We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Done” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Alice Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well Done”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

A visit to this hotel last month on a trip to the middle of Australia, Well done Aurora for an avg hotel , a surprise to what was expected , location good, central on Todd st Mall this was handy , Good restaurant connected to hotel Red Ochre, Avg Price on rooms , Rooms a bit tied but no problems with the sleeping , bed ok . we were on the 3 rd level as there are quite a few rooms here, Upper levels better we would say, but only there for an over nite stay , have not read others reviews yet .
only problem would be parking if your vehicle does not fit under the roof section of car park . Good check in and friendly staff .
Restaurant food good and and good service, think there may have been a was discount for hotel patrons .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the feedback, glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.

The undercover carpark has limited parking and not every room has an allotted space. As you mentioned there are height restrictions due to piping extra on the ceiling of this undercover carpark but we do have limited parking on the side of the driveway. We do not promote our carpark as secure but we do close the front gates around 11pm each evening.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne – General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    356
    278
    105
    44
See reviews for
108
408
125
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our first standard room was an issue due to the sound of water running through the down pipes plus noise from next door premises including the hotel laundry.
We were re located to another room however the cooling on the air-con did not work the tap in the shower fell off the tap over the basin also dripped. The cleanliness of the bathroom and bottom of the shower curtain was a concern plus the shower drain system was blocked therefore the water would take some time to clear.
The restaurant was not what we expected to find which out through the back of the car park the other issue is that very limited hotel parking facilities exist so parking for your vehicle may result in off site parking. I would be surprised if a daily maintenance inspected and review is ever carried out. Online the site looked good certainly different from been on site.The actual location of the hotel is good and staff were pleasant. More concentrated effort by management to raise the hotel to the existing rating that is listed on site is needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and apologies that our normal standards were not up to your expectations.

We are so excited that you found the location of the hotel good and staff pleasant.

All the issues you raised have been addressed in our regular staff meetings.

Regards

Ron Thynne – General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alice Springs hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great location on the Todd Mall and walking distance to all shopping & restaurants. Staff were friendly. Rooms are abit tired and could do with a makeover. A doona on the beds would be a good idea especially for the colder months.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmitchell62k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and suggestions.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Loved the location and the adjacent restaurant (Red Ochre). Close to lots of stuff in Alice Springs. Friendly staff.

Downside: our room was "worn" and the whole property seemed to be dusty and uncared for. We were a little disappointed at our "deluxe" room (??) but felt like the location and restaurant balanced out the negative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE overall"

Thank you for the feedback and whilst this older property may sometimes give the appearance of needing a good clean it is actually cleaned continuously but sometimes the weather gets the better of us.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights here after a rushed trip to Ayres Rock. Backing on to Todd Mall it was very convenient to be able to slip across to the shopping centre for goodies to have in the room.
The room itself was a good size and nicely appointed,although some wine glasses would have been nice.
The only problem we had was the housekeeping utility room was close by and the clatter and talking early in the morning meant no chance of a sleep in.
We ate at the Red Ochre, opting for the Tapas special which was very good and more than enough to fill us, however a very long wait for the bill after we had told the server that we were done (she was intent on closing up and clearing tables)wasn't a very satisfactory end to the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muddlesLakeMacquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay even though there appeared to be a few little hiccups along the way.

Thank you for the review.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nannup, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first stay in Alice Springs, it looked the best hotel along the strip so we were originally happy, I think a quilt on the beds would be more comfortable than a blanket shared by many guests, we returned to stay a second night after Ayres Rock as booked, to find cigarettes still outside the door from the last trip, when we had to tell the guest to stop smoking outside as the smoke was coming into our room, The lift was so smelly did not look like it had been cleaned at all, and the pool was an after thought placed in a corner hardly used.The front staff were very helpfull and changed our room to a deluxe as booked, after giving us a standard room !!!!!!! very basic rooms, the grill was great once sorted some dishes out, i was surprised i could not get a coffee and toast in the morning, we only had 10 mins. all that was on offer was a full cooked or a continential breakfast, so i had to go along the street to get a take away, Nice manager in the grill looked after us well and we appreciate this. probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 433Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and apologies you didn't find our property up to your standards.

We do not have all the bells and whistles as it is an older property with that rustic outback feel.

Regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Besides the huge brawl that took place in the foyer when I was there (that led to the receptionist being taken to Emergency), the stay was relatively uneventful and the rooms uninspiring. However, with a noon checkout advertised, I was surprised to get phone calls from reception at 11.30am demanding to know why I hadn't checked out yet. My answer that it wasn't noon yet didn't seem to mollify them.

Then at noon, as I was doing my final check of the room, the largest, scariest looking man I have ever opened hotel room to see, started berating me for not having vacated the room.

I'm a regular business visitor to Alice and needless to say I have stayed elsewhere since, although it took a while to get that scary Aurora employee out of my nightmares.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazamateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
THIS IS A FALSE REVIEW.

While we appreciate constructive criticism in reviews the content of your review does not appear to relate to our property, so either you are hiding behind your anonymous name to make these defamatory remarks or this review is not for our property.

I have asked Tripadvisor to remove your review as it does not appear to be our property but for some reason they think your review is correct and as I have not heard from you regarding your accusations I am left with no option but to respond as per below.

We did not have a brawl at reception in February 2013 as stated by you but we unfortunately did have two reception staff viscously attacked by two drunken Aboriginal women on the 8th Feb 2012. These women have since been convicted and were both sentenced to jail terms. If you did witness this crime then you are the male in our CCTV footage that offered no assistance at all during the attack. I also notice in your review the lack of concern or empathy regarding the condition of my receptionists.

We do not advertise a noon check out and as per our web site check out time is 10am so of course my staff would phone you at 11.30am asking when you were departing.

We also do not have any large male staff members on duty during the day.

We did have an incident this year when a couple were asked to vacate their room at 11.30pm one evening after receiving guests complaints regarding unauthorised persons drinking in this couples room and the night audit staff member, who may be described as large had the unauthorised persons and the couple removed from our property; but of course this wouldn't have been you as your complaint is 11.30am?

If this review is not our property please advise Tripadvisor to remove it or you may like to contact me direct as I would love to hear more details regarding the huge brawl that you said took place in our foyer in February 2013 as you seem to be the only one that witnessed this fabricated event during your business stay in February 2013.

Ron Thynne – General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Property: Aurora Alice Springs
Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing