies and a free electric BBQ if you could be bothered to cook for yourself.
The location is great but don't think of it as a 4 star hotel, more of a 3 star motel. Overall tho' we got a good deal, approx 40 UK pounds per room per night

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stormborn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2006

We visited this hotel in December 2005. However avoid until the end of February 2006 as currently undergoing refurbishment. The reception is temporarily in the basement. No use of the swimming pool and at times you can still hear the building works in the early hours. Apart from that a great hotel well situated and the staff seemed very friendly. The rooms were in excellent condition and cleaned on a daily basis. When complete the Hotel will be even better, with the heat in Alice Springs a swimming pool would be most welcome.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2005

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it is situated on Todd Mall where there are lots of shops and restaurants. The rooms on the ground floor were very dark and rather shabby though clean.We had dinner one night at the hotel´s Red Ochre restaurant which was excellent and they served huge portions.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JWN1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2004

The hotel couldn't be more central, it's in the middle of town, on Todd Mall. Very friendly staff and a good restaurant. Breakfast is not great.
We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PetraRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Property: Aurora Alice Springs
Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing