We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Uncomfortable bed the pillows were way too thin, no quilt provided only mink blankets and sheets. The bathroom can do with a better clean on the shampoo/soap dispenser there is a build up of soap which needs to be wiped off.
On the up right in the middle of town next to everything! Staff were very friendly. Plus there is a pool to cool off in.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for the kind comments

Right in the middle of town next to everything! Staff was very friendly. Plus there is a pool to cool off in.

In regards to the other comments, the bedding is tripling sheeting with no quilt but extra bedding in supplied in the cupboards if you felt cold in our 40 degrees heat. The self dispensing soap, shampoos holders sometimes may drip a little but I wouldn't have thought enough of a problem to complain on Tripadvisor.

Regards

Ron Thynne - general manager
Aurora Lice Springs/Red Ochre Grill restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    371
    286
    111
    47
See reviews for
112
424
130
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The moment we entered this hotel we were welcomed and answered all our queries and made us feel comfortable. I enjoyed this hotel as the location was great. The room was comfortable and the washroom was good size and kept clean. Even when I put in a request for more cream etc it was done so very quickly. The hotel is close to shops, restaurants and the Todd. I have no negative points at all. I will return again and recommend others too.
THANK YOU STAFF AT THE AURORA ALICE SPRINGS FOR A WONDERFUL STAY WE HAD.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor hence we cannot comment. We liked the place because it was a great loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackN482014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you so much for your review and restoring our faith in what we attempt to deliver to all our guests is appreciated by most.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This motel has a very good location. The rooms are very big and nice. Bathroom was ok as well. There is free internet in the room, but no safe. The pool is really small though. We also had dinner at the joining restaurant which was very good. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Si73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review, very much appreciated.

For those interested we do have rooms safes in King deluxe & Executive rooms.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - general manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

A very warm welcome, the service was general, rooms were cleaned to a medium standard, the area was not so nice as felt very vulnerable walking outside the hotel, due to a lot of Aborigines walking about under the influence of drugs/drink, they would come close up to you and while in restaurant they came up to the windows begging, such a shame as a nice place to see if the circumstance was different, but a nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review and advising us that you still had a nice experience even though some of what you witnessed was one of the unfortunate sides to Alice Springs.

The Todd Mall is well policed and any anti social behaviour such as drunkenness or begging certainly keeps them busy.


Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had booked a room deal via Wotif titled Heavenly Stairs- 3 nights minumum at $79 with room providing Queen size bed and a single bed with limited room service.
On viewing the room it was a sweat box, so small that two adults of average size would need to do preplan who moved when and where to avoid constantly bumping into each other so we requested an upgrade and given an executive suite- extra $50 per night
Yeah more room but alas the bathroom facilities with stained shower base and dirty shower curtain and ventilation that was blocked was not condusive.
We had breakfast in the restaurant and had to request further cups and water be put out on the servery. The breakfast deal was $19.99 for either a continental breakfast or cooked breakfast- all you want deal. My partner luvs his cooked brekkie but he discarded over 2/3 of what received- it was overcooked and unpalatable.
Room cleaning - yeah let's make that come in straighten up bed, spray and wipe bathroom, use same cloth as was used to wipe toilet seat and handbasin to clean crockey, replenish tea and coffee supplies, negate replenishing milk, sweetner, bikkies and that was room service.

The tiles ouside the rooms and the main walkways proved to be hazards as it was very slippery and we were wearing rubber soled shoes.

The final piece to this nightmare was the patronising and disrespectful manner of two of the reception staff. Marta and Peggy- they are not obviousy conversant of customer service and the term hospitality and all it implies.

We lasted 3 nights days, booked in for 6, ended up getting a superior room at the Diplomat for $6 cheaper per night and had our monies refunded for the remaining 3 nights from Wotif and the motel.

Aurora- very tired in appearance, staff require supervision and up grading- would never revisit or recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
My sincere apologies that your experience with us was so disappointing.

I was not alerted to your problems during your stay but having read your review today have immediately (today been Sunday) taking action to insure we do not have a repeat of your unfortunate experience.

I take on board all the constructive criticism of your review and it will be bought up in tomorrow's (Monday) department heads meeting.

I was so embarrassed when I read your review of your terrible experiences and I know it's a little like shutting the gate after the bull has bolted but apologies once again.

Kind regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alice Springs hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

When arrived took for ever for a room to be organized plus the customer service was terrible. We didn,t even get a choice in the room we wanted. We paid $100 for a crap room in a crap location not happy. U pay less for places with a view and get a free breakfast. Will never recommend or stay again Then in the car park there was grossness I can't even explain how gross. Then the room shower head wouldn't even stay up. All taps leaked. No blankets on the bed. Not happy at all.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kylie1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Well, where do I start as I have no record of your complaints and accusations at all?

I normally apologise to constructive criticism but after a lengthy investigation of your toilet review out of left field and not in line with most of our guests experiences I am dumfounded to come up with an explanation.

I may be incorrect in the following explanation so I am only surmising that your partner or husband made a reservation via lastminute.com.au late Tuesday afternoon, not long before arriving at our reception at 4.14pm. On arrival the booking had not been allotted a room so my front office manager asked your partner/husband to take a seat while we printed out the reservation and then organised the check in. This was all completed by 4.18pm (4 minutes) so maybe this is not you as you mentioned it took forever for a room?

We advertise on the web site you booked on many room options but you selected a standard room that does not include breakfast for $99, so I don’t understand what you mean by “we didn’t even get a choice in the room we wanted” as you could have picked any room you wanted when making your reservation on line and if the room allotted to you on checking in was not satisfactory you could have advised one of my team and they would have allotted you another standard room.

Not sure about the grossness in the carpark you refer to as it is only a carpark where cars park and sleep and is cleaned daily, also where we store our bins etc that are also collected daily.

We have checked what we think was the room in question and found no leaking taps or any problem with the shower head, and as per the photos on our web site all our rooms are triple sheeting with no blanket during summer but a blanket is placed on beds in winter.

Like I said this may not be your review but what the heck, I have replied anyway.

Have a great 2014,

Regards

Ron Thynne – General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I had the good fortune to stay at the Aurora Hotel in Alice during the 2013 Beaniefest of which the hotel is a sponsor. It was wonderful to stay in for it's great location between the Todd River and the Mall. I could wander under the trees in the dry river in the mornings and get wonderful photos.

The Beaniefest held in late June, out at the Araluen Cultural Centre, is the most fantastic fibrously textile event you have ever seen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viridian_Arts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the 5 star rating and even though it was way back in June you stayed, for still remembering your experience with us.

Hope to see you again next year

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Property: Aurora Alice Springs
Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing