We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a motel style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a motel style hotel with a complicated layout. The rooms are spacious and clean but basic. The rooms have tea & coffee making facilities together with a large fridge. The hotel is situated close to a large shopping facility with a good quality supermarket. There are no safety deposit facilities in the room, but the hotel provides a safe at main reception.

The pool is tiny and has very limited seating.

Wifi is available and is reasonably fast, there is an additional charge for this facility.

The indigenous population may be a small problem, but if you are careful not to venture off the main street you should not have any worries. Do not go out alone at night other than in the main area.

The restaurant attached to the hotel, the Red Ochre Grill is a good eating place with a wide choice of food. Everything from kangaroo and crocodile to good old fish and chips. You may find the portions are on the large size so try sharing a main course.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for you comprehensive review, I am sure readers will find you comments very helpful.

I have passed your comments onto my staff, much appreciated.

Kindest regards,

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Aurora Alice Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 986 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a deck entry hotel with no frills. the room was clean but old and the bathroom was in need of modernisation.
To get to the shops or the restaurant one had to walk through a multi story car park!
The lobby of the hotel was clean and had a few sofas in it but not enough seating room for a group of people.
The hotel had the smallest swimming pool I have ever seen!

Room Tip: A room on the second floor is quieter as people are not walking past to get to other rooms and the l...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Now60something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review.

Aurora Alice Springs does not advertise that we have frills as we are a standard clean centrally located accommodation establishment. We are in the process of slowly renovating the bathrooms that have not already been completed.

Like I have said before, if you want to swim laps we do not have pool and spa area designed for that but if want to be refreshed with a quick dip in our pool we have one of the coolest pools in Alice Springs as it is covered from the extreme heat we are now experiencing.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel is central located - good for all interesting things in Alice to see - and is wheel chair accessible (elevator), the accomodation is clean and convenient and the staff is friendly and helpful. So it's absolutely good for a stay of 1-3 nights. Under the hotel there is also a guest car park where all your things are out of the burning sun.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07MikeW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and recommendation together with your compliments regards the friendly Staff, much appreciated.

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Alice Springs is a great base to see the Outback. Day trips are available to Ayer's Rock, McDonnell Range, etc. This hotel backs onto Todd Street where numerous restaurants and stores are near by. Many other hotels have nothing around them, so it pays to be able to walk over to a place like Woolworths to buy food and drink to bring back to the room to help with the costs of the trip.

All there is to see of Alice Springs can be seen from the bus on the way to and from tours. Also, the town shuts down on a Sunday (including most of the restaurants), so either have a tour plan or be prepared to spend time at the hotel.

In regards to the hotel, the rooms are decent and there is a small pool. I would recommend staying.

Room Tip: The place is a bit of a maze. Staying closer to the lift can help with getting your bags to and fro...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your kind review. Very descriptive and most informative for readers, thank you.

Merry Christmas & happy New Year

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I regularly visit Alice Springs as I work out bush and try to stick to a budget of less than $100 a day for accommodation. I can park the Ute safely in an underground car park, (ground level but under the hotel), which keeps the shopping out of the sun. I can get everywhere I need within 5 min walking distance including taxi stand, mall, shops, pubs, restaurants and cafes. It has all you can eat breakfast for only $19 and if I was still a young thrifty backpacker would mean I didn’t have to buy any food for the rest of the day! Stay in room 21 and have access to a spa and pool only 5 metres away. The internet is fast with the first hour free. Every room I have stayed in has been modern and clean and the hotel staff are always friendly and helpful. Having stayed at most of the hotels in town over the last 15 years I choose to keep returning and wouldn’t stay anywhere else. It's even got a lift if you need one. Make sure you book in advance as i arrived once without having booked to find it full and had to stay somewhere else with nightmarish consequences!!!

Room Tip: never had a bad room, reception can place you in the best room to suit your needs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikkyu64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

“We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your extensive and pleasing review, it's great to receive feedback like yours.

We most certainly thank you for your continued patronage.

Merry Christmas & happy New Year

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

As noted in other reviews, this hotel is located on the Todd shopping Mall and very conveniently located for accessing any of the downtown attractions, restaurants, shopping, etc. The rooms were spacious and clean but without a lot of extras. Did not try the pool but we ate at the restaurant and founf the food and service to be excellent - friendly international staff. My only 'gripe' was with the check-in process. We wandered in just after a busload of german tourists and they were being checked-in one by one and very slowly at that! Initially we were in a queue that extended out into the blistering heat but after about 20 minutes they realized that some guests were not with the group and started a separate queue that got us into our room quickly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor - there is only one slow elevator (located close to the covere...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_Yemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review and comments regarding our great location and good facilities.

Unfortunately it appears you arrived during a group check -in on an extremely hot day; glad it all got sorted out in the end.

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was in Alice on business for 3 days ( 2 nights ) . I stayed in room 212 and found the accommodation excellent . The cleaning staff were very polite and did an excellent job . Compared to other places which I have stayed , the Aurora was a cut above the rest both in service and value for money . I will be returning again soon and my first choice will be the Aurora . Eseta the accommodation manager has very good staff working and they are well managed .All the staff were very friendly and also very helpful with answering my queries about where places were in Alice . I work out on the APY lands and have to come to Alice on a regular basis . I will be staying at the Aurora from now on .

Regards Michael Milton

Aerodromes Reporting Officer

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your recommendation Michael, I will pass you compliments onto Eseta and the other staff.

We appreciate that you have chosen to will be stay at the Aurora Alice Springs from now on.

Merry Christmas & happy New Year

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $84 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing