We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of the town centre. There is even an access to the hotel direct from Todd Mall. I wouldn't recommend using this entrance at night as there are quite a few people that congregate on the open ground opposite the Todd Mall front of the hotel.

There is a relatively small undercover carpark located under the hotel. Saying that there is a large open car park directly opposite the hotel.

The room was comfortable enough, though not the most luxurious. Saying that it had everything that you need for a short stay. I don't think I would stay here for more than a few days.

For this country and in particular this part of this country it was pretty reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and as you mentioned we don’t all the bells and whistles other more expensive properties may have but we pride ourselves on our outback hospitality and cleanness.

The Todd Mall is patrolled regularly by both police patrols and a private security company and the Todd Mall entrance (room key access only) is used by our guests returning from other restaurants and bars after The Red Ochre has closed its gates.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Aurora Alice Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 986 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a quite central hotel in Alice Springs, the direct exit to the street mall makes it very convenient. It is easy to walk from there to several places of interest in Alice Springs. The rooms have no particular view, an expected feature in a centre of town hotel, so the important aspect is to get a quiet room. We found the ones on the first floor to be noisier and asked to be relocated to a more quiet room, which was done without problem. The direct connection to the restaurant is definitely a plus, as Alice Springs is not tourist friendly at night. Although we did not experience any problem, there was intense patrolling of streets by security and police which makes one wonder why.

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor facing the parking, as there is a generator inside buzzing all the time.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfromportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your overall generous review of our accommodation and service.

In regards to your observation of security and police presence I would take this as a bonus as when I travel to strange countries, a sense of security is provided with police presence, even if not necessarily required.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a good hotel in the main town area. Alice Springs is a bit scary after dark. I found, as a solo female traveller that the inter-connected restaurant downstairs was a bonus as I didn't have to go for a walk on the street to get dinner at night.

Standard Rooms are simple. Not flashy but perfectly adequate. My room was spotless.
There are several areas on the grounds to sit at a table and read in the shaded open air. This is a real bonus as the parks in the town look green and well kept but aren't places you'd necessarily want to sit in.

I got a bit of an icy reception when I arrived simultaneously with 3 other groups. There was one lady at reception. As there are limited flights in to Alice and obviously only a few 'peak' times at reception, it would have been good if other staff were available to check people in. I got the impression that no rooms are available to be occupied before the check in time of 2pm. Either that or 3 or more rooms are by sheer coincidence just finished cleaning at 2pm. What's the problem with 15 minutes earlier occupancy ??

I asked for another night a week later but there was only a 'deluxe' room for $149 so I booked in at the Diplomat Hotel instead,another hotel in town, as I thought $149 was a bit steep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porcupinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

"We are glad we made you SMILE "

Thank you for your review and suggestions. Sorry about the unacceptable check in experience as we normally roster the staff around the arrival times, will most certainly investigate what happened in your case.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

There is probably no better spot in the Alice to be for a short stay - right in the middle. I was concerned that it might be noisy, with rooms opening right onto Todd Mall, but it wasn't. It is very conveniently close not only to the shopping strip but to the associated restaurant just below. When we had dinner in the restaurant, however, there was a series of mistakes - asking three times for water, being served our dessert before we had main course, a bottle instead of a glass of wine, and then, yes, charged for the bottle on the bill! The hotel rooms are simple but adequate, but could do with a makeover. The bed was comfortable and everything you need was there. I am not a big fan of shared toiletries, but I can understand that they are more economical. The highlight was the breakfast, which was plentiful and varied. Generally speaking, the stay was good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptilotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay. We have addressed your issues regarding your restaurant experience as with a high turn over of new staff it is a continuous battle to keep up guests expectations all of the time, hiccups do occur but overall we are proud of the restaurants overall results in their delivery of most guests expectations.

Kindest regards
Ron Thynne - General Manger
Aurora Alice Springs/ Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Aurora Hotel is located in downtown Alice Springs. It's location makes it perfect for pick for tours and trips around the area. Rooms are spacious; great for families or those sharing the journey. We were here 2 nights and enjoyed our stay and the location of the hotel. Traveler be aware that Alice Springs closes very early each night!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tisayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review and as you mentioned it's all about LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed for 6 nights and have nothing but praise for all the workers here. Reception were friendly and helpful even late at night. Housekeeping kept the room and surrounding areas very clean and tidy. Restaurant served tasty food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as you are well looked after and value for money it cannot be beaten. For an elderly person travelling solo it was so good to be close to all the facilities in the town and also to know the hotel staff cared about your comfort and wellbeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetwhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review, I have passed your compliments onto all the team. We really appreciate
your review as a 6 night stay with us gave you a chance to experience Alice Springs as well as some Aurora Alice Springs outback hospitality.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

To get the negative out of the way, the internet kiosk near reception is basically useless. It barely worked last time and this time it was worse, I must have crashed the browser 3 times browsing/using what are fairly common websites - it's out of date and can't hack it.

However I haven't reflected that in my 5/5 rating as it's 20 mins daily free for guests and I managed to read a few emails amongst it crashing. I went to the nearby YHA the next day to use their internet instead.

As for the positive, of course the location which can't be beaten.

We got a great deal for AUD 149 including a good sized room and breakfast included for both of us. That is the difference between 4/5 and 5/5 for this review.

There was a small balcony (continuous along all the rooms on our side of the hotel) with one seat outside per room so you could sit outside, or sit just inside the open slider door on one of the seats in the room. The immediate view was to an open carpark area with buildings around it, but on this side of the hotel you could see up to the lookout at the top of ANZAC Hill which I enjoyed.

We also liked that the tea/coffee mugs were proper big mugs! not the little cups you often get which are annoying small.

The attached picture is zoomed into the north side of the upper floor at Aurora Hotel, our room was in the area just above the middle of the picture.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your comprehensive review and from a Top Tripadvisor Contributor which gives it even more notoriety.

Much appreciated and kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $84 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing