We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights, and found the hotel to be lacking in comfort and service for the price they charge. Very poor service from the restaurant staff. The bed was so wobbly I had to place a folded up newspaper beneath the legs to keep it from moving all night. Once that was set the bed was comfortable, and I was able to sleep. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. When I booked I was told there was wi-fi Internet, but there was not. The staff blamed the local phone company. When I was given a $2 coin to use the net kiosk, I was able to get online for twenty minutes, however the connection was so slow I was only able to send 2 emails, read a couple more, and then my time was up. The system was so old it would not even load sites such as Facebook, and would lock up and close whatever window you might have opened, and you would lose anything you may have typed. I also asked for a late checkout on my final day, as I was flying out late afternoon, but this could not be accommodated at all. Finally after checking out, I had to use the restroom, and went to the public restroom on the second floor, upstairs from the main desk. It was disgustingly dirty and smelly, and this was at 10:30 in the morning. Had I seen this earlier in my trip I would never have risked eating in the restaurant, because a bathroom is a lot easier to clean than a kitchen.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ChefFredMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you bringing this to my attention and my sincere apologies, I am both embarrassed and disappointed that you had to endure this bad experience both in accommodation and the restaurant.

I am a stickler when it comes to my accommodation and dining out and expect both quality service and food for the money I pay. I know it's no excuse but I have just arrived back from leave to find some customers have not enjoyed the experience what The Red Ochre has previously been noted for and be rest assured immediate action will be put in place to rectify this.

Please contact me personally if you have specific details that may help my investigation into the unexpected downturn in both service and quality of food.

Yours sincerely

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    362
    281
    107
    46
See reviews for
110
414
126
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely hotel centrally located backing onto Todd Mall. It has a lovely foyer, and also those nice little extras in the room like a hair dryer, body cream, and an iron and ironing board. All the ladies at reception were all very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and I stayed 3 nights around touring, and I never had a problem with any room. You get complimentary 1 hour wifi also. My only complaint, is I think the rooms were a little pricey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anees27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review re your three night stay. I will pass on your comments to my staff.

I am not sure what you may have paid but we do have special accommodation rates via the Tripadvisor site, worth a look.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is superbly located right in the middle of Todd Street Mall in Alice Springs. All the main town facilities are on the doorstep, including banks,post office, restaurants,pubs, tourist outlets, and shops. Even the major Woolworth supermarket is a two minute walk. I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in the last two years. The reception staff are always friendly and efficient. The rooms are spacious for the price, and well serviced. The restaurant serves a good breakfast, and the scones served with the devonshire tea are excellent when they are available. Dinner tends to be a little bit pricey, but the menu is imaginative with some excellent local dishes. Early bird bookings for dinner can provide great value for money.
If you are travelling by car particularly in the high-season, it is very important to keep in mind that on-site parking is quite limited. Alternative parking is along the Todd River, where security at night can be a problem. Apart from this small drawback, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rld_traveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your very comprehensive review, I am sure this will be very helpful to the readers.

Yes, we do have limited undercover parking but do endeavour to accommodate most vehicles, we suggest that higher than normal vehicles see our reception staff re parking in our driveway.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We used the Auroa as the start and end point for our Outback tour. The hotel is practical, rooms are clean and serve its purpose. However I would not recommend it for a longer stay, as the flair of the rooms is cold and not really cozy. Also the bathroom is rather functional (however clean).
There is a restaurant in the hotel on the ground floor and they serve breakfast for the hotel guests. The quality of the breakfast is OK, but not outstanding (e.g. fruits are out of cans, coffee out of large thermos bottles).

We stayed there 2 times for one night and it was a good starting point for our tour.

Staff at the reception was nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Good starting point for a outback tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relssog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and yes as you mentioned we are perfect spot for guests that are visiting Uluru before and after their visit. I am not sure what standard of room you selected but we have various standards of which some of these would be more suitable for longer stays.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crafers, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Staff are pleasant but the phone didn't work in the room so mobile needed to contact reception, no iron in the room and the replacement didn't work either so a long wait to get an iron that worked. Qantas has them listed as providing points on spend but this is not correct, they do not. The pool needs some work/freshening up. Food at the Red Ochre restaurant for breakfast and evening meals was excellent, security issues are covered by a back door entrance/exit that links straight through to the hotel so don't be worried about MuccaPooleDorsets offsite security remarks - it's covered!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and I will raise the little issues you experienced with the staff concerned and also pass on your praises.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We changed our plan and did last minutes booking at Aurora.

Out of my expectation, the room was spacious, clean and with everything you need. The mini bar service different type of tea plus some cookie. The restaurant downstairs was perfect. We had dinner and breakfast there and it never let us down. The mall just downstairs and you can easy get what you want.

There was a little noisy out there from the birds but not affect our sleep.

I will recommend this hotel if you plan to visit Alice Spring.

Room Tip: Delux room with breakfast and only spent a little bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maymayathk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your kind recommendation together with the room tip of Deluxe room with breakfast, much appreciated.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This motel is right in the centre of Alice Springs. It was comfortable and not too expensive. The staff were welcoming and friendly. I took advantage of the fact that it is associated with the Red Ochre restaurant, and had dinner and the buffet breakfast there. (See reviews.) The dinner was OK (not enough dessert for the price), but I was very favourably impressed by the buffet breakfast.

I took the airport shuttle from and to the airport: eficient, and good value.

I would happily go back to the Aurora, and would take my wife with me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review, very kind.

We have investigated your comment re dessert and it appears that you received a 3 course set menu size, not a full big portion that you should have received; my apologies’.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Property: Aurora Alice Springs
Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing