We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location with access to the main Todd Mall. Restaurant on site which serves excellent range of good quality food and drink. Room was on the first floor and had lift access and was comfortable and clean. Fixtures a little dated but all in good working order. Staff at hotel were very helpful and informative. Stayed a couple of days on way to Uluru. Would definitely stay again. Only disappointment was swimming pool area did not look very inviting or clean, did not see anyone using it during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
“We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review and recommendation that you would stay with us again. In relation to the pool be rest assured that it is certainly clean and checked daily but it is not a lap pool and it is cold in winter but we have a heated spa to solve that problem.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    380
    292
    114
    48
See reviews for
118
436
132
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Aurora has an open and warm feel as you walk into the reception area. The Staff are friendly and welcoming and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The rooms are large and very comfortable with no outside noise. Just one street from the mall with access via the car park this Motel is in a great location to explore the town. Great rates and restaurant on site with packages that include a cooked breakfast. Value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fromuponthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff as comments " has an open and warm feel and staff are friendly and welcoming and nothing seems to be too much trouble" are most appreciated, thank you.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for one night after a tour to Uluru. Our room was clean and quiet, if a bit dated (not a complaint, as it looked like it had been spruced up recently, simply that some of the fixtures had been there a while). The bed was comfortable and the shower was great.
The staff at reception were extremely helpful.
Breakfast was in the restaurant and was good (not a lot of choice, but what was there was good quality).
We had to check out earlier than our connections, so we stored our luggage with reception and went for a walk around town. When we returned the staff were quite happy to call a taxi for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and yes we are slowly updating the rooms bathrooms etc. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of the town centre. There is even an access to the hotel direct from Todd Mall. I wouldn't recommend using this entrance at night as there are quite a few people that congregate on the open ground opposite the Todd Mall front of the hotel.

There is a relatively small undercover carpark located under the hotel. Saying that there is a large open car park directly opposite the hotel.

The room was comfortable enough, though not the most luxurious. Saying that it had everything that you need for a short stay. I don't think I would stay here for more than a few days.

For this country and in particular this part of this country it was pretty reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and as you mentioned we don’t all the bells and whistles other more expensive properties may have but we pride ourselves on our outback hospitality and cleanness.

The Todd Mall is patrolled regularly by both police patrols and a private security company and the Todd Mall entrance (room key access only) is used by our guests returning from other restaurants and bars after The Red Ochre has closed its gates.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a quite central hotel in Alice Springs, the direct exit to the street mall makes it very convenient. It is easy to walk from there to several places of interest in Alice Springs. The rooms have no particular view, an expected feature in a centre of town hotel, so the important aspect is to get a quiet room. We found the ones on the first floor to be noisier and asked to be relocated to a more quiet room, which was done without problem. The direct connection to the restaurant is definitely a plus, as Alice Springs is not tourist friendly at night. Although we did not experience any problem, there was intense patrolling of streets by security and police which makes one wonder why.

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor facing the parking, as there is a generator inside buzzing all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfromportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your overall generous review of our accommodation and service.

In regards to your observation of security and police presence I would take this as a bonus as when I travel to strange countries, a sense of security is provided with police presence, even if not necessarily required.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a good hotel in the main town area. Alice Springs is a bit scary after dark. I found, as a solo female traveller that the inter-connected restaurant downstairs was a bonus as I didn't have to go for a walk on the street to get dinner at night.

Standard Rooms are simple. Not flashy but perfectly adequate. My room was spotless.
There are several areas on the grounds to sit at a table and read in the shaded open air. This is a real bonus as the parks in the town look green and well kept but aren't places you'd necessarily want to sit in.

I got a bit of an icy reception when I arrived simultaneously with 3 other groups. There was one lady at reception. As there are limited flights in to Alice and obviously only a few 'peak' times at reception, it would have been good if other staff were available to check people in. I got the impression that no rooms are available to be occupied before the check in time of 2pm. Either that or 3 or more rooms are by sheer coincidence just finished cleaning at 2pm. What's the problem with 15 minutes earlier occupancy ??

I asked for another night a week later but there was only a 'deluxe' room for $149 so I booked in at the Diplomat Hotel instead,another hotel in town, as I thought $149 was a bit steep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porcupinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE "

Thank you for your review and suggestions. Sorry about the unacceptable check in experience as we normally roster the staff around the arrival times, will most certainly investigate what happened in your case.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

There is probably no better spot in the Alice to be for a short stay - right in the middle. I was concerned that it might be noisy, with rooms opening right onto Todd Mall, but it wasn't. It is very conveniently close not only to the shopping strip but to the associated restaurant just below. When we had dinner in the restaurant, however, there was a series of mistakes - asking three times for water, being served our dessert before we had main course, a bottle instead of a glass of wine, and then, yes, charged for the bottle on the bill! The hotel rooms are simple but adequate, but could do with a makeover. The bed was comfortable and everything you need was there. I am not a big fan of shared toiletries, but I can understand that they are more economical. The highlight was the breakfast, which was plentiful and varied. Generally speaking, the stay was good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptilotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay. We have addressed your issues regarding your restaurant experience as with a high turn over of new staff it is a continuous battle to keep up guests expectations all of the time, hiccups do occur but overall we are proud of the restaurants overall results in their delivery of most guests expectations.

Kindest regards
Ron Thynne - General Manger
Aurora Alice Springs/ Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Property: Aurora Alice Springs
Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing